Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Room of Horrors

by phoenix1987 - Jam Entry

Enter the room of horrors. Kill monsters to generate enough blood to feed it (q). Upgrade yourself and remember not to die :) Enjoy:)

Development + art:
Phoenix
Lithorias

If you would like to see a window version please let me know in the comments

Changelog.
Walls not properly pushing player in (Fixed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#348Theme(Jam)3.74
#490Innovation(Jam)3.03
#704Mood(Jam)2.79
#713Fun(Jam)2.71
#740Overall(Jam)2.91

Comments

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Liked the art of the walls ... the smooth gradient.
The fast experiment and the no matter what you die.

terryg says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:25am

Neat concept. I felt like either the monsters were coming too fast or I needed to learn how to use my weapon (the black claw thingy) better. Nice take on the theme!

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:44am

I'll be honest, it seems like the game mechanics are incomplete. I couldn't figure out how to control the direction of the attack, and waves seemed to clear well before I'd killed all of the enemies (not sure if I met some other condition).

I love the idea of purchasing attack power and HP with the same resource you use to "feed the room." Reminds me of Dark Souls, making you choose between levels and items. Cool concept, and congrats on getting through the jam!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:13am

At first it cost me to understand the mechanics a little, but I think that with a little more polish would be good, in my opinion should put pauses between waves. Good game, good job guys.

madlee says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:34am

Nice idea. I think the enemies were a little overwhelming and it wasn't always obvious where my hits where landing. Nice little game though, I made it through 10 waves. Good job!

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:36am

Cool game! I found it a bit hard to understand the objective and controls, but it was still pretty fun just going around killing the eyeballs and trying to stay alive.

jramell says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:18am

Cool wave game! I got to Wave 56 before it got repetitive. I have several suggestions; I'll list them below to avoid large chunks of text.

1. I'd suggest mapping the direction of the attack to the direction where the player click rather than the direction the player is moving, as this is more intuitive for most players. In Unity, this can be accomplished by checking where the mouse at the moment of click relative to the player (in Unity it can be done with Camera.ScreenToWorldPoint(Input.mousePosition) and substracting the player position from it). From the current control scheme I like that you can kind of dash through monsters effortlessly by just spamming click while moving in their direction, but that gets repetitive fast. You can try having two different control schemes and testing it with people while you watch them play and take note of which one makes the game better and/or more intuitive to them.

2. Sound! Sound effects and background music can better the game A LOT. And I mean, A LOT! More than you'd think. I'm guessing you didn't have enough time to get them, but even really basic sound effects are usually better than no sound effects. Getting fitting background music is a lot harder and it can often harm your game when not done at least partially right, so be more careful with it. Done right, however, it'll give you mad mood points.

3. I didn't quite understand how upgrading your weapon worked. I think I attacked faster, but after about five upgrades changes were barely noticeable.

I'm not writing these suggestions to discourage you but to help you the best I can to improve! You made a fun game, be proud of it. I see lots of potential.

Josho says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:33am

Cool game!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:01pm

I made it to Wave 26, then gave up. I liked the concept of feeding the room blood to not die. I think I would have more fun if the game cycles were shorter, i.e. that the difficulty ramps up more steeply so the player is challenged to try again and increase their score.

The merchant was an important addition as it keeps the player motivated to level up their stuff.

The game would have benefitted a lot from adding some sound effects and music (freely available on the net).

I had some issues with the hit direction and it was not clear to me how to control my direction of attack, which was a bit frustrating.

Overall, neat little entry that could use some polishing.

Casevse says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Interesting mechanic the room stretching. The performance with WebGL isn't good, you need to optimize it. Good work, keep going!

sikosis says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:47am

Interesting concept though I found the attack only seemed to work on one side of the character and not where I was clicking, maybe that's me. Game is functional and complete and challenging with the walls coming in on you.

Drkr says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:09am

It was kinda confusing at first, I think some sort of direction indicator would have helped because I thought for a while the black sword slashes were hands or something, A little audio would have been nice too. Nice entry though, keep up the good work.

Feathergunner says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:02am

Nice idea with the room getting smaller and forcing the player to decide between upgrading and feeding the room.

antishow says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Really like the idea of having to choose between feeding the player or the room, but in practice I never felt like I needed the upgrades. Not having any sound at all really hurt.

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:17am

It's waaaaaay to heavy for an ordinary computer!
I can play League of Legends but this entry runs so slow here ;(

Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:21am

Neat, but way too hard for me. I'm not sure I understood what "feeding the room" did, but I think that's a really interesting mechanic.

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:01am

@SimonHutchinson it extends the walls back out and gives you more time

comatomatoes says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:01am

Nice idea! There were two minor things that I found a bit confusing. One was that monsters would disappear once a wave ends without you needing to kill them all. The other was that clicking to the left of the character when standing in place does not attack on the left. Good work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Could do with some sound but I do like the idea of the room being somewhat alive and shrinking around you unless you feed it blood.

tompudding says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:37pm

It's a really neat idea, and fits the theme very well. I agree with jramell on potential improvements, particularly sound. The room looked fantastic, particularly the 3d walls and the shading.

kato9 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Cool concept, but definitely some room for improvement. It would be nice to be able to control the direction of your attack, it's a bit counter-intuitive to need to run into enemies to attack them. "Feeding" the room is an interesting mechanic, but seems like it requires a lot of resources to make any difference.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]