Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Spell Bear

by torcado - Compo Entry

Spell Bear!
You are practicing magic when suddenly, oh no! Everything goes wrong! Now the whole room is out to get you!
Use your awesome wizardry skills to stay alive and get cash money!
Upgrade your skills to become undefeatable‚Äč!

CONTROLS:
Movement: WASD or ARROW KEYS
Attack: Hold LEFT MOUSE BUTTON
Aim: Move MOUSE


Note: Both web links have a bigger resolution if you're into that.

IF YOU ARE GETTING LAG FROM FLASH:
Try the HTML5 version. Thanks!

----------------------------------------


WHEW! That was a fun Ludum Dare! I am pretty dang proud of the result, even though I didn't get to implement all the ideas I had. Maybe I'll revisit this game another time (though I always say that)

Good luck to all the other participants! And thanks a lot Mike for trying as hard as you could to get the new site up and running in time for the jam. We all love you <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#61Fun3.86
#108Overall3.71
#109Graphics3.82
#197Humor2.89
#200Audio3.17
#286Mood3.16
#366Theme3.45
#530Innovation2.40

Comments

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:31am

Really nice entry. Simple mechanics with an elaborate upgrade system and enemy AI.

aeveis says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:49am

Very nice, had fun. My browser (chrome windows 8 64bit) started lagging a bit when there were a lot of particles, but wasn't too bad. Nice enemy variation!

torcado says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:31am

Thanks to both of you!
If anyone else is experiencing lag, please try the HTML5 version I just uploaded. Thanks!

infinitycore says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:30am

nice, fun game, music is a bit repetitive, when you don't have any upgrades, the enemies have WAY too much health, but by the end it seems to balance nicely

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:14am

Simple concept, good execution. This is a quintessential Ludum Dare entry.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:39am

This game is so awesome! I played it until the end and kept playing until I had all the upgrades!

torcado says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:43am

@sepharoth213 dang what a comment. I really appreciate it!
@TacoTruckGames Glad you liked it!

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Nice little game, love how it turned out! The bear is just so adorable :D

SolarFloss says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:33am

Very fun and simple!

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:13am

I beat it one level after upgrading my magic laser to triple beam. Glad I was able to use it in all it's splendor.

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Really simple but reaaaaally adictive, i like the upgrading thing!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Really cool game mechanics and it's a somewhat challenging game, which is a good thing! Also, it's fun.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:40am

cool art, i like the concept, simple but funny, nice entry!

dunin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:57am

not innovant but well executed and very fun.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:39am

Simple but nice game!

Sean says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Nice entry! The laser beam felt like it was going to be way overpowered, but you did a really good job of balancing its power with the lack of mobility + accuracy that comes with it.

The amount of content was just about perfect as well; it ended only a level or two after I'd gotten a triple laser and started to feel like the rest of the upgrades weren't going to matter anymore.

It's a bit simple overall, but also fairly polished and hard to find much to criticize. Well done!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:17pm

That magicat is so cute :3 !

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:26am

Phone calls hurt...like real life. =( A game of "terror" made in the game maker! Congratulations on the expensive work, I did mine over there too ... and I know how hard it can be to do it.

Protrance says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:28am

Really fun and addictive game. Nice graphics and I enjoyed the upgrade system. Good job!

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:59am

what a fun little bear! audio is boring tho. real fun. is that a cat?????

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:00am

I liked this game. Where is the bear? I only see a kitty cat.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:01am

Awesome progression and really well executed.

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:02am

great game! stats are my favorite mechanics in game. it's simple and also makes you think what you want to spend your money into. very cool !

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:05am

Decent entry, like the upgrades, audio is nice, but I think the visuals is where this game shines. Good work.

Alex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:17am

Really nice game. Everything fits together perfectly. The only thing bad thing I saw is just that it got too easy after a while, and it became pointless to keep playing once all the upgrades were unlocked. Of course, that's to be expected from a 48 hour game.

Awesome job!

Potato Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Cool game! I like how forgiving it is when you die, made it very addictive aha, simple but very fun!

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Great job, early game was sorta tough but sorts out after nabbing some stats!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Very nice! I like that you're not killing monsters but are instead just fighting off some moving furniture. The upgrades feel very meaningful (except for speed, maybe?) and I like that the game has a definite ending. Ended up maxing all the upgrade options. Having a post-compo version with a boss fight at the end would be cool!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:55am

The gameplay is fun and the upgrade system is a great way to keep playing. Unfortunately I found a couple of bugs that made the gameplay a little frustrating. For example, when moving, sometimes the keys got stuck and I kept going in that direction. Also, if I double click on the continue button, I can skip one or more waves. (I'm using the HTML5 version, if that helps).

torcado says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Yes, keys getting stuck is an html5 issue. Virtually all html5 games have this issue (unless they do some hacky workaround). Since the game is run inside a frame, if your mouse clicks outside of the frame when you are holding down a key, it doesn't ever trigger the release for that key. You have to regain focus and click and release the key again to stop it. My only advice is to just try not to click outside the screen (or use the flash one)
As for the second glitch, I'm surprised you found it frustrating! I found that glitch in the last couple hours of dev and purposefully left it in because I thought it was fun. Once you have all the upgrades the game becomes pretty trivial, but you can spam-click the continue button to go to like level 100 to see how far you can get.

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:14am

Really fun shooter. The upgrade pace seemed really well balanced and the graphics and audio were terrific. I only wish that it were longer.

MrTroy says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:52am

I definitely like this one, I stuck it through until level 15. I wanted to make sure I got all of the upgrades.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:06am

I came here to shoot at overpowered furniture, was not dissapointed.

Review on game.
* Could skip waves by tapping the next wave button
* Lazer is shit
* Loved the screen size for ludumdare page
* Lamps are OP

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:26am

Awesome idea and art :D it was fun... I wish enemies had less health starting off.

kidando says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:27am

WAVE 20 YEAH!! I didn't care that I won. I cared about all the upgrades. Solid entry!!!!!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:45am

The laser has weird control/feel and you can use it for free just by clicking plus next to it. The knockback that happens when you use it happens even if its on cooldown and you try to use it. My keys got stuck on the HTML version as well. Besides those issues i really enjoyed it. I played until the end and got all the upgrades. I wish you added more than 2 weapons! This was really fun man. Good job.

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:21am

Nice art, really think the background on the web version is neat - ties it altogether

torcado says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:20am

@DalesDiscountTires yeah, if anything i'd like to make the laser feel nicer. there was some weird issue with the knockback effect. also yeah me too! if you check out the timelapse you may notice i had plans for at least one other weapon. if i ever revisit this i'll definitely add more in!
Thanks for all the great feedback everyone! I really appreciate it :D

Insality says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:52am

amazing, addictive, great entry
the graphics, style, gamedesign are perfect.
brilliant job was done! do it better!

neontropics says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Fun game! The weapon is a bit too weak to be satisfying in the beginning, otherwise good design on enemies and patterns.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:47pm

nice one!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Well rounded entry! I didn't like the decreased mobility (constant knockback) with the beam though, it didn't feel like an upgrade. Was fun being a wizard, good job! :)

seano says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Fun to play, looks nice too. It was well executed.

eddynardo says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Great!!! nice graphics, nice sounds,fun to play and really polished. Just excellent entry, played it all the way to the end, and kept playing a little more :)

Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:33am

This is a really fun entry. At first I thought it was too difficult, but the allowing of retrying the waves and keeping some money is enough to keep you from completely giving up. I played through the end. The laser beams seem less powerful than you want them to be since the cooldown leaves you defenseless. Great entry.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:08pm

well done Torcado. I think it has a good ramp up with difficulty offset by increasing your skills. I believe there were occasions where i was losing 2 health at once (i think i was shot and ran into an object at the same time). maybe start the invincibility frames a little sooner? i dunno. anyway great job!

torcado says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:54am

Thanks for the comments!
@ShuddaHaddaLottaFun there definitely should not have been any instance where you could take 2 damage at once. Even if the function call for taking damage was done twice on the same line it would take health only once
The laser beams from lamps deal 2 damage, so they would take 2 hearts if you don't have the defense upgrade.
Or perhaps you thought losing a whole heart meant taking 2 hits. That is true only after you upgrade your defense.

ato says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:36pm

I had fun playing this game. I wanted to see what's next, so it sucked me in. I see that you are long time LD participant. It shows in this game, you know what you're doing, and you're doing it good :).

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:53am

cute!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:52am

Fun entry, liked that you could upgrade your character and that even after you finished all the waves you could still keeping playing with your boosted character. Nice to see how powerful you became :)

Blobo says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:43am

This was really charming! Thank you for the game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]