Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Freedom

by Cody Hansen - Compo Entry

A game made in under 48 hours for Ludum Dare 37.
Having to go to work all weekend, I made a short, fun little game to still compete.
I hope you enjoy!

W A S D to move.

Space to skip text.

Light the candles by touching them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#144Mood3.50
#177Fun3.48
#194Theme3.86
#218Overall3.48
#305Graphics3.18
#326Innovation3.11

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Good work, the game plays well and the challenges are very engaging.

aaaleee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Nice job

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:53am

Great job! The challenge steps up with each level, and it's actually pretty fun.

ghostfact says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:14am

Really impressive given the time constraints! Reminds me of some of the puzzles in the older legend of zelda games.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:17am

I liked how the challenges ramp up each level. That final level was very interesting :). Its a good game! each level was well thought out and the game play was very engaging. The audio was very good too and really set the mood. Well Done!

hermetic says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:18am

Good game. Graphics, music and sound were well done and matched the mood of the game. There was a lag sometimes when the player would not respond to key presses, or would continue moving after released, but it was still pretty fun to play.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:19am

Really fun game. The blinking level was little hard on the eyes but I managed to beat it. Nice work.

mipo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:22am

Challenging game with great character controls. The movement was the perfect speed and responsive. The different challenges that were added to each level were fun but the black screen should fade at the start so it's not so jarring. It also felt like I would sometimes die when I didn't touch the spikes. The art looks great and the audio is good except for the spike sounds that get annoying fast. Really solid game that I had a lot of fun playing.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:01am

Nice! I was confused when it went back to the beginning though, I wasn't sure if you built in a good ending. Short and sweet.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:03am

Interesting amount of mechanics you managed to squeeze out of the limited setup. I had for a while. Only complaint: The death animation took a bit too long, I was expecting instant reset like Super Meat Boy ;)

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:05am

That was fun! Nice ramping to challenge difficulty. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to play through it a second time or not though... I did not ^_^.

qzqxq says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:29am

I had a good amount of fun, and left wanting more levels and mechanics. The final level was especially clever, as combining both the reversed controls and black out made the reversed controls a lot trickier to deal with--I'm pretty sure I died like 7 times in the same location because I kept telling myself to press left, but my fingers kept pressing right. :P

I liked the level design, and it's quite polished, especially given the time constraints. Honestly, I don't really have any complaints/suggestions other than that I wish there was more.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:03pm

It was good! Though, when the screen began to fade in and out, I was confused and thought the level was restarting.

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Nice work. The last level was brutal but the game is engaging enough to be worth completing.

Hamsternator says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:01pm

I am impressed =)
Simple concept but the music and the narrative really helped to enhance the mood. Got way more emotionally invested than I anticipated at the end ^^

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:10am

Very enjoyable game, similar idea to what I had but much better implemented, really enjoyed this one! The difficulty was perfect aswell. Well done!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:37am

Very nicely done. I only have two issues: the length of the death animation and the hitboxes on the spikes (they feel a bit large for the actual appearance of the sprite). I also wish I had a chance to punch that ghostly presence in the face rather than just be forced to restart at the end. ^_^;

Vertigon says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:21am

Not bad, the challenge was solid. Stepping it up each level was infuriating but still seemed solvable. Nice overall presentation.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:13am

I went through it two or three times juuuust to make sure nothing special happened upon multiple successive completions, haha.

The game was easy to understand, and the growth in difficulty was at a logical pace. Music and graphics are simple, but do a nice job of moodying up the lonely dungeon. I liked the bit of personality in the dialog too. Kept me curious to see what it had to say next!

This may be non-trivial to pull off, but I think it would also be cool if lit candles and the little glowing orb attached to the character emitted a some light when the room went dark. Otherwise, I don't really have any suggestions that weren't already mentioned.

Speaking of the character, I thought it was interesting that you chose a ghost to be the one stuck in this room, as if there's a deeper story behind this! Perhaps this room is where he died, and he's now doomed to haunt this place forever. His face definitely makes me think he's been here for quite a long time already! AHHH how spooky!

Brings back fond memories of dungeons in Legend of Zelda games. You did a nice job planning out a reasonable game for the time available to you--unlike myself! ;P Well done! (And thanks for the comment!)

Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:53am

Very cool, but when it started blinking it gave me a bit of a headache so I had to stop. Great job increasing the difficulty gradually, though!

LoHii says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:40pm

I liked it! The movementspeed was nice and the graphics were cute and felt cohesive. The textbreaks were a nice change of pace after each level. I do have some nitpicks though. The darkening of the room was more annoying than anything. You technically did adhere to the theme, but since the transition between the chances in the room were instant, it might as well have been different rooms. If not for the fork pattern on the ground, the average person propably would've guessed that the rooms really were different. I liked the looping nature more than just a blank THE END -screen, but since the dialog after the first room didn't change or didn't fit the 2nd run in the first place, the effect was lessened.

Jan 28, 2017 @ 3:09pm

Nice game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/pmGwBmW3Ksk

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]