Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

rotomanor

by jelch - Jam Entry

You can enter the ROTOMANOR, but can you leave?

Arrow keys to move.
Space to jump.
X to interact.
Avoid bats.

/*Switch added to starting room should keep players from getting stuck!*/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#264Innovation(Jam)3.44
#322Mood(Jam)3.50
#348Audio(Jam)3.18
#358Graphics(Jam)3.67
#425Fun(Jam)3.18
#439Overall(Jam)3.33
#490Humor(Jam)2.44
#569Theme(Jam)3.36

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:20am

I enjoyed the style and theme. A nice take on a rotation puzzle. I had difficulty figuring out the controls (do I simply avoid bats?) and got stuck between two sets of double doors. Perhaps there is an action button I missed?

yumaikas says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:23am

Great presentation. What' I'm supposed to do is a little ambigous, and the mansion it rather difficult to manauver, but I could listen to that song for quite some time, wandering the halls of the rotomanor

irwatts says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:30am

This is awesome. Cool traversal mechanic. The start text moving was a little difficult to focus on though. I also think I glitched in between two sets of doors and got stuck. Wicked music! I've just been listening to it on loop for a while now.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:39am

Be careful, there are a few places you can get stuck forever in there. Great concept though, I played for way longer than i thought i would. I just had to find all the candles.

Ace17 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:50am

I got stuck between doors, it wasn't clear if those could be opened using a button I might have missed, or if simply can't open them.
Appart from this, great idea and great mood!

banana4life says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:40pm

I think it was too random, but I liked the graphics, especially the candle. ;)

I also think I glitched in between two sets of doors and got stuck.

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Nice pixel art, cool idea, but i always geting dizzy, when turn gravitation :)

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Loved the idea and the graphics! It would be interesting to have some introductory levels because it is really challenging.

acotis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Nice job! I love the music here -- did you have a dedicated musician? Either way, very nice!

I think the level design could use some work, however. For one thing, I had a lot of trouble understanding why a certain lever would turn the world left or right, and for another, I had a lot of difficulty navigating around the mansion. Plus, I would often re-spawn after touching a bat, only to find myself trapped in the first room because of the way I was facing when I died. That was very frustrating after solving two or three puzzles by trial and error. Perhaps an introduction level, as TheMightyTeam suggests, would be useful? Or something visual about the levers to indicate whether pulling it will turn left or right?

But, I liked the graphics and story! I am definitely not complaining about being left in the dark about what's going on -- that was a good mystery :)

mysterycoder says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:59pm

I enjoyed the theme of this and the aesthetic. Though, I didn't want to explore it all the way through

Garris says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:41pm

This was a really good looking game! I wish there had been just a small bit more direction on which way to go to get to your different goals, and maybe less switches, because I was SO confused there for a minute. After I got used to the controls, it was really fun!

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:31am

I quite liked the music :) Interesting puzzle, seems quite possible to get stuck though :D

littleball says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:34am

Great little game. I struggled with the rotation figuring out the puzzles. It's good to see something new like this!

Levin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:12am

great mood, innovative play. Cool music. This has a potential to be a really good game.

JorgeGameDev says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:30am

Came across your game at random and thought it looked pretty interesting. And it did definitely not disappoint!

First of all, I was not expecting a rotation puzzle at first, but when I understood that was what it was, I got absolutely engaged, especially when the other puzzles (the candles, the letters, ...) started coming in. :D

The mood was definitely the greatest forte of this game! I really got engaged with this feeling of exploring this cryptic old mansion with puzzles and rotation, and the music and aesthetics only helped bring this feeling closer to life.

However, I didn't really finish the game for the same reasons other people have mentioned. Sometimes when being hit by the bats I would get back to the start and the room would rotate to an angle I would get trapped and stuck on. This happened at least three times before I called it the quits. :( I think reset-ing the room's rotation when being hit would fix this one issue (and the only I found within the game).

When you solve the issue of the rotation, I would really want to back and solve the mystery of the study. This is without a doubt a strong entry! Kudos!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:35pm

I really liked the art and music, they go together really well. Interesting game mechanic as well :)

Dia6lo says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:00am

At start music was very hard for me. But after I understand this cool mood.
Bats are overpowered xD. Sometimes I just fell on Bat and got *Game Over*. Leveldesign crazy a bit - it's very hard to learn a level with rotations fast.
But I think, you can postpone a camera to esy fix it. (Like in a special zone of a game).
Good style\animations, also.

terryg says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:18am

This was great!! I made it to the end. I loved the puzzles and game style. Also nice take on the theme. A truely excellent game.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Gj! But the gravity change is a bit used.

freyby says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Nice concept, graphics are nicely done, music are good too, but the lever system was still confusing even after 5 minutes of play.

gabriellpweb says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Nice idea, i like that kind of retro graphics, just need a way to stop that background music xD.

antishow says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Very impressive art and music on this one! I think some environmental variation or a mini-map or something to aid navigation would have really helped here; I was completely unable to keep track of where I was or where I was going.

miaw says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Nice puzzle. A bit confusing at first but I guess it's designed that way. The music stopped midway though, it didn't loop. Oh yeah, was a bit frustrating when I couldn't find the last candle. Maybe a bit of a hint would be great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfKzLWzmYCc&list=PL3X7vaujhRTKawLvys59GrNybWq3JkMR4&index=15

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]