Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Help Me

by lgbpaiva - Jam Entry

UPDATE: We set up an Easy Mode Game for those who want to see the ending quickly, but we strongly suggest to play the normal game first.

***

Jimmy was left alone at home while his parents went to a dance party, they would come back the next morning.

Suddenly the lights went out! He might have fallen asleep, was he dreaming?

He found himself surrounded by ghosts and have to survive until 6:00 am, when his parents should be at home.

***
Controls are:

W A S D: Move Character
Left Arrow and Right Arrow: Move Flashlight

***

Authors:
CrOnNoS - Programming, Game Design
Yuuki - Programming
Adriano - Programming
Laguna - Game Design
Julia - Audio Prospect
DeadPixel - Character Design, 2D Artist and Title Screen Artwork (https://www.behance.net/parasitelost)
Sybaris - Furniture Design, 2D Artist
Lgbpaiva - Programming, Game Design, Production
Arlam Jr - BGM. (http://www.arlamjr.com/)

***

I've selected audio for judgment because the BGM was authoral, all other SFX was downloaded from:

http://soundbible.com/
https://gamesounds.xyz/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#206Theme(Jam)3.95
#291Mood(Jam)3.55
#452Audio(Jam)2.86
#536Humor(Jam)2.31
#549Overall(Jam)3.19
#586Innovation(Jam)2.87
#696Graphics(Jam)2.84
#721Fun(Jam)2.68

Comments

CrOnNoS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:03am

best game i ever played

klams says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:07am

Like the concept alot. remind a previos jam we made with the "unconventional weapon" theme. But i didn't realised that the parents have not only left the boy alone but also have shrinken him to 5cm ^^
Keep the good work and see ya around on the next jam maybe!
Also you can rate my game too :)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=52178

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:19am

Fun little game. Pretty hard though. I kept losing to stuff I couldn't while I was spinning around

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:23am

Digging the menu art! Otherwise kinda awkward controls and would be nice to have some sort of information on very close proximity of a ghost.

CrOnNoS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:26am

there is Nuclear, the heart beating sound

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:12am

Wow I sure loved walking around in the dark I could hardly see anything but it added to the suspense of what I might end of finding out there in the dark. the dark can be a really scary place, and I grew up most of my life being afraid of the dark, but my momma always told me there was nothing to really be afraid of out there and my dad would take me in the other room and softly tell me that my mother wasn't always right, but that we should love her anyways.

Kerr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:56am

Nice concept; The sounds letting you know that a ghost was close to you was a bit annoying. The rotation of the character being tied to the character's local forward direction instead of relative the world's directions feels restrictive to the player.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11am

I apparently didn't read the instructions and didn't realize that you could move around with WASD. Menu art was cool and the whole mood was conveyed well. My favorite part was the glowing clock that you could see even if the flashlight wasn't on it. It was that little thing that made the game for me.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:40am

A really nice game. I like it.

jerwil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:33am

Really cool concept and vibe! The graphics really fit the mood, and the weapon is innovative. Cool art as well! But some problems with execution: killing multiple enemies at a time makes for an awful noise, game can be beaten by just standing in the middle and holding the left arrow down, game time is too slow/takes too long to beat, ending is confusing. You've got a really cool idea though, and I think with a little tweaking it would be a great game!

CrOnNoS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:07pm

thanks the compliments, and mainly the bashings :P
We knew about some of those problems like the sound of killing multiple ghosts and the great secret way to beat the game holding the left arrow =P those things were left in the game because of the time and the priorities we chose to deliver at least something "complete". Still we're planing on polishing it, so keep the bashing going =P

Krohomm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Cool game and fun to play! it's funny that we've got the same interpretation of the theme.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Wow, what a sound, waht a mood!
Perfectly fits to the theme.

I only had one issue with the gameplay: You can beat the game (easy and hard mode) by just staying on Cursor left.

Despite of that, great entry!

GriloGordo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:20pm

The concept of the game caught my attention, especially the usage of the flashlight as a weapon.

In this case, standing still holding one of the arrows (or switching between them) ends up being an easier way to 'win' the game.

At the end (when the time reaches the limit), you could remove the ghosts (perhaps fading them out) and then walking with the character to the center of the room (not sure if it's best to cut the scene, or if the best is follow this suggestion).

For a less limiting gameplay, I would suggest changing the arrows by the mouse (more or less limiting in relation to the boy pointing forward).

There could also be some change in the lighting near the window, if it is the idea that the daylight is coming (otherwise it is fine this way). Not that this is too important to be done in such a short time.

The ultimate enemy coming without the child moving was a choice I would like to understand. Hahahahah.

Actually the kid is small in relation to the room, but it can be a way of representing his point of view. In addition, it makes sense for the game to have room for gameplay.

:D

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Nice game! It's really dificult to beat it but I really like it. I think that should be really nice to play this game with two joysticks. And would be great find the both modes of difficulty in a single build.

CrOnNoS says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:03pm

fixed the "finishing the game holding one arrow bug" (not uploaded yet though)
Gonna work on setting both difficulties on a single build and on the sounds problem when multiple ghosts die at the same time
About the mouse and/or joystick it's not our biggest priority right now, but we might add the options. The problem with the mouse is that we really want the lantern to move "that slow". It's a important part to the game mood so we would have to limit the turn speed with the mouse and it might feel quite frustrating since the lantern wouldn't follow the mouse as fast as you want to.
And the daylights .... hummm, well, gonna pop this up on discussion :P
Anyway, there's plenty more things we wanna do but couldn't with the time presented and might be implemented soon enough.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:33am

Good game controls to me seem a little off not sure why Thanks.

tellus says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:59am

Lighthouse simulator! I liked the idea, the audio was fun, and I did like mowing down ghosts, even if it did get a bit repetitive. I would love to see what you do with this in the future.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Simple but well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/anJNAp7E9kc

Ellian says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:47pm

The atmosphere is really great, the ligthning works very very well. It feels a bit unfair because enemy can spawn rather close to you, but even so, it's a cool thing you've done! Congrats.

lgbpaiva says ...
Jan 5, 2017 @ 12:21am

@Ellian thanks for playing and giving feedback, enemies can only spawn outside the wall, but if you are closer to a wall, there will be more enemies there. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]