Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Tea Cafe

by urfbound - Compo Entry

A breakout clone attempting to incorporate elements of Kaboom on the 2600. Set in a small Bubble Tea Cafe, use your paddle and ball to break open bricks containing Bubbles! Keep the bubbles in the air until you can collect ones of the same colour together in a cup to send out to customers. The more Bubbles of the same colour you collect, the greater your score multiplier will be!

(Please note everyone - this is my first time doing the LDJam in Unity and only my second LD Jam overall. I don't intend to win any awards and there's a lot i would have improved on but I only had one full day to put this game together. Thanks a lot for looking and I hope you have a great Ludum Dare! :D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#492Fun2.69
#560Innovation2.25
#561Graphics2.25
#578Overall2.63
#593Theme2.50
#1421Coolness26%

Comments

timgarbos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:50am

Congratulations on your second Ludum Dare! It's a good excuse to learn something new.

You game really got that "made with unity" look, so if you decide to continue with Unity I'd recommend doing something to get rid of it. Forgot the default lighting and shaders maybe :) But hey! You made a game in a day.

urfbound says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:04am

Thanks for the review! And yeah totally agree. Feel like this was a good grounds-up and I feel comfortable with Unity enough now to kind of start tinkering on my own time. Appreciate your suggestion - hadn't really thought about lighting on this project to be honest but I definitely can understand how it makes the project look a lot more stock just on those grounds. Thanks a lot for your feedback, hope you have a good LD!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:01pm

It's been a while since I played a breakout game. :D

The thing that I found unsettling was the lack of sound. Somehow it became a lot harder for me because of that.

I ran into a bug where the white ball hit a blue ball (or bubble, as you call it---but I expect more bubbliness from bubbles :P) more or less horizontally at the side of the screen, then slowed down a lot and got stuck on the side. :D

The angles of the border on the sides also resulted quite often in the white ball traveling nearly horizontally and very slowly.

The paddle moved in a way that I found a little hard to control at times, decelerating in a way that made me overshoot.

It might be me and my ineptitude, but I could not strategically bounce around the coloured balls to end up in the same cup whatsoever. :D

Turkey says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:15am

Fun game! I really like the concept of expanding on brick breaker as it was a nice twist! I felt like the ball was moving too fast for how close the paddle was to the bricks though. Still great game!

Linear says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:51am

You should consider not having the edge of the map bow out, because it's really easy to get the white ball stuck bouncing back and forth forever, and ever, and ever.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:19am

This was fun, but a little frustrating to me on a couple of levels. The paddle wasn't fast enough to respond to the balls, and it didn't stop immediately when the key was lifted. That meant I missed a lot, and not because I was bad, just because the math didn't work out to make it possible to play. Also, the fact that the ball bounced off other balls meant that you could be taken out of a play because of chaotic interactions over which you had no control. I don't know how anybody has the control to try to land certain colors in certain glasses, although that was an interesting side game to play. But it was functional, and I managed to clear a level after 8 or so plays (and then immediately cleared the next one because there were so many balls around - very satisfying). I don't really see how it fit the theme of One Room. Good clean look, too, and you've obviously figured a lot of Unity out now, so your next one can be even better. Good work.

aeveis says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:30am

Got through the first set of bricks. The paddle moved way too slowly for me, especially if the ball suddenly changed direction. May be a quick tweak to just make the paddle move a bit faster so it's a bit more responsive. I was pretty focused on the ball so I'm not sure what happened when they went into the cups. Keep up the good work!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:56am

The game was really funny, your game is really nice ! Good job !

relick says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Hooray for your second jam! I agree with the rest of the commenters, it feels pretty basic. However, my main gripes are with the controls - at first I tried using my gamepad which made the game stutter and unplayable. I switched to keyboard and the paddle was too slow to catch the ball most of the time. Or it was just that the blocks are too close to the paddle. With a couple of improvements this could be a neat little breakout game, but then, of course, it's just a breakout game.

Good effort nonetheless!

Ellian says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Congrats on your second LD game! These things are all about improving and learning so don't worry about it

The concept is good! It's very hard to control (speed and hitbox are a bit punishing), but I've never been good at Breakout games. But yeah, the idea is good! If you're looking for improvement and feedbacks, I suggest you watch the "Juice it or Lose it" talk, it's about how to make a breakout clone feel great.

tylerraz says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 11:18pm

Good concept and the collecting mechanic for a multiplier is great. Paddle could move a little faster, imo.

graebor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:38pm

Cool idea, but in practice I found it super hard to actually take advantage of the color-matching mechanics at all - it was enough of a struggle just to manage my own ball. Congrats on your first LD entry using Unity :)

nekoballs says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:07pm

Great mechanics! A bit hard to move the paddle for me. But fun and a nice idea

ajayajayaj says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:36am

Very cool. But the low friction really makes it frustrating (maybe that's intended). I also wish this was in portrait mode because it seems too squished.

Anyways, I hope you get a rating at the end. You just need one more vote on your game after my vote. Good Luck.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]