Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Claustrophobia

by Obvious_San - Jam Entry

Claustrophobia is a wave-based top down shooter game about facing your fears… with Violence!

Keep slaying your demons to stop the walls from closing in on you. The enemies become stronger in each wave, so don't forget to buy upgrades in the shop between waves!

Controls: WASD to move, mouse to aim and fire

Programming: @Obvious_San

Art: Kevin Houlihan (@randomhuman)

Music/SFX: Jeremy Hunter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#85Theme(Jam)4.22
#105Fun(Jam)3.78
#183Mood(Jam)3.73
#185Overall(Jam)3.74
#202Audio(Jam)3.54
#209Graphics(Jam)4.03
#434Humor(Jam)2.62
#458Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

ooku says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:11am

Extremely hard but incredibly fun.
Exzellent mood with the audio!

blinry says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Good work, everyone! This feels like a well-rounded game in terms of graphics, gameplay and sound effects!

Not having a lot of experience with this type of game, I could only made it to wave three in all my three attempts. It's probably easier with a mouse :) Good job making the green monsters easy to hate! >:-{ In terms of strategy, I found myself mainly running around in circles, trying to kite the enemies. Once the level got smaller, real panic set in :-P The creepy background music supported this!

Sometimes, the wave ended abruptly and I ran into items which I didn't want to buy. And I think there is a small bug: The "reached level X" counter is not reset on game over.

Again, good job on all fronts! Thanks for making this!

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:37pm

The shrinking room effect is cool. Graphics and sounds are nice. The game is a bit too hard for me though. Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:39pm

That was fun! Nice challenge and I loved the enclosing walls, subtle but effective.

kamranwali says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Nice game. I like the upgrade capability. It was a bit difficult though but at the same time fun. Overall nice game. Keep it up!

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Wow! This felt like an extremely polished game, the art was really good and the gameplay was quick and fun. It was also challenging, maybe a little too hard to come back once the room starts closing in but maybe that is by design. My only complaint is that you can get stuck against walls by some number of enemies and get straight wrecked!

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Great use of the theme! All of the art, music and code felt well polished! The green guys are hard!

FcValise says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:48pm

From now it's the game that I enjoyed the most for this LD37! Really good idea and good job :)

UltraRat says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:26am

Good job on all parts for the team. The upgrades give a good sense of progression for a game jam.

I read the notes after dying a few times, it wasn't immediately clear to me that the room was shrinking because I wasn't killing fast enough, I just thought it was on an invisible timer. Maybe instead of just the room glowing an animation could come out from all monsters to the edges when it shrinks? I dunno.

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:03pm

So difficult I'm bleeding! Nice game.

nilead says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Very nice! I feel that with more deep, character choices with special perks and variety of rooms this could be a really cool game for Steam.

lekiy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Fantastic game, but I found that the collision with enemies blocking you seemed unnecessary, it made it feel as one mistake and you were doomed. It would also be nice if the coins didn't disappear after finishing a wave.

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:55pm

One of the best games from the jam I've tried yet. Everything is pretty much as it should be and even better, expect for the fact that the enemies collide with the player, therefore pushing him around. That makes it extremely easy to get cornered especially when fighting those green dog-things. (If you don't know what to do about this take a look at this: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics2D.IgnoreLayerCollision.html)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Really addicting game, great job!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:21pm

definitely claustrophobia inducing. especially the first time when everything closes in and there's way too many enemies around. And I couldn't get past that. Seems I never have enough money to buy a cool gun. But there's definitely a lot of upgrades, so there must be more after that?

anyway, the room scaling works well and makes everything pretty frantic. great mechanic.

...

yay, before sending this, I played one more and got past the 2nd wave. not sure what decides its end though, but I made it. the shooting enemies are pretty cool. keeps you focused even more. The green dogs I hate the most. you can't see when they're gonna attack until they've hit you.

I would've liked to see more, but it's so hard:(

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Alright, that was extremely hard, but I managed to get to wave five at the least. I didn't fully grasp if it was me being hit the made the room smaller or me being bad at slaying. Not that it fully mattered, but it would have been nice to get better feedback on that part of the mechanics. Sometimes the enemy spawned a bit too close to the character so that I basically didn't stand a chance, it would have been nice to have them start a bit further away (say 50% of possible max distance up to possible max distance). Maybe there was some indicator on when a gun was ready to be fired again but I didn't see it. That would have been nice given that the gun was so frustratingly (in a good way) slow to start with. A "reloaded"-sound would suffice.

Fun entry!

mrhill says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Nice one! super freaky

Fuad says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Incredibly fun. It's pity that I cannot collect enough money to buy an automatic weapon, but nontheless.

Fantastic idea to realize hp bar as shrinking room. Perfect!

RoboRob says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:49am

I really enjoyed this game. The difficulty spikes up quite high after few rounds.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very cool! Also, very hard!

axoona says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:56pm

nice variant of a shoot'em up. I liked the arts and the music is quite scary!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Holy, that escalated quickly, those dog things are terrifying. Did not get very far at all, honestly i'm not sure how i survived any wave after the first, they seemed to just abruptly end. Really intense, nice work!

quadtree says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:36pm

Nice! Difficulty rises pretty quickly, though.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:20pm

Nice little shooter.

PaidGEEK says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:23pm

Simply a great game. Good job :) Awesome art, fun difficult gameplay and solid sense of progression.

Ellian says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:47pm

Well, this was a great surprise!
The tension gets super high when the walls start really closing in, it's great. And lots of content with all the upgrades you can buy! Amazing work, congrats guys :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:49pm

Loved this - the claustrophobia mechanic was really unique, and I really appreciated the intuitive upgrade system. Wave 5 was my limit, unfortunately, but I might have to give it another shot in the future.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:13pm

Really neat game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/j9hZwCBGmkI

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:50pm

Pretty fun entry. I loved how the wall permanently shrinks when you get hit (adding to the "Claustrophobia" name). Also those green monsters are ridiculously annoying.

Cerno_b says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:22am

It's tough but good. Visuals and audio are really nice, the game is fun to play.

I wish the balancing was a bit better. I wasn't able to pass the stage where the shooty guys appeared and I tried different strategies. Getting the shotgun first and then upgrading fire rate seemed to work fairly well, but I got entangled in the dashers too often.

So my only complaint to an otherwise very well-done game would be these balancing issues. The dashers could use a smaller hitbox since it becomes frustratingly hard when they come at you at a specific angle and you can't do anything to evade them. Maybe the game might be better off without solid enemies that the player can pass. For me that would alleviate a lot of frustration.

Overall it's a really fun game though, one of the games I played longest this LD. It's really motivating to go "just another round".

eddynardo says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:34am

Loved it, I saw the gameplay earlier on Jupiter Hadley , but it's a totally different experience when you play it. For some reason it makes you feel claustrophobic even if you are not in reality . Great entry

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]