Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Undermind

by Mark Smith - Compo Entry

You are an unnamed man in an unknown room. You need to figure out why you are there and how to get out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Theme4.47
#23Audio4.03
#29Graphics4.33
#35Mood4.00
#65Overall3.87
#143Innovation3.60
#219Fun3.37
#1133Coolness39%

Comments

Tauka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:09am

Absolutely stunning game! Best game I've played so far, and longest to hold me. Atmosphere is amazing, old Resident-Evil style camera and graphics, and that background noise it doing its job. Completed the game, congrats, you have a great game!

Viperfish9 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:20am

"This is going to be *killed by giant spider* much harder than I thought"
Well yeah because now I'm dead.
Love the art style, ps1-era I guess it would be.

Other than that, solid game, nice sound design, good sense of suspense.

Is the story similar to To The Moon where the people go into another persons memories and rewrite them? Except in this case maybe its rewriting someones darkest fears ie. giant spiders, blood, and death?

Mark Smith says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:22am

Thank you to anyone who plays my game. I hope you have as much fin playing it as I did making it. I apologize for the annoying clicking in the audio, it appears to be an issue with looped audio tracks in the WebGL build only.

siryakko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:40am

Nice game, the concept was one of my first ideas, really love the "PS1" look of the texture and the game overall. Nice job

MestR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:46am

Love the art style. Could go without the clipping background sounds though...

gurkan96 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:51am

like the game and cant understand how you managed to do it in a weekend

psychomonster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:00am

Wow that was a greast idea... I don't want to spoil... but this is really a good use of the theme. The End was kind of surprising for me... I did not see that coming :) Good Sound, good speaker, nice AlonmeInTheDark-Feeling... I like it.Some slender thing was in too ^^

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:44am

OH look, a tape. Oh Look, a messed up ouch. Oh WHAT THE FUCK! Dead. 4/5.

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:46am

atmosphere and style are great! I love the old ps1 looking graphics. It would have been nice to have an easier progression. I got to 4/5 tapes and couldn't determine how to progress.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:24am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:41am

Awesome graphics and interesting story. Only downside are the controls and gameplay which feels buggy, tho im sure its not.

aaaleee says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:37am

Interesting concept and art style. Gameplay feels way too simple but if you continue developing it and add more mechanics you can probably turn it into a great game.

dlweatherhead says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:14am

Interesting idea, and very nice graphic style.
I think a point and click control system may have been better than keyboard though, unless you had controller analogue sticks in mind.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Great job there! I love your attention to details(like tracking camera shown on pc)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Nice interpretation of a Resident Evil X PT game, especially for the art style.

randdir says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:16pm

nice art, nice spooky game, well done !

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Congratulation on a success compo run

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Very nice try to combine 3D and pixelart without going for straight voxels. Nice idea as well!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Very atmospheric, loved the graphics and audio. Good use of horror theme without resorting to jump scares. I could never take my eye off the painting on the wall!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Maybe I am just not getting soemthing, but I cannot get past the demons quote in the beginning of the game?

Mark Smith says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:02am

There is a bug I only just descoved, if you press any key during the quote, it freezes. Just leave the keyboard and mouse a long after the main menu and it should start. Sorry about that.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]