Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Room Hotel

by TerraCottaFrog - Compo Entry

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are the manager of a bustling hotel. It is praised in newspapers across the country.

But it has a dirty, dirty secret.

It only has one room.

Naturally, if this got out, people would stop going to your hotel!

So, make sure nobody finds out and speedily get them in and out of the room!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Instructions:
-------------

- Control your one room in order to bring guests to their desired destination.

- Shuffle them around to make room if you have to! They don't care when they leave somewhere!

- People who want to go somewhere will show a picture of their desired destination in a speech bubble.

- Take them to the corresponding amenity before they get angry!

- If people are angry for too long, satisfaction, the meter at the top of the screen, goes down.

- If it gets to zero, just wait and see what happens.

- When you help somebody, you make a profit, the number at the top left. This is your score.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Controls:
---------

Menu:

- Control the elevator with up and down and the arrow keys, wasd, or dpad

- Use right to select an option.


Building:

- Control the elevator with up and down and the arrow keys, wasd, or dpad

- Use right and left to place the next amenity​ in the queue (upper left)


Game:

- Control the elevator with up and down and the arrow keys, wasd, or dpad

- Use right and left to move people around

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#15Overall4.14
#18Fun4.12
#27Innovation4.13
#33Humor3.85
#40Audio3.86
#70Mood3.80
#90Theme4.11
#100Graphics3.87

Comments

rjhelms says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:29am

Nice take on the theme, and I love the visual style here.

I think the gameplay would be a bit richer if there were more amenity types, but, well, that's Ludum Dare for ya. Great job!

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:38am

Really good entry. The control scheme is so simple but works so well. Pretty fun when you get to a large number of patrons and have to shuffle them around madly.

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:13am

Simple and fun use of the theme. I've never been to a hotel where the elevator is your room :) I liked the audio a lot too!

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:20am

Nice game. Although it seemed like the rooms I was given were randomly chosen. I only had 2 sleeping rooms. I had a bunch of people who wanted to go in there... So that was a pain. XD I lasted 5 days.

KobiHawk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:22am

Really cool game! Very tight controls and the graphics spoke for themselves, despite not reading the help I had no confusion about what I was supposed to do.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:28am

Nice introduction of challenge here, first time playing one of these tower management games.

The day/night cycle adds a sense of urgency.

Fun game!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:34am

The visual is very nice and it is a very neat idea. I love the intense gameplay but sometimes I feel like the difficulty level is too high for my taste, sometimes it is just impossible to satisfy everyone. However, very well done sir!

Viperfish9 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:45am

Only lasted 4 days :P

kidando says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:12am

Brilliant. Hotel and service management simulator. I think you have a pretty neat concept here! Think about how it would play on mobile. Can get addictive. When I had 4 customers... those who wanted to sleep, I forced to them into the pool. hahahahaha. I felt like my old boss. Awesome game

eerongal says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:31pm

this was a really fun and interesting take on the theme. Nice work! Gets really hectic towards the end.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:55pm

The game itself is very nicely designed and executed. The fact I'm building the hotel up myself made me shout at myself down the line for placing everything way out of reach. There only being one open space at any given time meant that I couldn't settle into a rhythm, and had to stay on the edge of my seat for the entire round. And the genuinely funny reviews were a nice break from the panic.

I couldn't play it past day 5 though, for the simple reason that my hand was starting to cramp up. Having to constantly mash up and down fast enough was strenuous, though I'll grant that it was a very effective control scheme. The only suggestion that comes to mind would be to distribute the load between the player's hand somehow, but I can't think of an intuitive way to handle that.

Still, I enjoyed this game while I played it and will probably come back to it when my hands are less tired :). Good work.

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Big fan of animated/interactive menus (sadly not applied to my own works yet), yours is the best so far :-)

Was realy smooth and polished, right until my PC almost crashed when trying to exit after reviewing (dead on day 4, $11700 if I remember well). I guess that's what I get for trying to exit the building on the 3rd floor? ;-)

Anyway, small random thing that I noticed: The score is presented as $, until 'dead', then it's unitless.

Reading back it seems like all I do is complain, but it was a really neat little experience.

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:29pm

This was fantastic. Great game.

laylow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:29am

Love how the menu teachs the controls. It's hard to read the text. Gameplay was great, just suffered from cramping fingers.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:04am

I love your game, I knew it will be a great one since I've seen the first screenshot you posted!! Nice idea, I am already addicted :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:45am

This is a pretty great game. It's just incredibly difficult after the first few levels. But the graphics and audio are great - especially the voices.

Dege says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Absolutely love it!
The first thing that I thought was that we got the same idea, fortunatly your take is quite different.
I really did enjoy the progression of the difficulty in the levels.
I liked the graphical style of the game, is really simple, undistracting and the graphics are really easy to understand.
Nice entry!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:03pm

A really funny game, just making my fingers hurt a bit at the end, ahah.

But I like the realization, pretty amazing for a 48h creation !

Good job !!!

harusame says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:30pm

It's a fun game :)
Voices are hilarious ^^
I like it, good job.

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:42pm

I spent more time than I would expect on game jam game. It is fun. I really liked how the patrons said hello and goodbye)

smbe19 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Very cool idea. It gets difficult very fast.

saucygames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:56am

Good game, well done. Would be perfect for mobile. Hope you do it, I'll def support that.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:19am

I like the game, BUT! the fact that 3 guys want to go to the gym and I have only one is kinda weird.
I lost at level 4 because 4 guys want the cinema and my 2 cinema rooms was taken by 2 guys who want the swimming pool.

overall I liked fast paced management feel!, I'd Love to see more rooms and more ways to please my 3x4 pixels customers
(and a smart AI) Good Job!

gontzalve says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:34pm

love the game! very originla and fun maybe more visually poiting the available rooms could help. Hope you can play my game and rate it too!

blinry says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Fantastic compo entry! I love the attention to detail in the pixel art, like the flickering light in the cinema room! Nice "game over" music! I think I made it to day 5 on my first try. The game got challenging at that point, but felt fair.

Fun "hotel building" mechanics! You see, I can't find much to criticize... It even has humorous text inbetween :O For me, this is an all-5-star entry!

Sounds get a bit repetitive after while. "Thanks!" for making this game, TerraCottaFrog!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Haha your take on the One Room Hotel is brilliant, what a great idea!

It's really fun but it gets intense really quick, not sure how the rooms you're given or the guests' moods work, but i only lasted until the 4th day when i only had one bedroom that everyone wanted to go to.

I also kept misplacing my rooms in building mode because i thought the bottom-most room would be the one placed first, Tetris-style i guess.

Great polish too, love the voices (at least until everyone gets mad at you). Awesome work!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:49am

This is pretty much everything you can expect from a jam game. A solid core mechanic that makes great and original use of the theme (rather than forcing a game idea to work around the theme) and a simple but appropriate artstyle. As well as that, the sound effects and music work well together to create a great mood. The difficulty is probably at an appropriate level: it gets difficult and stressful later when all but one of the rooms are full, and you have to move people into rooms they dont want to be in yet to make room for others. I can't really think of any major flaws in the game at all.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Nice innovation. The graphics hit very good. Simple and efficiant good job

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Well done, I really enjoyed it!

Jungle says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:24pm

One of best of LD37. Great innovation.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Amazing entry. The ability to sort rooms after building them is just about the only suggestion I have. :D
The voices are fantastic.

dietzribi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Really good. Awesome use of the theme, smart and fun game, voices were really funny (sounds like Worms). Graphics were simple and fitting, impressing how expressive you can get with so little pixels (the swimming animation was really good)
Loved it

Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:41am

Great compo entry...strangely i want to play Sim Tower now....

pcmxms says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:07am

Great game. Very clever puzzle. Congrats!

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:11am

Really cool idea. It gets very challenging quickly, but that's the point. This might be cool as a mobile game, because using the tiny arrow keys on my keyboard kinda hurts.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:31am

Almost rhythm game-like in execution, was pretty fun because of that.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:55am

Great entry! A really solid mechanic, a fun take on the premise, and it scaled simply and nicely. Took me a round or two to understand that customers were instantly satisfied once I put them in a room and could take them right back out again.

ursagames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:16am

Excellent use of theme! The difficulty has a nice ramp up too. Starts off easy and becomes challenging at a decent pace. Felt very polished. Loved the reviews at the end of each level.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:28am

I like the gameplay idea. It is realized in a really smooth and enjoyable way.
Audio and art are great!
Well done

t4u says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:38am

This was great fun. Shame that the challenge starts at level 3 so you have to suffer through not so interesting first two levels. Graphic and sounds are very good although I wasn't sure what brown and gray rooms were, I assume cinema and sleeping rooms but wasn't sure.

Very good entry. I lke that's complete product that's overall strong, not limit to one selling point. It was a little confusing at first.

Room reviews were nice touch.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:52am

Simple and fun. Super hard on day 5 :D I would say impossible.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:31am

Crazily exponential difficulty curve! Really liked it, perfect score up until the fourth day, where I was pummelled into oblivion.

Perhaps balance that a bit more, and add some more ameneties, but other than that, great job! Loved the little voice bites, too.

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:33am

Really great game!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:37pm

I love how fast this game can be, trying to organise all your guests is a nightmare!

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Errrrrr

I love the premise and the concept, really brings a smile :) BUT!! Isn't that the elevator you're operating?

Great presentation, and the game eases you into its systems well. If there's a gripe for me it would be some of the room icons/symbols were quite same-y which makes it bit hard to make a quick call.

Great entry :) Got really hard on 3, might wanna ease the curve a little.

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Great job! Easily my favorite so far.

I loved your LD35 entry and this one is even better. I honestly don't have anything negative to say.

However I found a bug: When you start out with all the same rooms (say only swimming pools), the game freezes.

personalurban says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:50pm

great fun, great style. top entry.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Great great game! A lot of polish and a solid level design! It's very stressful but I loved it!

ijzm says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:55pm

All the people wanted to use one amenity and I only had one room with that amenity. D:

Good gameplay, simple to use but fast paced controls. I laughed at the voices of the guests as well as the satisfaction feedback (references to hardly staying in the hotel room, having motion sickness XD). I wish the game would allow you to drop off guests in the bottom lobby as well. The difficulty spike seems to jump quickly though.

~Random-storykeeper

Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Excelent game, I just upload this video of me playing it: https://www.youtube.com/edit?video_id=XBEBBc-cfYc (My second time playing it.) Ihe games concept, graphics and gameplay execution really impressed me, I loved the hotel reviews and the characters voices and the hectic gameplay meant that even after playing multiple rounds it was still very challenging and fun. Thanks for recommending it to me :)

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Really challenging, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/jkCKtsfy-DM

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:05am

I just discovered I gave you the wrong video link by mistake, so here is the corrected one: https://youtu.be/XBEBBc-cfYc
Sorry about that ;)

tylerraz says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:45am

Good controls and good challenge trying to keep up satisfaction. Graphics and audio fit well with the game, although the ending crash is a little too loud.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:54am

Good concept, what you managed to do in a short time like this is pretty impressive imho, I mean the realisation of the concept is nice and well polished. It's not glitchy and runs well AND you made the art part too.

The sprites are "small" but detailed enough to see what is going on and give to the game a feeling of "pretty and not overloaded". The movements reminds me The Lemmings.

I really liked the audio. The music goes really well with the setting and the pace of the game. It would be nice (just a personal thing) to have a button to mute or at lease decrease the volume of the game.

It's pretty clear what the little guys want, the bubble to show what they want is a good idea.

To please them all is not always easy, since the first rooms you have are base on the RNG, but at the second day it's getting better.

The game can be challenging but not frustrating and that's a good thing (in my opinion), when you fail you want to try again.
I was about to say that it could be nice to let the player "reroll" the rooms by trading some money/score, but it seems that the Guests won't ask something that isn't available, so~~ ^^

Good job. :)

Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:14am

Fantastic work. Really fun and unique integration of the theme. It feels really nice, and the audio is perfect.

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:53am

Simple and clean, nice to pick up and play for a bit. Nicely done!

Coauctor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:57am

Simple, but fun! Want more humor.

jakebooyah says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:27am

The controls is a little confusing. But it's a pretty good job for ludum dare! Keep up the good work.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:12am

Really smart, I only lasted three days! The controls and sounds felt like those of a much polished game, making it very enjoyable.

siryakko says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:22am

Totally the kind of game i want to see continues its development. Simple but fun idea and great pixel art graphics.

stepp says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Very nice entry. Graphics and scheme of controls nicely done. Good work

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Very fun! The help screen didn't work for me for some reason, but it was really easy to figure it out anyway. Gets hectic and challenging quick, it feels like a particular type of rooms is more demanded in each level? It usually took me too long to realise that :)

The gameplay is very simple to understand and so are the controls. With this kind of games I always wonder if more types of challenges (even harder multitasking) would work better than just straight up increasing the number of people and rooms. E.g. more types of rooms, more elevator shafts, different types of requests?

But, this was fun, well done!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:58pm

a surprisingly well thought out game, I really enjoyed it, was impressed with your take on the theme and the game play elements.

neontropics says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Wow, this was a perfect entry, probably my favourite so far! The idea is just amazing and very well implemented. The difficulty curve is great, it becomes pretty hectic pretty fast. Only negative thing was the review text after each session was kind of hard to read. Great music, graphics and sound effects!

rnlf says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Interesting take on the theme! The art style workd well for this game.

Maybe the guests' wishes could take other guests' wishes a bit more into account. It's a bit disheartening when four guests all want to use the same room at the same time which is blocked by another one since forever.

But I guess I am guilty of overseeing such small details, too, so who am I to talk :D

Very solid entry!

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Great work , the art and polish is awesome .. and really like the idea

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:54pm

I love the pixelart style D:!

psilon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Good game, great concept. I like it very much, this game is in my top 3 for LD37.

peredm says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:01pm

The idea is fantastic and the gameplay too. One of the best games I've found here. I'd like it if you could change the distribution of the rooms once you've builded them so you can distribute them strategicly. The audio, idea, graphics, and everything is amazing. Good job!

seano says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Yup, twas fun. Graphics fit the game, the controls were solid. The goal was obvious. The difficulty curve was fairly steep, it could do with more tweaking if you have time, more room choices and complexity of hotel. The audio got a little repetitive too

CrazY says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Top

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:03pm

I like your style and the game is kinda fun! hope to see other your games in future :)

menip says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Loved it! UI was cool, really enjoyed graphics and audio. Gotta love that screenshake :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:32am

Thought it was pretty cool to create basically an elevator game. It was neat to think through the necessary combination of actions to get the optimal results for your customers. I think the game has a lot of potential to something larger.

There's a point in the game, though, that I think gets too difficult for me, and makes me want to quit early. I'm not sure how to prevent that from happening. Maybe some sort of power-ups?

grena says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Fun since the first play! Really good entry, the gameplay is perfect :)

StaNov says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:30pm

You just saw me playing your game live. You can watch it again here: https://youtu.be/AAa6rb4l3oI

salyon says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Nice entry!
Very easy and fun to play, but still challenging.
It would be very cool to play it on mobile!

I just think it needs a bit more work on the IA of the costumers, it's a bit frustanting right now.

ChromeOrange says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Its a very very funny game <3

Naca says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

One of the best games on this LD!!! I'm having a great time with it, very funny and addictive. Love the sound effects :D

As some people have already noted, it would be an interesting feature to add the posibility to change the hotel layout between days.

Anyway, congratulations for this awesome work!!

UekiShurei says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:27am

Fun game. Kinda wish I could buy whatever room I want, though. That cash I collected seems useless.

Greemax says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Awesome idea!!! It's a very funny concept. Regarding the art, it's só simple, but you dis well in such a low res. Contrata.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Really like this game :D Great graphics and audio! You did a fantastic job on this. Congrats!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:10am

played this one far too long, really addictive! A suggestion - make it so that if you hold a button, the elevator continues to move upwards. Pressing the button fast and a lot on later levels totally killed my hand XD also does money actually do anything on the mobile version? As if you could actually spend it, it would be quite awesome :P

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Cool concept, difficulty ramped up fairly unexpectedly!

madlee says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Really nice idea! I struggled in my first playthrough because I made it several rounds in with only one of one of the room types (exercise room? the greyish one). That made it _very_ difficult to balance. The second playthrough had a more even distribution of the room types so it was a lot easier to manage. Loved the little voice overs! Great work :D

Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:20pm

That's a funny interpretation of the concept, but in practice the room just serves as an elevator. And disallowing more than one person in the cinema or the pool didn't make sense. I never understood what the third room was. So after all, it wasn't a very *good* interpretation of the theme. Though still funny.

I like graphics with all its details, the menu, the music, the spoken lines, building the hotel - you have lots of stuff in there.

For some reason I was confused about the two rooms that weren't the pool and had trouble finding the correct one quickly.

Overall a very polished contribution!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Very nice game! Really fun to play. I really liked the visuals and the simplicity. Good job!

ValiaP says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:38am

Great work! Really nice perspective for the theme! I'm really impressed by how simple but fun it was.

axoona says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 6:18pm

great entry! It's fun and humorous, the game idea is inventive and I really liked the sound design!
congrats! very polished for a 48h entry.

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Wow! Very creative and fun! Thank you for the game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Great job, very fun. I quit after hitting $100,000 and getting a 100% satisfaction rating on day 13. Boy, what a hand workout, even with my left hand helping out using WASD! Also, people are somehow REALLY into swimming, haha.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Trying to shuffle people around while the hotel was at capacity - 1 was actually really interesting to try and get the hang of, as you're essentially fetching anybody who needs to be in the current empty slot, rather than grabbing someone and trying to get them to where they need to be. Very fun :)

meinerHeld says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Cool colors.
Cool concept.
Cool music.
Cool mechanics.

--Me

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 5:50am

Loved the concept the first time I saw a gif while it was in development, would definitely love to see more! Great mood and graphics too! :D

skorpyo says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Nice game with pleasant sounds. Followed the game from the first gif. Don't regret that. Good job!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 7:54pm

This is fantastic. The graphics work well, the gameplay is tight and well paced, and everything fits great. I think I may have given myself carpal tunnel from all the frantic keyboard mashing, but the precision and speed of being able to enter exactly what you want to do really makes the game feel good. Later levels are crazy, but when you get in the zone and fulfill a bunch of wishes it's a great experience. Love the whole thing!

pmarincak says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:33am

This was a really cool use of the theme. I also liked how the main controls was used in the start screen. Great Job!

Spab says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Really fun to play!

Junber says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:32pm

I love the very minimalistic pixel art and together with the cute sounds its fun whatever tha gameplay is. but thats even more awesome, the idea with one room that fits perfectly to the theme is very cool and it gets harder and harder every levle. I am very bad in this speed based games and saw only angry guests, but my friends were much better and had much fun with the high speed.
-Hisfantor

ZYXer says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Haha, really funny game. And very stressful.

I really like the graphics and the sound, they fit well together and create a great mood.

The difficulty curve is a bit steep. I have no idea how anyone could get beyond the third level. At one point all six guys wanted to go in the ball pit (I assume that's what blue floored room should be), but I had only two of them. Very frustrating.

But overall, a very well polished game!

Dec 27, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Great little game. Like the take on the theme, and the shuffling interaction. Very nice.

Kroute says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Very cool game but it's so hard to satisfy them all !

raaaahman says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Simple yet entertaining. A nice take on the theme. Strangely, it's easier in the late game when you've got plenty of rooms than in the midgame where you're probably missing rooms of a particular type.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Excellent, nice touches with the hotel collapse and voice acting.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:36am

The game is great, but I have found frustrating the fact that I got only one movie room, but all of the people (about 4-5 of them) wanted to go there at the same time.

Maybe there was no time for balancing but that's the only thing that was bad for me. Probably everything is random without constraints.

Other than that, the game has potential to become huge. Don't leave it. Expand on it. Publish it.

Well done.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:50am

Wow!! lotsa features for a 48 hour jam by single person! This game is really polished, including the audio feedback of people for everything...
Gameplay, is perfect, i enjoyed from start to finish.. (man, I'm a terrible hotel manager)
I'd recommend this game to my friends... this is a solid entry!
If I have to point out something, it's the difficulty after level 1 but i think it's just me

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:02am

Nice game! Simple for understanding and fun!

Ellian says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:39pm

The graphics were surprisingly efficient! Very minimalist, yet it works. The challenge is definitively there, and it was a lot of fun playing!
It's a weird take on the theme, but if it means it gets to be this fun, I'm all for it. Congrats!

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Perfect! awesome concept, great polish! I think the best entry i've played so far! Good Job!

ijona says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:20am

It was nice to play, and I like the style: so simplistic and yet clear.

novotmike says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:51am

I've seen this game during the developement. It's concept is so simple, yet the game is really fun to play. I must say that I like the whole style of the game. Great work!

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Omg!!!

There is just not space for everyone, and everybody wants everything at the same time...
Trying to move people around is just plain fun!
Charming pixel art and nice sound.

5 Stars!

Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:41pm

This was really fun! The inclusion of a build mode in-between levels was a great way to build up the challenge. Was it random I wonder? Because I had a tower with 1 swimming pool and about a million people demanding to go swimming. Anyway great take on the theme and a lot of personality!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 9:06am

Fun game, but I'm guessing some things are random and the way everybody can demand the exact same room seems unfair. If the randomness was more balanced it would be even better, but still as is it was really well made and still fun.

Sawtan says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 11:45am

Lovely, I loved Sim Tower back in the days, and this entry sure have some SimTower vibes to it! :D

fabsy says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:45pm

What a neat concept! I can't really find any flaws in this entry. It's simple, fun and well made. Good job on conveying the appropriate information in such low resolution graphics.

Probably one of the best games theme-wise.

rojo says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:59am

Felt a bit slow in the beginning, but the pace picked up nicely after a bit. Nice take on the theme!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:26am

Fun addictive little game which was fun to stay on top of. Wish there was more variety in rooms but in a jam it's definitely understandable.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:50pm

Really not much to it aside from matching the customers to the rooms. The building seems to be explode randomly for no reason. The pixel art looks really old and dated.

Jan 24, 2017 @ 5:46pm

Pssst - you have been featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdFFkPi40pQ

May 4, 2017 @ 11:28pm

I also included this game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-37-gwqmcmek

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]