Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Dash Club

by bigbuggames - Jam Entry

Welcome to the dance floor.

You will control the best Gecko dancer of the club while enchanting all the audience with your graceful moves.

Your job as a dancer is to avoid losing points walking through the green and golden tiles while avoiding the red ones.

Let's the dance begin!

Tiles:

Green: +10
Red: -30
Golden: +100
Blue: jump


CONTROLS
--------------------------------

LEFT/RIGHT => move
SPACE + LEFT/RIGHT => dash (While dashing your score is not affected)


CREDITS
--------------------------------

Sound/FX: Joan Garcia
Art/Animation: Ferran Prat
Programming: Arnau Albuixech, Marc Solà


CHANGELOG
--------------------------------

14.12.2016 - Fixed bug with blue tiles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Fun(Jam)4.28
#10Audio(Jam)4.46
#60Overall(Jam)4.02
#64Innovation(Jam)4.02
#68Mood(Jam)4.04
#73Humor(Jam)3.81
#266Graphics(Jam)3.92
#274Theme(Jam)3.86

Comments

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Couldn't run it, it says there wasn't enough WebGL memory. You might want to increase the memory requirements in the player settings, and try again.

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Haha, had some fun! In one run I (broke?) it by having a blue tile 4 times really fast and I was kicked offscreen.

LoadedGames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Overall it was a really fun game, I didn't have audio available so I couldn't rate it but everything else was above average. I did find a bug with the blue tiles where my character would disappear and I could only restart by refreshing the page.

saurterrs says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:48pm

That was reaalyy sweet ;)))
Wish I could load own music files to play.
Make it another audisurf in future, please )))

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Awesome cute game! Loving it! One prolem i encountered tho is that sometimes the gecko disappears after standing on a blue platform.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Great game! Had lots of fun, got a bit repetitive at the end, but the music made me forget that. Good work

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Awesome! I could play this all day. It looks, sounds, and feels great!

Man, I love being a dancing gecko.

bigpan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:53pm

I think you did a great job with the dancing mechanics, kept me playing for a long time, I liked it even though it's a little bit repetitive, my only suggestion so far would be to improve the animations, especially the gecko one.

winwanwon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Great concept with nice music, I think if the game has a combo system it may be more fun and challenging :)
Anyway, it's awesome!

mvieira says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Great Game! I could only get to run on Firefox. Loved the music and had lots of fun.

Put some powerups + music tracks to choose and it will be even better. I dont forget more dancers...LOL

BlackQuiltro says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:05pm

This is amazing!! :) Great music and mood. Really good!

quiv says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:03am

This game is so fun! Awesome animations to go with the music, and cool take on the rhythm genre! Very well done, loved it :D

Tkachov says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:54am

Wow, that was actually very fun to play. Nice graphics and audio track.

Not sure if that's intended, but in the end Gecko disappeared a few seconds before track ended while I was jumping very fast.

vrojman says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Very fun game and nice adaptation to the theme!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Very nice game.disko super star))) Ave Ceasar

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Saw one of your early posts on Saturday or so and our entire team was excited to play just from the pic of your dude doing the disco point. Fantastic music, *super funny dancing animations.* Seriously, I don't know if I laughed at the arm roll or the hands-on-hips thrust more. Great job!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Awesome music! I had fun. The blue tiles are really satisfying to hit.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:27am

Really cool! liked it very much!

Leroyii says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:27am

I really enjoyed it, but I have nothing to base my score off of, so I can't tell how well I did.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:53am

A decent run. I'm normally pretty pants at rhythm games, but I had a lot of fun with this little gecko.

thu_denny says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:20am

Cool entry!
Floor switch is great fun. But I just can't finish the song(so many red blocks)...

mao says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:26am

I liked the music :D

I was a little confused about when the panels count (at the start or end of the beat?) but I still managed to do pretty well.

Devastus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:23pm

That's awesome, and groovy as hell. I got a score of 4930, which is probably not that much, but I enjoyed it alot!

Sean says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Interesting take on the rhythm genre! The floor switching in particular was a neat feature.

One thing that sort of threw me off is that I was never quite certain whether I was supposed to be on the blocks when they reached the last row or when they left the last row. The gecko being able to stand in-between blocks made this a bit more of an issue; in a more standard rhythm game I think the player would pick up on the correct timing faster since they'd be constrained to the grid.

Overall, a nice entry!

Moeilijk says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:15am

I really like this game. Love the music and the art.
Personally not really the rhythm game type myself, but this was quite enjoyable.

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:38pm

AMAZING. The best game I've rated so far. Loved everything about it :D. Clever idea and great execution :D

calzep says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:07pm

HILARIOUS!! Better than DDR. LOL

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:38pm

So far this is one of my favourite games. It was hard to stop, Really awesome, great job!

Przekop says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:42pm

GROOOOVY

desucrerer says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:42pm

That was a great little game experience. Funky sound, innovative gameplay. Cool game dynamics regarding the move patterns, character movement and music. Parapa the Rapper style... the disco-croc is just the beginning ;)

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Awesome music :) This was really fun. Great job.

ChatPion says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:54pm

I felt absolutely fabulous ! I just wish for more than the clapping.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Close to perfection for a jam game, extremely fun and polished! Great game!

erikiene says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Just... wow. I was feeling the beat so bad I could not stop and even though numerous times I thought "Maybe it's infinite?" I just couldn't get myself to quit. Amazing entry!

youngbrothers says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:34am

Nicely polished. The movement felt good, and the level is quite balanced, on the first try I was just able to make the end of the song. The clapping of the audience could be slightly better in sync with the music, that would give it a touch more energy even.
Well done!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xWdPMmlW1Hs

Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Wow! Great take on the rhythm genre. It got a bit challenging towards the end, but was really fun throughout! Nice work!

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Wow, what a slick little package! Lots of nice little touches, and I really felt the groove. Nice work!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Funky! Looks great, plays great, excellent.

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Sweet 70ies disco feeling in every pixel and note of this game. This calls for more action like getting good scores for special moves on the the dance floor, e.g. making the flipping in a 6 times combo or so.

Joshsimard says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:48am

Groovy baby! Loved the concept!

Broxxar says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:45am

Wow that is one stylish gecko! Really enjoyed this, love the animations and the music. Fantastic work!

Roms says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:00pm

I love the atmosphere you've created, so much palying it, even if I find it a bit hard ! Great jobs guys !

Our game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=124092

Ygogo says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:43am

Great !!! Graphics, sound and gameplay is perfect !!

makhovykh says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:41pm

The best game i ever seen this jam! 10/10

Diplodino says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Hooo man that was FUNKY ! Love the music, even if the gameplay was sometimes to... Hard and not really easy to understand ! But this dancing lizard kept me playing ! Check out our game which is also a tribute to the 70s !

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Great game, interesting game mechanics and audio :)
Looking forward for some mobile or PC release :D

ema1ih says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:24pm

This gaame was so good, addictive, nice music, love the animations, great work :)

xesenix says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Great idea and execution one of best games i have plaid here.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Awesome game. I really enjoyed it!

Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Hey, this is a really nice game.
I like the idea and its funny how the player dashes.
Great work on the art and music!
Also please go ahead and test out my game!

Palarus says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:25pm

5/5 Great Game! Just wow!

Lovely Character, very fit in the theme. Easy mechanic, simple to understand hard to master. I love the rhythm games. Plus the changing floor seems to me a great idea. I encourage you to polish the game, it can make it out there with enough caring.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:02am

hell yeah! rocked that room!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:06am

Pretty fun concept and really enjoyable to play and I loved how the tiles light up in time to the music (Dashing seems a bit slow though).

Notester says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:28am

This was a really cool game~ :) I really liked the concept and music the most.

Doomdad says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 6:58am

3641 score! Great fun nice music wish there were more!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:00am

Really, really fun :D love the music, awesome idea haha it had some great animations too.

tylerraz says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:46am

Good game and funky tune. Keep working on it, for sure!

Dec 25, 2016 @ 9:15am

This is brilliant! Best music and really fun gameplay. Love the blue tiles and being thrown to ceailing or bottom. I wished there was some more animation feedback for being on the different tiles, like doing super moves when on golden ones and struggeling when on a red one, but that would be post-LD material.
Awesome game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 10:11am

Pretty interesting idea! I like the general concept but feel like the execution could maybe have been a little better (?). But I can't say exactly how. One thing is that I'm not sure how I feel about the smooth movement as opposed to being locked to tiles (a la Crypt of the Necrodancer).

That being said this was still pretty fun!

faceless71 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Very nice and fun game. Well done!

Stending says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 12:36am

WOOOOW, that's a full 5/5 for me!
Really new and really fun, works well on every category!

I love to see some other music games this LD!
Congratulations for this entry, that's gorgeous <3

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 1:05pm

One of my favorites. Geckoo loves his new friend :)
Without any doubt, this is the best track which has been used during the 37th LudumDare. The main gameplay is really good - especially this opportunity to dance on the roof. All mechanics work well - like a charm. An amazing experience. Well done ++

peredm says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 8:50pm

I love this game, I even played it twice!!!
The art and music are amazing and the gameplay is very good too.
In my opinion the mechanics would be better if you moved instantly one tile every time you press the arrows (sticked to a grid) and the dash made you move 3 tiles or something like that. This way the game would be more about following the rythm (the closest you are to the beat the better score you get). That's just how I'd make it.
Still, amazing game and original idea. Very polished art. Good job guys.

MrTroy says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:36pm

I love this game! I played it a few times just to get a better feel for the game, I still wasn't able to get a proper rhythm going, and the game would seem to abruptly end (because my meter was empty). Just a small suggestion to help would be to have the lizard's expression change as the game is about to end, because that's where my eyes are focused.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:51am

OH MY -- !!
This looks legit and well-done! Make this a mobile game!!! I LOVE RHYTHM GAMES MAN!
This is really good and fun... awesome mechanic too as it's something quite new in rhythm games.. I like how you fit this to the theme...

If I have to suggest something to make this better, it would be adding more eye candies so it wouldnt look empty...
But I have to say, this is a solid entry 5/5

Green Soda says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:53am

OH MY -- !!
This looks legit and well-done! Make this a mobile game!!! I LOVE RHYTHM GAMES MAN!
This is really good and fun... awesome mechanic too as it's something quite new in rhythm games.. I like how you fit this to the theme...

If I have to suggest something to make this better, it would be adding more eye candies so it wouldnt look empty... but it already looks good as it is!
But I have to say, this is a solid entry, lotsa features for a jam game! 5/5

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:12am

HARD

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 2:31pm

That was great fun. Made it on my first try.

Graphics and music are insanely well done and the hand crafted floor patterns feel like a lot of thought has gone into them.

Great job!

runvs says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:14pm

Nice game and great idea! I like the dashing mechanic as well as the pulsed glow of the lights!

Almax27 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:35pm

Funky! :D

I would have liked to see the score while I played and have a highscore tracked after each play through. Otherwise a ridiculously bodacious game.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:23am

I love it! I don't have anything to say, it's just perfect, a cool concept, a great execution, impressive !
(Oh yes, just one little tiny thing: if there could be some audio feedback on the music like in GuitarHero when you're doing bad or great, that'd be icin on the cake!)

Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:30am

Like the art! Wish the feedback for being in the right place was a bit more juicy and closer to the action.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]