Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Inside The Office

by Darkhaul - Compo Entry

Left in the office told to sort through the files, told by an unknown voice what to do, is it all as it seems?

A short moral-based game where you should do as you are told. Or should you?

Controls:
Look around with mouse, left click to interact/pick up/place, right click to open held file.

Running Notes:
Sorry for no html5 build, Unity wouldn't export to it. Also when windowed is recomended as the only way to close in fulscreen is alt+F4, sorry, time constraints got me.

End note:
Wish I'd had some more time to add a bit more polish to the game, be sure to pay attention to your surroundings and replay if you want to see the other endings.
Thanks for playing
-Darkhaul

Edit- fixed windows link, sorry about that :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#223Theme3.78
#314Mood3.10
#399Graphics2.87
#402Audio2.35
#476Innovation2.65
#531Overall2.83
#571Fun2.36
#1133Coolness39%

Comments

Sparked99 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Windows link is broken for me.

ralfz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Supah Cool!

Darkhaul says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:47pm

@Sparked99 fixed windows link now, sorry for that

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Link is broken, but I found it on game jolt. I really liked the graphics!! However, there is not too much gameplay here, I would focus more on gameplay in future. Nice mood though, and quite deep, so you get innovation and mood stars for that. Overall.. I liked it :). Also, I have to give you 5 stars for theme, because it is in.. One room, and there is literally nothing else to this theme :(

Kazik_210 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Simple but nice :D

Somnium says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:01pm

It is a great beginning :) You have a (very nicely drawn) environment, mechanics in place for sorting the contents of the archive drawers, some background for the decisions, and a feedback/result mechanism.

You should definately make a post-LD version, adding some additional outcomes and/or files, and maybe a restart and/or quit-button on the result-page.

Also, I can only assume that we are stuck with the job for live, considering that there is no door in the room! :)

Darkhaul says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:03pm

@Simnium I will definately try, those are all things i wanted to add in but couldn't because I ran out of time :( Thanks for the feedback though!

Sparked99 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:42pm

It's nice and short. Gets in, gets out, and does so well. I feel like if this was a episodic game in the next episode my character would be an alcoholic from his choices though, but at least the boss was pleased :D. The game seems like a good foundation. Good Job!

caranha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:56am

Any chance to get a linux/mac build out? :-D

TubbyS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Felt a little short, I think it could be much more, but nice nonetheless

hadesfury says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45pm

I could not put all the files in the red or green box even if I wanted to!
I like the simpleness of it contrasting with life changing consequences of your actions. But it needed more details or endings, etc. But it's a nice start ;)

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:19pm

A short little game, lasting three attempts for me to see some of the different outcomes.

The graphics looks nice, a simple stylized look that works. I would've preferred a different colour for the folders, as they're the same as the rejection outbox.

Audio is a little lacking, with (I think) only the drawer opening having sound. It's a good drawer sound though, so a 1-out-of-1 score on that one. ;)

The final results being text and there being no restart button were a shame. I see you mentioned you ran out of time, so I assume this game was a wise lesson in time management for you. :D I agree that there's enough meat to this concept to polish it up post-LD a bit, to get some more satisfying final results in there.

Keep it up!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:29pm

I like the stuff written in the files, the models are pretty nice. The light fading is cool.

It's a bit short but the concept is interesting, a kind of "HR simulator".^^

Apparently, the boss seems to be a bit mad at me. :p

resty says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:41pm

The idea is cool. Trying to discuss how we make decisions. Will you follow the orders.
Could add more endings.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:42am

Interesting concept, but I feel like it needs a little more work to really have emotional impact. I like what you're going for though!

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Papers Please 0.5 :D!

wookie says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Amaizin!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:10pm

xD main idea of the game is cool,liked this project

Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:39pm

nice try. just good!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]