Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Nest

by Jonathan Whiting - Compo Entry

A very deep trip into a very small room.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Innovation4.68
#14Theme4.50
#37Overall4.00
#81Audio3.60
#90Mood3.70
#109Graphics3.82
#183Humor2.94
#345Fun3.11
#1133Coolness39%

Comments

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Mind blowing, great! ))

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:46pm

interesting game. the controls felt weird at first until i got to the first arrow key section.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Went autoplay since I couldn't complete it myself. A nice twist on the theme. Oh, and audio gets another track on each arrow key section.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:55pm

This was great fun, It was very challenging for me to wrap my mind around controlling the third screen so I'm so glad you added the auto play feature :) your description sums it up perfectly and I found myself jamming to the rhythm of sounds created by the autoplay which turned out to be surprisingly tuneful.

Sirnic says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Wow, that recursive concept really blew my mind,
I started laughing when I realised what is happening :D
Very great submission!

kebb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Wow that was really cool, I ended up running the autoplay function after awhile, and just watched in awe as it got more and more complex. Amazing job!

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Wooh! Very trippy once you reach the third screen. Don't think I have the mental fortitude to finish this one. Great job though- very unique idea!

neontropics says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Superb presentation. I was a bit too lazy to go more than one extra level "deep", and if you continue to expand on this idea I'd try and make it less of a hassle for each reward. Just a side step button (or Alt + Arrow Keys) would be great for moving around on the Arrows, or maybe even Arrow keys for the player and WASD as control for the portal thingy. The autoplay was a great touch since I could see more of the game.

I'm happy I found your site as well, it seems like there are some great games there!

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:33pm

On mac the game seems to be running, but all I see is a full screen blue window.

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:23am

Great idea, ultra-hard (not sure if in a good way) once you reach 3rd level and beyond, but you thought about that in advance and put in the autoplay, awesome!

Also enjoyed the sounds but the ones made by my own walking rather than the autoplay.

Amazing submission for 48h!

mitkus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Whoa dude, this was trippy as hell! I ended up enjoying autoplay mode quite a lot.

Very glad this game exists.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:29pm

That's a trip indeed :) Very cool idea and really well made. Impressive stuff! And it's really nice there's an autoplay option - it seems I can't make it past the third level.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Very unique mechanic, really interesting take on the theme. I got to the 3rd tv screen, I think, it starts to get quite confusing. Good work anyway.

Junber says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:55pm

That was... interesting. I gave up after I got to the room with the yellow floor but the previous level already felt somewhat like a chore. It would have been nice if there was an some kind of ending after that. (Ignore this if there is an ending later on. I couldn't watch the autoplay for long without getting motion sick) Except from that it was a really great game with an especially creative interpretation of the theme.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Very interesting gameplay, mindblowing in some way.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Great idea and great game. Well done!!!

SbstnC says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Wow, that's brilliant. The third screen was to much for my poor brain, but the autoplay is an awesome feature.

kawaiineko says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:44pm

creative way to use the theme. i love how you choose to use strong colos... reminds me of Nintendo a little bit, in my opinion this is a good thing :D congrats!!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:11am

Awesome use of the theme :D watching autoplay was mesmerizing, you should release this as a screen saver :P

Zemmi says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Cool idea, I enjoyed it a lot when dealing with an area with lots of turns but the straightaways got a bit tedious. Had four screens up before stopping. Probably would have played to completion if the room was smaller with more obstacles / less straightaways.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:07am

Amazing concept. This is what I love LD for.

saucygames says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:09am

:\

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:17pm

My five stars to Innovation and Theme. One of the best take on the subject. I went to the 4th sub-level, and then I was even more surprised to see the autoplay mode. Cherry on the cake.
Chapeau, sir! A really great concept more than well executed.

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:28am

Got to the fourth room manually, went autoplay after that. Actually curious how long can it go on for.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]