Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Killing Room

by Leeman - Compo Entry

My game is boring, has horrible graphics and like no Humor at all.

It's my first LudumDare and I redid my Idea 4 times and in the end I only had ~12 hours left when I lastly redid it.
I don't want really want to be judged in any category however I would like to hear your opinion on what I could do better from what I already implemented, what I should leave out next time and suggestions what I should implement to make it more fun but keep it a small game.


===========

WASD to move
Mouse to Aim
Leftclick to shoot

===========

Edit:

First small Patch and that still pre Submission hour. Didn't thought I'd manage to do that.

*Added
**Feedback when being hit
**Feedback when killing an enemy

Another patch. And 1 hour 15 to go. Let's see what else I can get in

*Added
*Background Music


**********************************************
**Post Compo**

For those that already voted and enjoyed it. Here's a little post-compo updated version with small bugfixes. Like enemys no longer spawn ontop / too close to you. And small QOL Improvements like non-static counter till next wave

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0BzZD1mQmYWExN1dtdWpmTVRUY3c

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#302Audio2.84
#381Fun3.03
#480Overall2.95
#519Theme2.95
#538Graphics2.36

Comments

Eggplant says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:05am

I had some weirdness on the Linux version. It caused my computer to crash and restart.

Leeman says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:01am

Thats weird o_o I used Unitys way of building it for Linux. Can only test it on Windows myself :/ Sorry 'bout that

batmanasb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:06am

This could be a lot more fun with a few tweaks! Stuff like: smooth camera follow, different sounds for each bullet, more line of sight, etc. But it's a good start.

mitkus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:06pm

I get that this isn't a "high budget" LD game, but I quite like. Very simple idea, but solid implementation and highly playable. Good job for a first LD game. Works alright on my linux btw.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:13pm

The Linux build works for me.

In my opinion you should have made movement relative, as currently it feels unnatural. And the counter (5 seconds) remains static, so I can't really know when the wave begins. In overall it's a pretty enjoyable game.

Leeman says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Thanks for the feedback :) And "@Starlight glimmer is the best poney" in the top left corner of the screen is a counter however I will keep that in mind for the future :)

Leeman says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:41pm

*top right I mean

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Interesting, good concept

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Killing floor 2.0

Mordokay says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Its a good game ... definitely fun to play and I love the way upgrades worked out. The countdown before a round start goes from 5 to starting .. it would be nice to have a countdown 5 - 4 -3 - 2 - 1 - ...
Sometimes enemies spawned very close to me and I had no time to react. besides that the game was well made and very fun to play!

PS: would have liked some high score but that's just me :P

Feips says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Nice Game, but sometimes the enemies spawn right beside or even in you. But besides that and some minor bugs it´s a solid game.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Nice work. (No problems running on Mac). Really nice and straightforward, and the upgrade system really makes it much more interesting.

sn0uk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:54pm

I think the way you executed the theme could have been changed, yes, it was one room. But I couldn't tell what room is was, which leads into graphics. Obviously with more graphics it would have been easier to see what room it was and what the story was. Otherwise, incredibly fun and really liked the fitting audio.

onyon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Too many enemies! Sometimes it feels impossible to not get hit with the attack speed and the enemy movespeed.

Kinda fun though.

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Nice little rough game prototype.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Good game overall, one little issue though : mobs can spawn too close to you, especially at the beginning of the game when you can only take two hits. But well done anyway ! :)

Kazik_210 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Nice game and soundtrack, a lot of fun i like it :D

fishbrain says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Competent little game, although I had an enemy spawn on my head for instant death.

peredm says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Nice game but the mechanics aren't very original. I know it's hard but if the mechanics were a bit more original and fun it would stand out more and make a big difference.
Also try to implement some good game design in your games. That includes for example giving the player meaningful decisions to make. Choosing health or attack is fine but it's easy to know what's best in each situation. I'd recommend watching some talks on Game Design and Game Development, they will explain this things better than I.

ranner198 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:37pm

The Shoot didn't work most of the time on the first click, normally on the second or third click. All in all great game I really enjoyed it! wave three they move really fast XD

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:01am

Not too bad as you make it out to be ;) I had a bit of fun with it. I would add some visual feedback on the cooldown of your weapon because at first I thought my keyboard was malfunctioning ;)

xbcw says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:01am

Simple but legitimately fun to play. Some of the enemies seemed to spawn unfairly close.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:01am

Not too bad as you make it out to be ;) I had a bit of fun with it. I would add some visual feedback on the cooldown of your weapon because at first I thought my keyboard was malfunctioning ;)

Leeman says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:08am

Thanks for all the feedback guys :) Working on some of the stuff you mentioned and will put a Post-ldjam version up so those that voted can enjoy the game with some tweaks if they want to :) Thanks for the awesome feedback :)

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:22am

I was doing so well and then an enemy spawned on top of me.

mrhill says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Tip: You can shoot waaaay faster if you hold in the mouse button. I had to choose increase attack speed every way until i realised.

Leeman says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:51am

For those that already voted and enjoyed it. Here's a little post-compo updated version with small bugfixes. Like enemys no longer spawn ontop / too close to you. And small QOL Improvements like non-static counter till next wave

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0BzZD1mQmYWExN1dtdWpmTVRUY3c

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

Zawdit says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:24am

Enemys should always spawn offscreen one spawned on me and I lost.

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:58am

I like the upgrade mechanic, getting stronger as you progress is always fun >D
Enemies spawning on top of you is the major problem here, and its the major reason for most of my hits, but I see you've fixed that for the post-comp version :)

DemiPixel says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:22am

I understand that you only had ~12 hours to go, but I think there could've been a tad more attention to detail (things that wouldn't have taken very long), such as freezing the "time alive" when between rounds or shooting instantly when you click (instead of waiting a moment). Regardless, I had fun playing the game, and what really helped was the strategy of picking which upgrade you wanted. Great job for a first LD and only 12 hours!

Leeman says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:08am

"shooting instantly when you click (instead of waiting a moment)."

Hmm really have to look into that as that seems to be a bug. What version are you on? Mac? On my windows machine I shoot instantly when I click o_o

Leeman says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:52am

Oh I figured out the bug. D'oh. I only subtract the cooldown for the shooting while you press the left mouse button. Will upload another round of bugfixes and improvements in the post-mortem Version after the holidays.

And thanks for the suggestion about freezing the time. Honeslty didn't thought about that

jperlin says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 2:48am

Yay got 99 points!

Smooth gameplay, nice music in the background... Good job

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]