Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Time Passes

by leo_p_mahon - Jam Entry

Note: There is a post jam version. which adds an end scene, fixes the time loop and does a slight re-balancing to make it harder. The embedded version is the jam version.

“Time Passes” is a text based game following Trevor, an elderly gentleman struggling to remain lucid in the onset of dementia. Trevor’s goal is to spend one last Christmas with his family as himself, before he succumbs to his illness. Will you help Trevor achieve his goal, and make it through the week to Sunday, or will you lose control?

Credits:

Programming + Art: Leo Mahon
Script and Story: Michael 'Tebby' Watkins
Music: Kevin Sumt




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Mood(Jam)4.13
#111Overall(Jam)3.88
#145Theme(Jam)4.06
#153Audio(Jam)3.69
#159Innovation(Jam)3.69
#493Fun(Jam)3.06
#552Graphics(Jam)3.25
#1375Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Interesting topic, interesting game. I really liked the mood it set and think it managed to be respectful and empathic.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:18pm

I'm not sure if I completed the game or not (I kind of stuck in a time loop)
It would be nice if the game was scaleable. The font is very small.
Overall it is nice

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Beautiful, this made me actually cry, somebody close to me has dementia and It just feels so close...

Whils't it doesn't have the most elaborated gameplay, the message gets perfectly through

Congratulations on making such a great emotional experience! And thank you for making it!

davisan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:07am

Great writing, mood, music.
I liked how to music gets detuned with the bad choices. haha
Also I got stuck in the time loop. I played 3 times. There is a good ending?
Nice game!

SnedHlepPls says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Great story, I think it handled the subject matter responsibly. The music added to the atmosphere. Would have been nice to make the game a bit bigger so the text was a bit easier to read, but other than that, good job!

Skruffye says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:14pm

A rather thought-provoking game. I was impressed that it managed to paint a disturbing picture of dementia through a very human lens without resorting to gratuitous metaphors or shock tactics.

The art and animation were both well made and appropriately minimal and the music was an interesting way to measure how well you were doing in the game.

I suppose my only complaint is that it could have been longer, but this is Ludum Dare, so it's not exactly something that you could have done too much about.

Overall, great job.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:02am

Really nicely done subtle story. I like what you did with the theme. The choice element is excellent and I think the way the story unwraps is compelling and well written. I think you brought a sensitivity to what it must be like to be in that situation too. Thank you -RS

backlashblues says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:07am

Compelling writing, interesting game mechanic. I think I got to an unfinished ending - or was being stuck in a time loop at the end part of the point? Either way, I really enjoyed the game. Only complaint is I had to zoom in my browser a lot to read the small type. Nice work!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:11am

I could get it to ruin fullscreen and struggled to read the text.
I did turn up the browser zoom up to max to be able to read.
The games was really nice! Lost my first tikme, but got to sunday on my second attempt. The music when you loose is perfect haha.
great job!!

runvs says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:42pm

The font is very small and rescaling does not work in my browser so I am not able to play this. Sorry :(

columhiggins says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:53pm

This is a beautiful piece, dealing with tough subjects.

Dec 26, 2016 @ 2:20am

the story is well written for a serious topic without trivialising it. good job!

hunttis says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 12:38pm

You rarely run into games in a jam that feel personal or this well written. I feel privileged to have run into this one, cheers :)

yuigoto says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 12:58pm

The theme is really nice, kinda touching to me, specially since my grandma's having memory problems and, before dying, my grandpa had the same problems. :/

I really liked how you wrote the game, options and all, visually it's simple, but fits the game and, together with the soundtrack, completes the mood. Also, really nice making the OST more distorted as time passes! :)

Great entry! Nice work! Keep going!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]