Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Daedalight

by Sundr0 - Jam Entry

Daedalight is a First-Person labyrinth-game based on new changing materials mechanics.
You need to find the exit of a maze using a special-type of vizor.

When you gets the first one, blue walls are blocking him to find the proper exit.
You will need to find three different vizors, each one displaying a different maze in the colors of the vizor itselfs (blue, red and then green).

Scroll the mouse wheel to change your vizor in special areas.

Made by :
Aurélien DAVID
Amaury HAULER
Léo NOEL

Have fun!

Up : here is a little trailer for the game :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPQ-7GDwymg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#32Theme(Jam)4.38
#55Innovation(Jam)4.05
#60Mood(Jam)4.06
#61Overall(Jam)4.00
#105Fun(Jam)3.78
#143Audio(Jam)3.72
#206Humor(Jam)3.27
#368Graphics(Jam)3.65

Comments

Dsaz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42am

Phew i cant believe we made it ! :D
I'm kinda proud for my first Ludum :D

Sentmoraap says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:47pm

I had a hard time finishing it, but the layered maze add difficulty to navigate through it and to explore it.
A game worth trying.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:21pm

This is one extremely cool and innovative game that averybody should try. Great job with the initial idea and great job on the level design. While did get lost and so far have found only one of you guys, it always felt as I should have been able to get on.
Some more of the grafittis would be nice sometimes.
Too tired to beat it today, but will get bak to it for sure.

Aliencargo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Very interesting mechanincs and moodful game. Great ambient sounds. The maze however was a bit lackluster. With so many similar walls and not enough graffiti, i found myself having no idea where i was. I reached the map but it gave me no clue how to progress. Congratulations on your first ludum!

kleinzach says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:36pm

I really liked how you used grafitti so the player wouldn't be completely lost (Though I still got completely lost). Very cool game.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Really cool game, and funny one !
Bisous entre bobigniens (Yann) ;)

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I beat it! That was pretty cool. I found the head bob after a while to be nauseating. I don't think I ever had any spatial understanding of the layout, just sorta brute forced my way through it. The story and aesthetics felt personal to me.

bigpan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:50pm

AWESOME! One of the best games I played on this edition of Ludum Dare! Could've used some more graffiti / different things to give a better sense of positioning, but still, perfect mood, concept, theme, fun, audio, good graphics... an overall 5/5 stars!

Congratz!!

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:53pm

^Definitely a game worth trying, the drawings and text on the walls were funny and not in-your-face, which I liked. The room with all three maps was also a very cool feature. Great concept!

griseouslight says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:06pm

I somehow clipped outside of the maze on one of the corners. Lol. Great game though!

davisan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Nice game! I finished it. It was hard but the wall's messages helped me a lot to orientate myself! Great job!

Entrivax says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Great labyrinth game, fun to play, easy to be lost in those 3 spaces of the room, I didn't find the end.
(A little problem of HUD which goes into the walls when we're a bit too close of them)

Kalm004 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Really cool! The drawings and texts on the walls are the best part.

mao says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:08am

Wow, that took a while.

These are the notes I drew: https://imgur.com/a/zNEF5 (Spoilers, obviously)

KingMatthew says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:10am

Really Cool! I gave up after about 15 minutes. Good Job!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:18am

Super cool game. The overall mood is mysterious and dark, and it's all done very well! Great job!

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:27am

This is really incredible! A bit frustrating at first, but it kept me in far longer than any other LD game I've played. I might come back to finish it later!

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:19am

That was amazing. I was almost disappointed when I got to the end, because I wanted to keep exploring. Luckily I found a (bug?) Where you could switch back into the maze.

I feel compelled to pick this up again and try to finish the map.

I would honestly pay money for this game. Like, just put this on steam for 5 bucks and rake in the cash, mates.

Diplodino says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Good game guys ! I thought I would be lost really quickly but I found my way through the labyrinth. It was not too hard, not too easy :) Well done !

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Hell yeah, what a pretty piece of art!

NuSan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Great game, messages on the wall are doing a great work to help you navigate and giving you rewards for exploring. It was prety hard to finish the game, and I mostly got lucky. I tried using the maps you can find, but there where not much goal in them. I just saw a point and tried to reach it. Maybe a system of footstep marks on the ground would have made a complete exploration easier. The game reminded me of Flatland, you are a 2D character in a 3D maze, unable to see the third dimension. Keep up the great work !

Saiodin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:21am

Very nice idea with the different visors! It took me a bit of experimentation, staring at the map screens and backtracking, but I made it out of the maze and found all pictures :)! I'm glad the player was able to sprint, otherwise movement would have been too slow. Btw my game that you rated was a Compo, so I had just 48 hours, not 72 ;)

smaganik says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:11am

Awesome concept! I think that this game could be much more atmospheric with some storytelling done using those graffiti.

dydx says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:57am

Super cool game, I loved the messages on the walls. But I think I accidentally got stuck outside the level somehow:
http://i.imgur.com/3Jeiakf.png

MementoGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Wow. Amazing job, guys!
Everything was spot on. I love all the phrases because it helped with orientation, awesome decision there.
The only "bad" thing I have to say is that I always felt lost e felt like I was progressing on luck. Sort this out and it's done.

MaxguN says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:41am

Loved it. Really cool atmosphere, good concept and nicely executed. After a few minutes, got a good sense of where I already went, so I was happy to kind of know where I was going. Didn't go to every locations though, missed the green portrait for example.

Great work, I think you can consider making a commercial version of it.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Hey, it was very innovating game. Very simple, and without any shooting!)

Afendar says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Great game i like it ! I like maze game. Great great job guys. keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]