Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Gogol

by BeardyBard - Jam Entry

Slightly unfinished shump inspired by Nikolai Gogol's story Viy.

Features:
- Camera shake.
- Cool bosses.
- Different weapons.
- Pretty hardcore.

Warning: no interface. Also may contain some bugs.

Post-LD edit: *Fixed critical bug with waves not coming.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#149Graphics(Jam)4.19
#398Fun(Jam)3.21
#439Overall(Jam)3.33
#451Audio(Jam)2.87
#524Mood(Jam)3.15
#531Theme(Jam)3.42
#541Humor(Jam)2.30
#748Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Really very good pixel art and in overall i can say 5 stars :)

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Nice job... very enjoyable

pcmxms says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Reminds me of super crate boy. Good game.

Quaternius says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:01pm

The idea and the graphics are awesome! I didn't like the controls that much, the jump specially, but overall great game :)

oyoh says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:44pm

The game is beautiful but i couldn't really go too far because of the controls

Pixtopher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:25am

The fixed jump height made it feel a bit clunky. Nice job on the art and overall aesthetic!

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:44am

Wow! This game looks so good! The concept and game play was good too, but it felt a bit confusing as to what the goal was. The game would be awesome if it had some well done sounds as well. Fun of what I played though! Good job!

theCrancher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:53am

hey there, the art was excellent, as well as the mechanics, it was very fun to play, the jumping messed me up a little bit, like i would accidentally jump into the path of an enemy, but overall, very well done!

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:55am

I didn't really feel like I had great control over the character, and I think maybe the shots should go through the floors because otherwise its nigh impossible to shoot the hanging slimes! The art style is really great and I think with a bit of work this would be super fun. Good job on the entry!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:26pm

nice game! I'm going to pay it forward from a comment when we (tried to make) a game like this a few jams back ... Someone's a fan of Super Crate Box :P

Skruffye says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Nice gameplay, although the jumping felt a little bit janky. The animation was superb and the game was generally pretty fun to play!

I think I need to give it a couple more shots, but from my initial playthrough, it reminded me heavily of the original Mario Bros. with a few modern twists.

Good job! :D

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Game is nice, but controls are sloppy and death is unexpected
Variety of weapons is good

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Given more control over my jumps (height and in-jump movement) I would have had much more success I think. Nice style and cool looking eye-slimes.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Pretty cool, the art is really good. Would be nice, maybe more forgiving, if a health bar was introduced over the one hit and you are out. Overall really nice game.

GFM says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:42pm

While grounded, this game seems really nice and fun. However, as soon as the player jumps, it gets pretty impossible to control.

There's too little horizontal control to the jump and it's too high. This makes trying to aim at the... "drops on the ceiling left by slimes" quite hard. Not to mention, trying to maneuver around the stage is also quite difficult, since you became an easy prey when moving from a platform level to another.

Graphics and audio are really nice, though! :)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:35am

Cool - reminded me a little of Super Crate Box. Daggers were easily my favorite weapon - they took care of slimes like nobody's business.

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:25am

oh! Nice! funny pixel art style! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Greek85, don't know if external links are allowed in the comments section, but we uploaded "Gogol" on indiexpo and you can find it there by the name.
And also - thank you all :)

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Nice game.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:05pm

WOW! This game looks really cool! I love the art style, reminds me of the good ole metroidvania games... Took me time to get used to the game because I died frequently but this had me so much fun! Good job :)

dunin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Really nice looking game, but gameplay is a bit strange for me (are we jumping on the moon?) so I can't go very far.
Too bad, the screenshots tell me there are many other good sprites to see...

murilo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Fun and challenging! The big monster animation is really nice! It's nice that you can't simply stand next to the monster spawning spot and keep shooting as the projectiles don't always go straight and some blobs will get away! Great game!

ijzm says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I like the pixel art and music. The controls feel a little unresponsive; the movement isn't quite feeling as fluent as it should be for a game of this type. It definitely is on the difficult side.

~Random-storykeeper

Vertigon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Nice work on the pixel graphics. Everything moved fairly snappy and I liked the take on original Mario Bros. I wished the jumping was less chaotic and dying had more feedback. Music was good. Nice crisp Ludum Jam.

ChatPion says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Pretty good pixel art. Weapons are fun. Jump controls are frustrating.

Sawtan says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Nice entry, great graphics! Controls were a bit hard, but other than that a great entry!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:10am

Neat-- very Vlambeer-ish (specifically Super Crate Box)

Also, afforded me a tangential learning opportunity because I was interested to know what Viy was.

Pros:
-Wonderful sprites

-Very Fun once you figure out you should just be auto firing all the time

-I dunno why but I love that the main character looks like someone out of west side story... or maybe the fonze. This, along side with the demonic enemies and the boss AND the cute pixel-y art style make me feel like this was a level out of a game where the main character is a "cool atheist". I actually thought maybe thats what you were going for until I read the description

Cons:

-Jumping feels a little too float-y or uneven with the distance the platforms are placed at.

-Spear power ups seem under powered (for me at least) than original weapon-- specifically for dealing with the slime barnacles. Daggers felt overpowered.

-The slime goo projectiles that fly off the slimes are too hard to see/not telegraphed enough so I found myself not knowing what I was dying to until I noticed them like 4-5 tries in.

-Difficulty ramps up very quickly although I assume this was intentional but the jump is too sudden at one point (after the angel appears). Feels impossible to deal with without the daggers.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:20am

Wow. Great work. The graphics are fantastic, and it's a genuinely fun romp.

Perhaps a little too harcore for me, but I don't think that's a problem.

grena says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I love the graphics! The gameplay is really great. The only thing that bothered me was the small delay between pressing the jump touch and the actual jump. But anyway, nice entry :)

Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:40am

Art is good, music is somewhat repetitive, gameplay is very hard. The controls were kind of slippery, which may have induced some level of artificial difficulty.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I like the speed and the art. Wished I could've had a little more wiggle room on getting hit by blood-slime things.

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:33pm

The character feels to light, jumps to high or takes too much time to get back on the ground. I do not know exactly.
Definitely cool, minimalistic Pixelart and convincing background music.
Could be the base for a really cool story.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Oh my this game is HARD! The controls feel good after a while, but I didn't like the randomness of direction of the projectiles. Also, I would appreciate some checkpoints so I don't have to start over every time.

Garris says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Appealing graphics and very nice aesthetic theme to the whole thing. I do think variable jump height in the controls would help a lot. Clearly a big chunk of the work here went into boss behavior, and it shows. The way the tentacle eye peeks out of the door before showing up was a very nice touch. With a little tweaking on the clunky feeling of the jump, this could a really great cratebox-like.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:25pm

lot of really good stuff happening here. I feel that the controls could have been a little tighter. but that is the only complaint. excellent artwork and gameplay. awesome work.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/hYD1PzuDX-0

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]