Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

A bank is a dangerous place

by JK5000 - Compo Entry

You are trapped in a bank. You are here alone with a ticking bomb. So can you escape the bank before the bomb explodes?

Controls:
WASD + mouse: Moves player
Right mouse key, Left mouse key and E: Interactions
Space: Complain (A super important part of the game, or perhaps not.)
ALT+Enter: Fullscreen
R: Restart
Escape: Quit

Used Software:
- Unreal engine 4
- Blender
- GIMP 2
- Inkscape
- Audacity
- LMMS

Good luck and have fun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Humor3.60
#88Theme4.13
#128Audio3.40
#186Overall3.53
#202Graphics3.47
#214Mood3.30
#218Innovation3.38
#297Fun3.19

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:17am

so i got pretty far, then it sent me to box 41, then the next key after was 33+8, so is that a bug?

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:19am

Well, I suppose I'll have to seek medical attention because I found your game to be hilarious. The gameplay is simple enough, but I very much like your interpretation of the theme.

My favorite line was the protagonist whining "I-I caaan't doooo that" every time I tried to jump.

KJB of IBwWG says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:28am

I didn't think my laptop was SO bad, but after putting up with the UE4 prereq installer for 5 minutes, I was then told I didn't have enough video memory. System requirements might be nice to include...

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:53am

#jcmonkey yes I believe it is a bug. I have checked my code again, and I can't find anything that should do that. But even though thank you for telling me about this bug.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:07am

#KJB of IBwWG I know that UE4 is a bit heavy on system requirements, but I can't tell you what the minimum requirements are. I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Mattmatt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:13am

I read the warning... and then gave this game 5 stars for humor :)
Graphics and assets are also very good.

JackDTaylor says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:49am

Had some fun even with 3 FPS. Nice gameplay idea and implementation, but the performance is a huge issue.

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:29am

Very good, congrats.. nice game

SoKette says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:31am

AHAHAHAHAH I Escaped ! Thank you for making me train my brain xD

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Wow... This is a 2-day compo game (as opposed to the jam)? How easy is the Unreal-4 Engine to get into (assuming the student knows their way around C++)?

Anyway!

A lot of attention to detail, like the ticking that starts on the title-screen, the groaning when waking up, etc.

Also a fan of 'well I have a mic, why not use it' sound effects. One day I'll do that myself :-)

One tiny bit that /could/ still be added is a 'well you didn't escape this time, but here's the number of boxes you /did/ open'-score, for those of us that have temporary thinky-organ lessening after staying awake until 4 at night ;-)

Also supposedly 'not-funny' remarks when clicking lights, floor, ceiling, etc.?

Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Waw god job, i like the idea but i didn't have the power to finish it, maybe i'm bad at math :D

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:01pm

#rburema the game is not made with c++. It made with visual scripting system Blueprints. But it would not have been too difficult to make this with c++. And yes UE4 is relatively easy to learn and use.

nycolas says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:06pm

A good game with a nice concept. I didn't finished it but I quite enjoyed it :)

Tygrak says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Wooo I did it I escaped! You have a pretty good voice! Also a good sound a effect for the ticking! And common you dont hate math that much do you? :D

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:12pm

LOL, i though i will have to open every single box...
Good job!!!

MAT4DOR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Great game! Enjoyed running around doing the math to try to get the key to escape the vault. Got stuck because one of the keys led me back to one deposit box that was already open.

eerongal says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Nice take on the theme. The constant complaining of the protagonist was fun. Gameplay is, however, just a sneaky way to force me to do math, you can't fool me.

Kazik_210 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Awesome game and even more awesome voice actor :D

jusw85 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I survived :)
Thankfully I didn't have to complete all the sums.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Great job, I made it with 105 seconds left on the bomb.

sfje-team says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Funny...Inovativ... you can build something very funny out of this, but math in a videogame.... meeh ;)

vini60 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Voice acting was on point haha.
Is that a bomb(drunken voice)?

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36am

Nice work :D

Geosearchef says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:44am

Very intensive game cause you don't know when you get the bank door key (i got it with 4 secs on the clock). Well done!

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:49am

Awesome game! I had to even use my brains to survive.

bradur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:27pm

This was a fun game! I was really scared the bomb was going to go off, and tried my best to get out of the vault as fast as I could. Loved it!

Nexus64 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Very challenging. It's not much different from a "Brain Training" minigame, but a much funnier.

You should try to make more "Bomb Scape Game", but with different puzzles

breno says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Nice game. The bomb tick could be faster as the counter gets close to zero, to increase the tension.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:41pm

I am free! I don't like games in which I must count (and count again) but I had fun playing it. Well done with a clever mood. A good project for kids :)

sudojess says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:09am

Funnier than I think I gave credit for. Interesting submission but gets old fast.

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:11am

Almost 4 stars in every category. nicely done. I genuinely enjoyed this one, you managed to make it so that you feel pressure but you still are engaged with it and don't feel like you're being drowned. The voice acting was pretty good, the graphics are pretty nice. Fun gameplay, a nice simple, short game. Good work :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Great game, i really enjoyed it and it seems that i need some medical assistance xD

Great interpretation of the theme and superb execution. The game delivers a great and frustrating experience. Performance issues are very great however.

eliasr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I complained, then i calculated the final math question, and as i got the bank key, it blew up. If just I hadn't complained.....

Bellatrion says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Nice idea ! Doing math while hearing the bomb ticking is quite stressful, haha

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:26pm

That was great ! Awesome start, it had a nice mood and feel to it. I felt like it would have been nice to something else happen, like a key with a question mark on, because it becomes quite triviel fast, and I'm not very good at math :)

and thank you for the nice comment you wrote about my game, that really meant a lot to me.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:55am

Meh, not bad overall, but doesn't seem really fun to play. Some music and more varied tasks could make it better.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Nice entry, the game runs pretty smmothly for me, the concept is well executed and the overall idea is cool.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:25pm

When I realized "9-1" was not representing 9, not 1, and not 91, but was 8, I felt interested. I appreciated that once a box was opened that number wouldn't be used again, and that when I my arithmetic was off by just a bit I was already in the area where the answer was.

It's tense not knowing how many seconds are left; I appreciated that.

It looked and felt immersive. When I died with the bank door key in hand and not hearing and indication that the timer was almost out, I felt discouraged. Also one time I got a 0 being added, which seemed trivial.

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Haha amazing, nice way to practice doing quick math in my head, I got the bank door and was opening the door but the bomb exploded just before I managed to open the door :(

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:49am

ran poorly on my laptop but it looked impressive.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:16am

Nice concept.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Good MATH! =)
Next level can be multiplication division

tompudding says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Amazing work, one of my favourite entries so far. I made a video review : https://youtu.be/3ny2uit39TU :)

Palarus says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:56pm

292-57 wtf? where is the box?!?!??! Great idea!! I liked it very much. Love the jam by things like this, really make my day! Good work!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 5:05am

Wow!! so much for 48 hours... the voice acting blew me away.. enjoyed the game!

shrapx says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I like your idea and your execution. The voice acting and the humour of getting the math on key tags. much enjoyed. I couldnt complete it. My maths was too slow :|

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:37am

Great use of the theme! I found it pretty funny myself. Is it possible to beat?

JK5000 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 12:12pm

#BoneDaddy YES you can beat the game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]