Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Giiver's Hop

by Kizler - Jam Entry

Gameplay
Jump on the blocks to change their colors, once all of the blocks are the same color again, the game will get progressively harder. Avoid jumping in the skull pit and don't try and hug the enemies.


Notes
This is my(Troy's) 6th Ludum Dare, you'd think by now I'd get it right... WRONG. This entry lacks various bits of polish, that's quite embarressing. The game is currently missing it's title screen, a proper win screen, and most of the animations aren't working properly.

This Ludum Dare I played with Blender for all of the models and I learned how to do bones, kind of sort of. I had a lot of fun making this game, I hope you have fun playing it.

BTW... the game gets roughly difficult at some points, that's due to my limited play testing time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#64Audio(Jam)3.97
#164Fun(Jam)3.66
#167Overall(Jam)3.76
#287Humor(Jam)3.00
#302Graphics(Jam)3.83
#368Mood(Jam)3.40
#417Theme(Jam)3.63
#458Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

MCRewind says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:28am

Cool game, I enjoyed the music and the sound effects, the models and animation look nice for what they are and the gameplay is solid. My only complaints are that the controls sometimes get stuck in one direction and I wish it didnt start back from level 1 becaues it can get pretty difficult.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:27am

I really like the game! The music is really cool, and I like the win sound! The animations are really nice too and add to the happy mood (the bouncing doors were a great touch!). At first I thought, like @MCRewind , that the controls were lagging, but I realized that you only need to tap once to move forward, and that's why it was acting like that. It definitely can get frustrating, especially having to start at level one every time (I wish you just went back 1 or 2 levels.

One other thing I think should be made clearer is the skull pits. On the first level, for me at least, the skull pits were inside the land, making me think it was a powerup. The green made me think that.

Anyways, congrats on another great LD game!

Quaternius says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:59am

I really liked the game! The idea and graphics are great.

ZQMony says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:30am

Really cool looking game. I though the concepts was unique and pretty fun.

mipo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:36am

Fun game! Figuring out strategies for each level was fun and challenging. I did notice the problems with the controls that others were mentioning but it didn't cause me that much trouble. The art was nice but the music got a little repetitive. I really liked how complete the game is with the little time that you had to make it.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:40am

Overall this is an extremely solid entry. Graphics and sound are really nice, and the gameplay is fun, if a bit hard.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:12am

I thought it was fun and looked good too. My only complaint is that I had to restart from lvl 1 each time I died

ninjascript says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:34am

I played the web version, so this might be specific to just that version, but I found that if I held an arrow key down to hop in that direction, I would continue hopping in that direction for another square or two after releasing the key. Really threw me off at first, but was easy enough to deal with once I figured out what was going on.

Nice graphics, and neat idea. Super-hard, but I guess that just means I need to GET GUD!

TeamCryo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:39am

Very nice ! I liked the work you put into audio and animations, it's very enjoyable. The gameplay was simple but cool too, I like the fact that you have to paint over the last color every time.
My only regret would be that the difficulty is a bit frustrating, especially since the controls don't make me feel very smart or swift :) and that I have to restart from scratch every time.

raaaahman says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Nice little game. Graphics are cute and animation are good. I love the audio!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:05am

As Q*bert goes, this is some pretty good Q*bert. It's very visually polished and has some great audio. Everything was very self explanatory except for those skulls which looked like some sort of button at first. Also, being sent back to the first level with every death was a bit of a bummer. Still, this is a very solid entry.

Zambini says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:45am

Great work. I half expected to die when I ran over my own floor tile but after I learned that wasn't the case it was less crazy.

Overall you did great work! Your animations were smooth and cohesive.

I ran into the "stuck controls" feel that some other people mentioned but for the most part it was nicely polished.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Got really into that. It ramped up in difficulty nicely for me. Reminded me of old arcade games like q*bert but it had its own feel to it too. good job

rojo says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:04am

Simple, fun concept. Reminds me of Q-Bert a bit, but way less frustrating. Music switch as you got to later levels was a nice touch. Having to restart from level 1 with no leeway for failure felt pretty punishing, though. Overall nice job!

Ednei says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:28am

Great Work bro. I've played and get fun.

PS: I did an OS/X version of Tiny World, I hope it works for you.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:00am

Great game! It already feels very solid and polished, even if I did experience some issues with the controls, like the rest. The characters were detailed and cute, and sound and music rate among the best I've found so far.

Congrats!

MrTroy says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Hey all, thanks for the feedback! Next time I will take controls into different considerations. While trying to avoid the repeated tapping to move and having a smooth jump loop, I ended up with a lot of false positives.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:43am

Simple concept but very fun and great presentation and sounds.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:03pm

this was a really fun game. and despite what you said, quite polished. the music and gameplay were very well done. nice work here. great game.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:56pm

I quite like it! It's definitely better than how you described it in the description, I didn't miss a title screen or win screen or anything. It's really well made. Good job :)

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:23am

Awesome! The variety that comes out of three basic enemies is impressive, as is the faithfulness to traditional arcade game design. I think if there were different room shapes it could really test a player's ability to deal with the enemies. I also think the challenge that Q-bert has where the floor color can change back to the original color if you jump on it twice would open up some more level designs.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Very cute "little" game!

The pits on my browser where green ... first thing I done was to jump in it... Then I read the description...

Good looking graphics! Sound is just spot on! It all fits well together!

Gameplay wise I think the first level could have the pit more centered.
The blue enemy could backtrack a little less. And when dieing starting all over again is a real bummer.
The flying enemies could move a little slower too.
The game could be a lot easier it would make it better :)

Nonetheless, Overall an Excellente Entry!

You should definetly keep the project going.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:05pm

This is a very good game. Has some of the best 3D graphics I've seen in a Ludum Dare game. It is rather difficult, but it's not too frustrating - although I would like an option to restart the level I am on instead of the entire game. Music fits and works well. Overall, this is a really great game.

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 7, 2017 @ 4:36am

Very late, but as promised at MAGFest, I finally got to plaing this game!

I really like this game! The difficulty is in the challenging-but-fair end of things: I always felt like every death was my fault. I do like the Pacman-style gameplay of "hit every square." The only big flaw, I'd argue, is that you always restart from the beginning. It's the only thing I felt a bit unfair.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]