Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Just pick a number

by BoltKey - Compo Entry

You find yourself in a prison cell. You have no idea what happened. All you know is you want to survive the evil game of the supervisors.

EDIT: The over 6000 users are legit. My game kinda exploded on reddit with 324 karma and 78 comments (link below). Most of the users came from there. I uploaded it there about 9 hours before deadline and by deadline there were already about 1000 plays.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#6Innovation4.61
#14Mood4.21
#23Overall4.08
#81Fun3.76
#289Theme3.63
#322Graphics3.12
#322Audio2.76

Comments

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 11:18pm

I'd heard of the Prisoner's Dilemma before. Really interesting use of it!

bendmorris says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:43am

Loved the idea, had a ton of fun playing through twice! Auto-typing text could use some polish.

DMinsky says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Good usage of game theory

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Okay, now that is a brilliant game. The best of LD37 so far (for the ones I've seen). Thanks for making this! Five stars all the way—and well deserved too.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I like the graphic style

Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I survived! awesome concept, great questions, this is an excellent entry! (not quite using the theme though)

piwicode says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:14pm

That is the first time I play something like this, and it's refreshing!
The story telling is nice, and it's really fun to guess the numbers. The bar charts are nice.
Thanks for making this game!

ambi says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Really interesting concept nicely done.

Insederec says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Interesting concept.

I got 29 points though, that should be an achievement on its own, right?

panu says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Nice! It was really atmospheric although skipping the slow writing would have improved the experience. Too bad i didn't survive with only 19 points.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:17am

Great interpretation of the theme. The starkness and hopelessness reminded me a lot of Papers, Please, which I hope is a big compliment!

tybantarnusa says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:38pm

I love this. And I just learned about this Game Theory at my college on AI class haha

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:15am

Very nice. Made me think, very tense decision making.

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:41am

This, this is very very clever. Love the concept of comparing to previous players and showing the graphs. Really liked this submission!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:46pm

That idea is really cool!
I really enjoyed playing it.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Played it on the Moosen stream, i enjoyed it!

Ednei says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:12am

This one I really liked!! Congratulations about it!
good idea, good execution!

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:10am

Interesting idea and also well executed. The setting contributes much to the experience.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Game theory in the open, that's quite an interesting concept :)

As far as execution goes, graphics and audio were suitable, but the typing sound for the scrolling text was too strong and felt a bit grating (was it intentional?)

Well done!

StaNov says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:25pm

I loved it! The idea and execution also. The number of winners surprised me. Thanks for making it and thanks for playing my game!

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Wow amazing idea :) Had a lot of fun playing this (and I won). Awesome job!

Rixud says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:33pm

nice

filiph says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:38pm

This was really, really good -- a refreshing concept, and exactly sized for a LD entry.

The game could use a bit more art direction (even if you keep the utilitarian controls). For example, the two rounded rectangles (black and lightgray) could easily be dropped in favor of black/lightgray bars and the game would look more stylish (imho).

In general, though, great job, and great idea.

FisherG says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:12am

Came from TVGS Stream. Thought it was really good! Could improve on graphics a bit .

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:20am

Cool stuff! Reminds me a lot of "The Tragedy of the Commons" economic theory. Nice to see it in practice, and realize how many people are likely to take a greedy choice. Makes sense in circumstance, of course.

It'll be cool to see some sort of counter-acting game that forces the player to see the big picture, and devise a way to take the most economically optimal path. I don't know how one would do that, but I would like to see a contrast to this.

Junber says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:00pm

That certainly is interesting. A really good use of the theme. Were there really over 6000 people who played this before me? That seems to be quite a bit too high for a Ludum Dare game after just a week. I really enjoyed the time I spend with this and I actually managed to survive.

Cerberus says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:07am

wow what an interesting game. i was really submerged in the game, really wanted to know if i could save my self or not. the audio was great although i would put the typewriter sound a little lower. loved the graphics, thought they where simple but meaningful. awesome game!

rplnt says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Awesome, loved it, and lost. Too bad there's no replayability :)

Ellian says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 9:52am

Man I loved the idea. It's crazy hard, but very, very original. And using actual database of player answers... this is just way too smart and fun. Congrats!

Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Totally awesome idea! Congrats :D

g12345 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 10:50pm

It's an interesting entry but I'm not sure what to think.

To get 30 points is very hard in this game, with the data as is.

I do think it's technically very interesting tho with the conenction to the database.

And you made a lot more in 20 hours than my entry. :)

dietzribi says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Just brilliant. Nothing much to say really, this was really great. I won, got 30 exactly.

Tijn says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Awesome game. Really cool with the online component. I managed to get 37 points on my first try by the way B-)

radmars says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Wow! Really, really amazing concept. Great use of the theme too. I love how the later questions with comparisons to other players add an extra layer of mindgaming to it. Nice work!

Intelli-Gents says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:30am

Genius! Loved the implementation of the prisoner's dilemma. And really cool knowing that it's all based on actual answers from fellow players

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Really really different, I love having the graphs! It's so cool, and if I were to play again I'd probably get 30 points. Kinda interesting how the graphs give you an advantage.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 10:55pm

That was a pretty tense entry. I liked the use of statistics and probabilities (especially the use of The Prisoner's Dilemma) as part of the game mechanics and having your playthroughs affect future ones is a very nice touch.

Jan 19, 2017 @ 5:05pm

Pssst - you are featured in our Ludum Dare to Believe series! Check it out here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bzu58cCRGik

CMLSC says ...
Feb 20, 2017 @ 3:10pm

Did it with 31 points.
For the first round, I picked 10, because I thought that nobody would pick it because they would think that everyone would pick it.
Obviously I picked 5 for the second question.
For the third question, I picked 7 because it was the 3rd highest pick in question 1. (because I expected the answers on this to be almost the opposite of question 1)
I guessed that 7,000 people passed(over half). I was having a really easy time, and most people passed the previous tests, so I assumed that 7,000 was pretty close. I ended up getting 0 points for that though.
I picked 3 in round 5 because I thought that very few people would pick it and I was at 22. (so I only needed 5 in the last round)
I picked 6 in the last round so that I could go past 30. (just for fun. :P)

Apr 13, 2017 @ 9:51pm

Seemes interesting, I wish it still worked! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/9I4q6tJ6Ge8

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]