Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

AREA 51

by Megalink - Jam Entry

MADE BY MEGALINK, BONECRUSHER and JACKASS

**STORY**
You play as a Cyborg Alien Cowboy from the future who has come back in time to stop a mass outbreak of aliens who are escaping from Area 51 and save the world from the destruction.

**GAMEPLAY**
Explore through Area 51 while destroying all extra terrestrial life forms that are escaping, use the mouse to shoot and WASD keys to move around. You can pickup/buy items by pressing E.

**INFO**
This game is 5-8 Minutes in length and features up to 4 alien bosses, the theme 'One Room' is involved with this game as instead of each area being one big map, it is all split up into one room at a time that the player must traverse. All the music in this game was made by Jackass, but wasn't made during the 72 hour time period, hence why the Audio rating is disabled.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#61Fun(Jam)3.95
#177Overall(Jam)3.75
#316Mood(Jam)3.51
#501Graphics(Jam)3.37
#554Humor(Jam)2.26
#610Innovation(Jam)2.82
#857Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

tartlegames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:16am

Really cool. I love the light effect on the weapon. Great mood to the whole game. I think the difficulty is balanced nicely too cause it is hard but I feel like if I keep trying and learn the patterns I can win. Good job.

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:17am

@tartlegames Thanks, man! :)

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:20am

Cool game. The graphics were pretty good along with the controls. It was a little hard, but it was fair.

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:21am

This game was made with Bonecrusher and Jackass, Bonecrusher did the art and Jackass did both the Music and helped with the art. I did the programming.

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:34am

Make an web/mac version please :p

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:42am

Very cool, excellent mechanics, and polished. There's a lot of content here! The enemy respawn when you reenter a room was a bit annoying but everything else was great. Assault rifle was op since you can hit people slightly around corners while they can't hit you.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:04am

It took me a while to realize that I could actually walk through those "doorway" things. Otherwise, it was a great game. My only complaint is that some of the enemies are hard to see.

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:06am

@The Tophat Demo
Thankyou for the contructive critism. :)

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:40am

This game is seriously bomb. Great jam game man, something I would've loved to have made if I were more competent at graphics. Really dig this.

rexx1888 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:54am

That was a very entertaining shooter :D i only had time to play through one level but i enjoyed it yo. I feel like it could use some iFrames an a dodge roll, but they may be there an i just never got to them or found the instructions lol. Nice graphics n sound though :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:23am

The Corpse Soldier boss battle is difficult due to the many lackeys he has.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:25am

The Light are good!, its funny, have a nice difficult. Good game!

Bllue says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Some of the blue humanoid aliens are hard to see and the final boss takes some skill, but this is an amazing game!!! I loved being a game tester! Great Game!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Reminds me of gungeon, in a good way! The light effect is very nice and the shooting feels great and that is one of the most important things in a game like this.

There is an impressive amount of content in the game, such as the cool boss-fights.

It was quite hard, but that's the point of of these kind of games.

Well done! :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:36am

Nice game, I like difficulty level, fun to play.

lordrobotron says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:52am

Wow, Beat the game and I'm very impressed! Very enjoyable, impressed with all the levels and bosses. Various weapons are lots of fun to find and shoot.

Recommendation is to make the enemies stand out from the background a bit more.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:03am

Very high quality shooting game. The graphics is very nice in a jam.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:04am

I don't buy your argument for why this fits the theme, but this game is cool enough that I'm willing to disregard that. It was challenging, but I was still able to make it through in one try. The kinetic and laser weapons are way too loud - I was relieved when I got the plasma gun and could finally hear the music. Also, there were areas where I had problems because it was too dark for me to see the enemies. I found the Corpse Soldier to be the hardest fight (though maybe single plasma wasn't the best weapon I could have brought.) The final boss went down relatively easily to the triple plasma. There's an impressive amount of content here.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:21am

Pretty sweet entry! The game plays very well and just has a nice feel to it. I don't think it really encapsulates the theme, but I don't think you should really worry about that. Also, I dig the art. :)

Oh! I also appreciate that enemies respawn in rooms after you kill them. Helps with farming if you want to change weapons. Good job.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:16am

That was great! Boss music was awesome, nice going Jackass.

I wish either my hitbox was smaller or the enemy bullets were slower, got pretty hard to dodge when fighting in corridors.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:11am

Good fast and frantic shooter with screenshake! Well done, nice and polished. Some of those soldiers are really tough to see in the dark.

ijzm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:48am

Great graphics and sound effects. (I especially like the collecting money one.) The lighting is a really neat idea, but at times, but it made some of the enemies barely visible, particularly the smaller blue soldiers. I would have liked to see the enemies more clearly. Other than that, the controls seemed pretty fluid and I liked that a lot. The "one room" theme is a little lost on me, since it does look like those stairs lead to other rooms.

~Random-storykeeper

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:53am

I liked the pixel art and it was fun to play. I really liked how the little runners come out of the shades. The points you collect after you kill seemed like bullets at first, I was trying so hard to avoid those.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:55am

I really like the weapon feel and lighting

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Nice amount of content here, and pretty neat graphics too. One complaint would be having enemies respawn every time you switch from a room you've cleared; accidentally went through an exit multiple times while backtracking in a fight.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Awesome pixel game, loved the simple combat. The initial boss was great as well! Some of the enemies felt invisible though because of the lighting.

tybantarnusa says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:23pm

This game is so fun! You have to continue developing this game!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Really good game, has a good "feel" to it and I love the boss fights and the music. I don't think it fits very well with the "one room" theme, but that aside this is an awesome entry.

markten says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Fun game. A little challenging, but I was able to get to the end. Reminded me a little of Total Carnage in some ways. I wasn't a fan of having to reclear rooms, but since the health items were multiuse, it made up for it. Felt complete.

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:56am

I was kind of lost in the beginning, but great game overall, well done!

Mennalus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:34am

Enjoyable game! I wish the enemies were easier to see, and there was some music to go with the great sound effects. I wish I wasn't terrible at it too, so I could get further :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Awesome game!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Fun game! Mechanics were well executed, as well as the level design including well-thought of boss battles. Great job! :)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:16am

Favorite moment was the 3rd boss fight - I've played plenty of games where the boss spawns extra enemies, but the laser gun encourages you to line them all up - very cool and clever strategy. Would have preferred if enemies didn't respawn, or only respawned sometimes - made them feel less important to kill.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:48am

That was a romp~ The blood, lighting and screen shake made the game feel like I was moving through a beating heart. I like that it reminds me more of a de-made FPS than a top-down arena shooter. I must have had an ace up my sleeve, though, because I annihilated everything, like it was nothing.

Kroute says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:35am

Very nice game. I especially liked the feeling of power I had when I upgraded my weapon. Doesn't really fits the theme though.

DevForPizza says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:16am

Very cool game, the best one in the jam I think :)

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Really Fun. The pixel art was really nice. You used lighting, screen shake, and particles well. I don't think it did the theme very well. It wasn't extremely difficult, but it felt difficult which I really liked.

Didi says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:46pm

yeah come to get some!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:34am

Wow, very fun!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:33am

Really solid top down shooter gameplay, and a nice grim artstyle that suits the mood of the game. However, I think the gameplay could be improved in a few ways:
- Increase the visibility of the enemies (either by having them much brighter than the background or giving the player a cone of vision where they are bright) as it's super unclear what to aim at atm
- Slow down the bullets to making dodging more rewarding than hiding around corners
- A better variety of weapons would be nice as it gives more choice than just guns with slightly different firing speeds/patterns (it's unclear if they do more or less damage, the HMG seemed to be crazy good compared to the assault rifle for example) and give the player an inventory so you can switch between weapons.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:43am

Great game dude, gameplay feels very smooth and well polished. nice style and good content. well done

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/YiLAPTz00w0

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Nice little game! Somewhat lacking in content as a team game sadly, theme used pretty badly.

Megalink says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:39am

Lacking in content? Where did you get up to? There is up to ten minutes of content...

darkdaragon77 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:11am

Good Game. Was fun to play, but could be more balanced I felt quite weak.

bluetengu says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Very fun game and a lot of content for such a short dev period!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Hey it wery wery fun, I liked dynamics and some kind of magazin. But I think if you clear the level monsters should not respawn..

Good job!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:02am

Really nice game dude ! good job !

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]