Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Flag Runner

by GogglesKitty - Compo Entry

Your goal is to reach the dark flag by navigating the room.
Once you reach the dark flag, the flags switch their color and the room rearranges itself.
Each rearrangement provides a more difficult layout to navigate.

Controls:
A/D or Arrow Keys: Move
W/S or Arrow Keys: Navigate Menu
R: Restart the Current Room
Enter: Select Menu Option
Esc: Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Fun4.08
#23Overall4.08
#62Theme4.22
#93Innovation3.76
#158Mood3.45
#188Graphics3.51
#258Audio2.98

Comments

SpaceRelated says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:45am

Very good use of the one room theme! Liked it a lot. Some of the level design was frustrating, but I played it all the way to the end and had fun.

jack-lance says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:24am

I really like the look and feel of it, like the screen bounce when you fall. Some of the platforming was a bit finicky, but overall I thought it was quite fun.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:29am

Very good O.o honestly, i had so much fun! Make a full version of it please!!! 5/5

Serious Table says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:33am

Very well done, and really enjoyable to play. Agree with some of the comments that a few of the levels were very frustrating, but overall it was really satisfying to play!

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:35am

Good job on the game! I had some fun playing it ^^

crazya says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:14am

Really neat twist on old-school wraparound mechanics.

TheRare says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:42am

Deaths: 42

A ridiculously impressive and intuitive little platformer.

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:48am

This was amazing. Very very fun.

hadongee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:55am

This was a great game with a great ending, so much fun! The graphics were very pleasing and the audio was simple but great! A++

BerneyTD says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:26am

Very fun game! really enjoyed the level design.

Aliencargo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:29am

I got this problem while downloading. https://imgur.com/a/1TWoR

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:33am

Such an awesome game.. Love the subtle details like the screen shake on death/impact, the way that rooms shift from one shape to another. Everything is very fluid, the player is handled just as well as in super meat boy. Levels are challenging and rewarding. Nice twist at the end. Amazing job overall.

gurkan96 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:48am

i really like this feels like a complete game really good job.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:11am

A super simple and fun game. I especially like the transition between the levels.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:34am

i liked the game and the use of the theme overall but the controls weren't fully there which made the harder levels frustrating more than taxing, but they weren't far off

Mattmatt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:44am

Really nice :) A cool concept very well executed and the game never gets boring! The minimalist nature of the art style helps you focus on platforming: i would definitely play a whole game based around this.

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:41am

Some of the later levels are pretty damn clever. Good use of the theme

Mattmatt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:44am

Really nice :) A cool concept very well executed and the game never gets boring! The minimalist nature of the art style helps you focus on platforming: i would definitely play a whole game based around this.
-- Favorite entry so-far :)

JakeL168 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:27am

Cool use of the one room theme.

mkl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:12pm

cool game

nikitapash says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:18pm

The visual are not so good, but the gameplay is fun.

zeoxo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Probably my favorite game so far of this jam. Amazing design and game play that kept me trying over and over again till the very end. 5/5

sollinxp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:52am

the scenary changing is really impressive and nice graphic, good job

derzan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:52am

Probably my favorite from ludum dare 37 so far! Very impressed on the transitions of the levels in particular. Honestly, I think the transitions may be the reason I give your game a 5 star rating. Sounds were good too but it could use some bgm.

d3uced says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:53am

Great work, cool art style and really creative level ideas and so many levels.

wowods says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:21pm

What's a great idea for one room theme... Some platformer is kinda hard to perform, but overall i like it.

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Not bad I think! Interesting game

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:46pm

I like your game so much, I love the animation when he dies and the transition between levels is so great. Nice job ^_^

Casevse says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Very good game, i have been playing until i finished it. I love the transitions between levels and the player animation. Good work!

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:45am

Wow this is amazing! I loved it. Such a unique idea and one of the best uses of the theme. Well done!

I died 126 times haha.

Great job :)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:53am

Art of the game is Nice

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:06pm

I really like the polish on this. There are so many small things like the shake on impact and the level transitions. And the mechanics were nice too.

However, I am not a big fan of the level design. There were so many spots where you had to make the pixel-perfect jump, and it seemed more like based on luck than skill, to the point where it started to become frustrating.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:02am

Hi, just wanted to say thank you all for the approval and criticism of my game! Getting other perspectives on it is incredibly helpful, so I do really appreciate it.
To address some common concerns:

Level Design-- Specifically the more... precise levels were created in an attempt to almost artificially create a difficulty curve on par with what you'd find in a longer game like this one. Unfortunately, with the limited mechanics and lack of time, some levels ended up being "hope you release the space bar soon enough". Not the best design. Oh well.

No Music-- I really wanted to add some, but I felt with my time remaining, anything I tried to compose would've been mediocre or repetitive at best.

Controls-- I honestly don't know what I could change to make it feel better, but I have realized that the more popular platformers rely more on speed and precision as opposed to the more vertically focused design/control and perfectly timed button presses/releases that this game relies on.

Anyway, like I said, I appreciate the feedback. It helps me learn what to or not to do for now and on into the future. Thank you! <3

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:15am

Like the use of the theme! Graphics are not that bad either.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:18am

Really nice idea!
I found myself playin more than i thought.
Well done!

icefallgames says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Great job... some tricky platforming there, but nice use of theme. Still can't figure out the level where the flag is on the left sandwiched tightly between two platforms...

Palarus says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Really addictive!! And the changing room is awesome!! Plus the level design seem to me perfect. Nothing more to say than great work!

Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Great game, tight controls and clever use of the theme.
I think that sometimes, the collision with what kills you when going offscreen should be a bit more permissive because it makes the rules harder to understand.
The dificulty curve is a bit odd too and the tricky platforming levels are not really necessay imho.
Great game anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]