Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Planet

by OnePixelMonster - Jam Entry

Tiny Planet is a simple survival adventure set on a very small world; you crashed your space ship and are stranded until the ship is repaired.

-Scavenge for food and fuel.
-Explore a strange world.
-Fix your ship to get off this rock!

You control a nameless blob, spending your days looking for food, fuel, ship parts and your sanity.

Note 1: Expect bugs, typos, weird grammar. The controls are a bit odd (sorry). The easiest way to get around is to press and hold W then turn left or right with A and D. There is only partial joystick support.

Note 2: Now its time to open a beer or twelve and rest a bit.

Note 3: And fix any game breaking bugs. Oh, there is missing music. And a few collision glitches, nothing game breaking so far.

Note 4: The windows exe looks a A LOT nicer than its HTML5 cousin. Like A LOT. The shadows look all weird. Bleh. Plus the text is too small.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#333Humor(Jam)2.90
#340Innovation(Jam)3.30
#380Graphics(Jam)3.63
#459Mood(Jam)3.24
#659Overall(Jam)3.04
#775Fun(Jam)2.54
#840Theme(Jam)2.44

Comments

columhiggins says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Very cute and engaging. I liked the slow pace, but it lulls you into a false sense of security.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Fixit not ship

psilon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Freat graphics, interestin concept. A planet really look nice even on the html5 version.

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Hmm, pretty interesting. At the beginning, it felt a bit confusing, then i got into it. Nice style.

topatisen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:48pm

I did not manage to finish the game, I tried 3 times, but it did not restart the game after I'd lost all my strength, so I'll review this from a "halfway through" perspective.
The player controls are really interesting, I've not seen that before, almost like driving a car! And I like the atmosphere of the game, I felt alone and safe while playing, the music added a lot. Overall very interesting and calm experience, great job!

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:54am

I think you did a great job with the graphics, reminded me of 90s games. Kudos for that!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Really interesting with a great mood - something weird. I had fun playing it. Well done ++

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:20pm

The graphics are nice, good job.

Fuad says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Very interesting planet mechanics, I like the idea of game on little spherical object in space.

But I cannot understand what to do, because after searching the planet, I cannot find the place to sleep...

crazya says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Love the spooky sense of isolation.

kamranwali says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Wow this is a nice game. I really enjoyed the game. Graphics and audio went well with the game. Overall a fun game to play. You should carry on with the game. Keep it up!

tellus says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:44pm

I really like the idea and how the planet looks with all of the bits orbiting around it, but I wasn't able to see very well on the web version. The controls are also a little jumpy, which could be frustrating when you can't see very well (especially on the dark side of the planet.) It would also help if there was some kind of warning that your strength is getting dangerously low. Overall, nice job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:52pm

I like the concept, but I was confused to no end. I also got stuck in the pond, which led my my death. Other than that, the graphics were really nice!

Sarge3v says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Controls are a bit confusing at the beginning but fun and cute game.

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Pretty cool idea, though the hunger ticking down could have done with clearer indication. I found one piece for my UFO, then I kept starving to death.

The written letters are funny, the graphics are decent but the colour scheme is pretty painful.

Overall quite good, just a shame that the hunger mechanic is so harsh and information about hunger is just a number on the side of the screen.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Cute game--like the graphics of the planet a lot. And a nice solitary mood. I was a little confused by the food scavenging--is finding food unrelated to the positions of the apples on the map?

Jan 14, 2017 @ 3:03pm

Nice planet! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/ZixdysfW5fU

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]