Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The F Revenge

by Pandanymous - Jam Entry

So... For a first LD, this was really fun !

This game is mostly a prototype, with not much into it.

First part, you control a cursor and with each move you will lay a tile.
When you get to the exit (the green square), you will get to the second part of the game, in wich you'll need to find your way in the level you just did. Yay,fun !

R to restart;
Arrows to move and space to jump;

This game may be a little bit broken, so don't be afraid to restart if you get stuck !

Have fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Innovation(Jam)3.68
#652Theme(Jam)3.18
#790Coolness49%
#800Overall(Jam)2.76
#805Mood(Jam)2.36

Comments

KairosXIII says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:54am

A bit buggy as you mentioned, but I love the idea here. Great job.

torcado says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:55am

really interesting idea, but the controls are horribble and the physics are very glitchy. I almost managed to beat it despite that, but fell through the floor at the end and didn't want to go through that again.
otherwise its a really neat mechanic! could be interesting having fixed those issues

Dvorgaz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:22am

Interesting idea, but half the time the red square doesn't spawn and the horizontal movement doesn't really work.

Pandanymous says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:26am

Ok ok, noted ! Will try to fix these bugs, ASAP !
But should I wait for the judging to be over? I don't know if bug fixes are allowed after the jam?

sudojess says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:29am

The rotation point made the game very hard to play, interesting game though, liking the generation. tip: mash the space bar.

wowods says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:34am

Very cool idea. But the control is kinda hard for me.

zzapp says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:37am

Love the idea, its a shame its so buggy or it would be a pretty fun little game.

titomakanijr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:11am

Great idea! In the future I would remove any sort of rotation on the player though. Anyways I think it was really cool, and I could see a game like this being very fun with a bit more work. Keep it up man!

Moritz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Innovative idea! Controls are generally snappy, but the scrolling can occasionally break (and there are some tiles that have invisible collision objects...)

I really like the "zooming in on the actual level" idea. There's a lot of potential in this!

Rakart says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Really cool idea !

It's really a shame that the controls are so bad. I can see where you tried to go but it lacks tuning :(.
It could be a great game post ludum dare.

Congratulations on the entry !

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:20pm

I lost my red square on start after resetting. Cool idea. I liked the fact that you first create a pattern and then play it. Good work.

Maybe jumping is a bit wonky.

erikiene says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Awesome idea! Beat it by flying pretty much, might not want to let infinite jumps if you plan on expanding

Holofire says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Not sure if the controls being janky is a bug or a feature, but I think it adds a real challenge to this game which I love. Great design, nice job :D

breno says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Very interesting concept! Adding some new features and fixing some bugs would make it superb.

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Really interesting idea of level generation!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Interesting idea, the zoom with camera is awesome.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Buggy, but I had fun playing it. Interesting concept ++

yolgie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:35am

Ides is interresting, 1st part works, but with very little interaction possible, 2nd part is nearly unplayable because of the enourmous drag/glitchy controls
0> Pressing space repeatedly makes you kinda fly, wich makes the game kinda playable, but not enjoyable.

Sarge3v says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Idea is good but clumsy physics makes the game controls difficult.

qualia says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:33am

Thanks for your feedback on my game - I made a new version incorporating your suggestion :)

I like generating the level and then playing it. I think your platformer mechanics are really punishing, but I'm not sure if that's intentional. The combination of really strong gravity and friction means that you don't even move at all for the first half second of holding down the movement keys, then suddenly you drop off the edge and you move really fast both down and sideways.

Building a vertical tower to the target, I seemed to be able to just keep hitting spacebar and get there in the end.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]