Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Homes under the Hammer

by Tijn - Compo Entry

HOMES UNDER THE HAMMER
----
After watching countless hours of property development on TV, you've decided to take the step to try some of your own.

The most important thing seems to be to knock down walls and turn all those cramped little rooms into ONE ROOM.

Watch out for those supporting walls though!

Can you make a profit?


HOW TO PLAY
-----
This game is played with the mouse. Hover over a wall to select it. Left click brings it down. Timing is not critical, but as time is money, you probably shouldn't take too long picking your walls.

When a warning icon appears, there is a supporting wall nearby, so watch out for those.

The value of a property is greatly increased when you manage to connect all the rooms together, so try to make the available space into ONE ROOM.

At any point you can sell your property by pressing the "SELL" button in the top right side of the screen.


ABOUT
----
This my 6th entry for Ludum Dare. I've once again used the LÖVE framework and I'm happy I did so, even though the code is a big mess, haha.

The idea for this game came from my girlfriend, who likes to watch BBC daytime television. I'm quite happy with how it all turned out :)

If I had more time, I would have liked to add some graphics, like drawings of the houses and some more things going on in the background while playing the levels. Ah well.

The sound effects are all recorded, either with my voice or things around the house. And although the music is quite MIDI-esque, the whistling gives it some liveliness I think :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Humor4.17
#14Audio4.22
#14Theme4.50
#90Innovation3.77
#90Mood3.70
#122Overall3.67
#137Fun3.58
#364Graphics2.97
#1294Coolness32%

Comments

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:56am

Love the sound effects! It was a bit confusing at first but at my third try, and with a bit of luck, I was able to end up with 270k on my bank. Yay!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Love those sound effects, simple but funny. Tearing down the walls is like, do i really dare to go any further, I mean money is money after all...

I would've loved to be able to do something with the money, other than getting super rich (or super poor for that matter :( )

amras0000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:30pm

The premise of the game got me laughing right off the bat. The writing supports that and the general camp atmosphere is very cohesive and pleasant.

Main issue with the game is the same as with minesweeper - you can lose on your first click, and often have to just guess. Since there's also fewer walls than there are tiles in minesweeper, the chance of that happening is bigger, and it killed a number of my runs. However, you did justify that saying the protagonist has no idea what they're doing, so aside from the frustration it did make me giggle a bit when I'd just tap a house gently and the whole thing would fall apart.

The sound design might be the best part of this game. Everything from the varied menu music to the whistling to the vocal sound effects are well-designed and compliment each other and the atmosphere in general. Only real issue is that after breaking a wall there's a bit of a high-pitched "hm" after a second of silence, which feels unintentional.

Minor nitpick - I feel that the green area of the building shuld be the largest contiguous area, rather than the first area created. But I see the reasoning behind this option and it works just as well.

rnlf says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:59pm

As usual, awesome audio, that does not only deserve five stars on its own but also donates some extra stars to the Humor section :)

I was really smiling when I first opened the game.

The game itself is a cool idea, very smart use of the theme. The graphics are working well, even if they are not super shiny.

In the end I totaled the first and third house and still went away with $10,464. If that isn't motivating :D I think I should buy a house now.

Sean says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Nice entry! I found the main mechanic to be confusing at first; it took me awhile to realize that it was kind of like playing minesweeper, but once I got it the game made a lot more sense.

The audio in particular is great. I find that doing sound effects with voices usually ends up sounding wrong, but it works really well here!

Bug report: you can click the "buy and renovate" button multiple times while the game is transitioning, causing you to lose extra money before starting the level.

antishow says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:47pm

LOVE THIS! Sound was great. Easily my favorite entry so far! Wasn't sure how to tell if a given wall is structural or not though. Or maybe it's just random? Either way, great job! :D

JK5000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:09pm

A simple but still super fun game. Well done.

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Which wall is a support wall after all?

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:50pm

I loved the soundFX and the take on the theme. The gameplay felt a little bit unfair because it was base on luck. Overall pretty solid entry, keep up the good work!

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Good Game! is the supporting wall random? or you can guess which one?

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Cool concept, but it's very confusing, sometimes I didn't know what wall was the one I shouldn't break.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Awesome game! One of my favorites this LD. It's like a modern version of minesweeper. :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:05pm

This is a perfect use of the theme, Well done! I really enjoyed playing it end listening to the comical sound effects :D

Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Note to myself : Never break a house wall by myself...

It was a really nice idea and sound effects were crazy, loved it ! XDDD

M2tias says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Great game! Very well executed. Really hard to grasp the logic behind it though. Would it ruin the puzzle if supporting walls were explained? One of the funniest LD games I've seen! :)

menip says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Great idea and audio! Really enjoyed this one, played several times :)

Fourth try: over $600k

menip says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Great idea and audio! Really enjoyed this one, played several times :)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Not bad :) I wish there was more to the gameplay. As it is, it is just a game of chance. Sure you can keep knocking down a particular wall until you hit the 'warning' sign, but you have to start somewhere. So it's not a very fair challenge. The whistling was fun at first, but got old very quickly. I actually liked the non-whistling music though, reminding me of old pc platformers. Nice job :)

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:50am

Really nice use of the theme. It's simple but effecient and pretty fun. I replayed several times.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:37am

Very nice job! I enjoyed knocking down the walls, but I am unsure of how I could tell what was or what wasn't a supporting wall. Great game!

~josefnpat

Linear says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:04pm

That was surprisingly delightful. Did notice a slight bug (you can click on the Buy & Renovate button multiple times accidentally, and end up losing a lot of money while the house is loading)

euske says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Thank goodness I didn't become a carpenter. I would have been dead AND broke by now!

alfie275 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Vote/comment didn't seem to submit correctly earlier:

Cool game, with very funny story and great music. Would be more fun if there were some way to find out which walls were supporting, and perhaps more levels with random gen.

I did a gameplay video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwWc0bzFOsY

mvieira says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 3:08pm

I Had lots of fun. At least now I know I would not be good at this job...lol.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 1:10am

I loved the execution. The sound effect of falling building were perfect. I loved the humor and style of the game. I guess I just love Löve games.

I don't get whether the support walls are assigned randomly or if there is any system.

Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Really cool concept! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/kL8oXDGWrLQ

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 10:31am

Very nice entry. The overall atmosphere is very good. Graphics are simple but fit the genre. Audio is perfect.

Gameplay-wise I'm not really sure I understand how to win. First I thought it was a puzzle game but upon replaying I wondered whether it was a guessing game instead. I didn't understand how to spot the supporting walls.

Anyway, with a bit more polish and a lot more levels, this game would be perfect in an app store. Very well done.

g12345 says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:03pm

I have to watch a lot of home improvement shows at home too, so this game really made me smile a lot.

I first have no idea what to do but after reading that it's a kinda minesweeper I got the hang of it.

Also, the music is really fitting for that kind of show. :)

dollarone says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:23pm

Great take on the theme. Love the whistling and the sound effects. Interesting concept, the only thing I'd have changed is to give the player a second chance if the first hit is a supporting wall as it's frustrating to lose all your hard-earned cash on an accidental hammer to the wrong wall.

I'm getting quite good at this - I managed to get just over 2 million in the end. Maybe I should buy a hammer, hmm?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]