Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Pixelander

by eddynardo - Compo Entry

"Pixelander"
There is room only for one.

IMPORTANT: READ THIS FIRST IF YOU WANT TO UNDERSTAND HOW TO PLAY

Pixelander is a 2D platformer, about a knight in a golden armor, where you don't control your character directly, instead you manipulate the environment to change his and his enemies path by adding different objects on the level before each round starts. Each time two characters collide with each other they both DIE. When only one character has left on the field a gate opens. If you are the last man standing you must go through the gate before the time is up (10 seconds per round)

Controls:
Q,W,E,R to use object from the inventory
Left mouse button to place the object
SPACE to start round (only after you have used all available objects)
Escape to restart Level
[In case you get stuck for long time in a single level you can skip it by pressing "N" (next) or go back a level by pressing "P" (previews)]

This game was created in 18 hours just by me (I wasted the first 30 hours on a totally different game before I decided to drop it ) and that's why it doesn't have any soundFX or music. I hope you enjoy it, and if you did (or even if you didn't) please leave a comment. Have a nice day :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#133Innovation3.63
#152Overall3.62
#161Fun3.52
#209Graphics3.44
#245Humor2.72
#588Theme2.54

Comments

BonozoApps says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:13am

15 levels of genuine fun, loved it, thanks for making this

qzqxq says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:01am

Game doesn't open on OS/X for me, but this looks really cool so I'll try this on a windows partition.

Jurgler says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:09am

I really like the idea of the game. Somehow I just got to level 2 right now, but i'll try again later. Nice graphics.. no sound?! It feels a bit random for me when the door opens?
But I still think that this is a solid entry with a lot of potential! Maybe I am just too stupid right now to play it ^^

eddynardo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:18am

@Jurgler door opens only when one person is alive, please read the whole description to understand how to play, I didn't have much time to make an ingame tutorial, sorry about that

qzqxq says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:35am

Okay, I just played through the first 9 levels. Here are some thoughts:
-The graphics are great, and this is super impressive for <24 hours.
-The gameplay idea is similarly great and has tons of potential.
-The puzzles themselves...not as great. It sort of feels like you cobbled them together at the end, threw in a bunch of objects, and left it to the player to figure it out.
-It was super frustrating being forced to use all of the objects in my inventory before I could start. Sometimes I wanted to place just one or two objects to see how a specific knight reacts to that (or just press space at the very beginning to see what happens when I do nothing, in order to iterate on that), so being forced to also place the other 5 objects in random places was annoying.

I guess in general, I like puzzle games with handcrafted puzzles where you feel smart for figuring out the solution. Unfortunately I didn't really feel that way for this game because a lot of the time I would solve a level "by accident." I think what would have helped is if there were less given objects (e.g. I did level 7 with a single block) and only a few possible solutions, forcing the player to puzzle out where it could be.

Again, I think this makes a great premise for a game, and if you had more time to design the puzzles I'm sure I would have loved this!

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Love this puzzle game ! Simple rules but lots of depth.

I would have loved a little more freedom in the building phase. (Like erase stuff, or launch before using all the elements)

In general, with a quicker iteration times a a great Soundtrack, this game will be AWESOME !

Congratulation !

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:50pm

I really do like this one. I like that you picked a mechanic and made 15 levels from it. The graphics aren't bad, the controls are perfectly explained and easy to get a grip on. I like that there are multiple ways to beat a level and that there are no game breaking glitches (that I found ;)) Good job :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Not working for me. You should provide a 32-bit libnss3.so with your Linux release.

eddynardo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:23pm

@Starlight glimmer is best poney
I found this on the game engine manual for linux support, maybe it can help??

On Linux, the following command enables execute permission for the file 'mygame'. Run this from the terminal to ensure the file can be run:

chmod a+x mygame

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Honnestly, this is a very wonderful concept. I dont like puzzles but this one is really great. I just dont think if fit the theme. Great work!!

Tommy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Great game, feels really smooth and it's interesting to play. I finished it and I just feel like it's a bit hard on the first stages but easily exploitable and way easier in the last levels, especially when you unlock the teleport. But hey, you can't have everything perfect in a jam!

Maffew says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:34pm

genuinely fun and interesting puzzle game, Well done

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:36pm

This is great! Some levels felt too similar but it is still very well designed! Good job man!!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Simple, polished, loads of content. This is fantastic! Reminded me of Lemmings :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Cool game, the mechanics work quite well.

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Nice concept, fun game! Sure it can be improved here and there but for 48 hours it's really neat.

hlavik211 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Good game

Devastus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Amazing stuff for 18 hours. And also quite fun mechanics, I'd have enjoyed it more though if I had the possibility to just press Space and see what happens regardless of how many pieces I've used. And the really small resolution made it sometimes hard to see stuff.
But I mean, 18 hours to produce an actually fun game. Sheesh.

eddynardo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:41pm

@Devastus thank you very much.
About the resolution, you could resize the window to fit the entire screen, it just looks small when you start the game, but it is resizable

SbstnC says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Nicely done. The concept is works pretty well, I'm sure the puzzle could be very interesting with some fine tuning.

Splendidus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Good job.

Kerr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:42am

This feels a lot like the game lemmings, which is a good thing! Clever puzzles with limited mechanics. I did wish there were sounds for things; it was fun!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Nice concept. I love puzzle games and you did a great one for this jam. At least you could add some music, FX and animation to win a 10/10/

murilo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Can't remember last time I had to think so hard for something apparently so simple. Good level designs with little variety and simple mechanics. Also it's funny how the soldiers explode on contact haha

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Fun and innovative. Very impressive for only 18 hours

misaghDroid says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:57pm

very nice game and i loved the puzzles but i found them too difficult for beginning of the game

mirta000 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:32am

quite an amusing little game.

Afendar says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Great puzzle game ! pixel art is good. Keep it up !

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:20am

Could do with some sound but it was a fun entry with some really interesting puzzle design and well thought out object mechanics. As mentioned when I was playing on my stream earlier, it does kind of need an option to delete objects instead of restarting the level.

Obvious_San says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:45am

Great little puzzle game, with really lovely pixel art. The puzzle mechanics build up quite well, but towards the end some of the puzzles become solvable with only a few of the provided pieces. For example, the last puzzle I think you can solve with just the two blocks from the start of the game! I imagine that is down to time constraints though, and overall it is a really fun game.

- randomhuman

Jan 6, 2017 @ 3:53pm

Lovely graphics, challenging puzzles! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/gkZsQxjDEm8

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]