Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Roomba

by Pestel Crew - Jam Entry

Ever wondered what your roomba bot is doing while you are at work? “One Roomba” game will answer that question AND let you play as one.
Be a nice robot! Let cats ride on you! Cover the entire room in poop! Draw pentagrams with poop! Summon demons from hell!
“One Roomba” is a puzzle game where you play as a robot vacuum cleaner. You must complete various objectives in 7 different levels.

Controls:
Left-Click on arrows to move your Roomba in that direction
Roomba moves until it hits any obstacle

You will encounter different interactive objects in different levels:
Footsteps – drive through to clear it
Dirt patch – drive through it twice to clear it
Poop – drive through it to destroy it, you are going to start generating a poop trail behind you for several turns and each move will cost you 2 turns instead of 1
Kitty – kitty will limit your movement to 3 tiles while she is sitting on you

The game is made by Pestel Crew in 3 days.

P.S. Only the Windows build has been tested.
P.P.S. WebGL graphics looks too blocky. We suggest to play standalone build

YouTube: https://youtu.be/1mp3DRqIRAk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#111Graphics(Jam)4.30
#119Theme(Jam)4.13
#122Humor(Jam)3.59
#135Innovation(Jam)3.74
#137Overall(Jam)3.83
#257Fun(Jam)3.47
#338Mood(Jam)3.47

Comments

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:55am

I think it looks cool, and I played it for about 10 mins, but I didn't get the gameplay at all. I watched the video afterwards, still don't know what it's about. But I think there is something cool about it, maybe it just needs a clear goal or something.

jusw85 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:42pm

I liked the first person view and graphics, although I didnt manage to pass the second stage. It a little too hard for me :(

drludos says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Excellent game, I love it! The idea is wonderful and very unique, and the game play quite nicely. I did struggle at first to identify that I basically needed to clear the apartment to complete the first level, but once I found it, I found it quite easy to play. The first person view is great, I didn't realize that the game was in 3D at First - congrats to the graphic artists, it really feels like a 2D isometric game :)

Also, I love how many levels there are in total, and the poop & demons based humor!
Great job!

misaghDroid says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Hard but super cool, I like the design very much and the really creative idea. I struggled a bit to figure out what should I do, but then it was very enjoyable :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Very cute concept and fantastic graphics. While the instructions weren't terribly clear, I did figure it out quickly enough. I finished the first level but got stuck on the second.

The game could have used some clearer visual feedback, such as highlighting the dirt, and maybe a 360 degree orbit to get a better feel for the possible movement vectors. Overall a very well crafted game, but missing some user-friendliness polish.

Swingularity says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:59pm

The graphics are cool and I like the audio. I don't know what people mean by first person? The effects when you hit things is really cool.

Stending says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Wow, graphics are amazing! Looks like a perfect isometric art, but it's in full 3D. It looks really great, congratulations on that!
The games feels great, and the levels are rewarding when you find the solution !
Congrats =)

GuiGs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Very nice game and bright theme!The graphics are amazing too.Just like someone said above, very hard for me.

alfadur says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:09pm

I tend to like navigation puzzles, so this was very enjoyable to solve. Even more so with the incredible amount of detail put into graphics, with falling glasses and all. And props for a whole demon model put in just to indicate the level completion :)
I only wish the path dots were at least partially visible through the level geometry. While it's possible somehow to mentally track the path behind furniture, it feels like unnecessary effort that detracts from actually finding a solution.

Kroute says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:39am

Wow this is an excellent game ! The concept is original, the graphics are really nice and the difficulty makes you want to try again and again. Congrats !

DOXM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:46am

Great minigame(I love puzzle games), but why no music? It's a jam entry, you could add some cc0 music

amras0000 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:48am

Very nice work. The puzzles are well-designed and challenging, with an appropriate difficulty ramp and enough leeway not to be irritating. The theme isn't my cup of tea but it was well-executed, graphics, sound, writing and all.

The game feels very content-rich, with all the little animations happening throughout the room, the little rumba-cam, and the varied mission requirements.

There were some issues (as there are with any LD game), but this title is a solid, polished, and quite fun puzzle game.

The main negative thing that stood out was the lack of music. Even some simple third party thing would've helped the mood immensely. The whir of the rumba alone got a bit grating after a while.

The other big issue was that a number of the targets (especially many of the footsteps) were very difficult to see. The slightly darkened dirty tiles fought for visual attention with the shadows, the animations, and the desaturated background. I was close to ending my playthrough at the 4th level because I couldn't visually find the last target I had to go to.

I couldn't find a way to move the camera, and it wasn't zoomed out enough for me to see the whole play area. This was problematic in two situations: first, when finding that last footstep/dirt splotch, which could well be off-screen. And when I finally summoned the demon, it spawned out of the camera's field of view so I didn't get to see it!

Going back to the style (and this is completely subjective of course), the color choices felt a bit too desaturated, samey, and grey. The models are well-built, but hurt by the fact that nothing really pops out in the graphics. I'd have liked the greys to be whiter and the greens greener. And possibly most importantly, I'd have liked for the predominant color in the game to be something other than gray. (Talking here mostly about the floor and walls).

But all those issues are fairly minor, and perfectly excusable with a game this content-rich and solid. I had a great time playing it, thanks for the work.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Really nice, man... Really liked the idea.
I've just think that the early levels should be a but easier, so we can get the trick about movements and stuff.
But well done... =)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:16pm

I like your style and the game is kinda fun! hope to see other your games in future :)
I'm designer and artist myself, so I really appreciate your work on graphics, we spent a lot of time on it too :)

NUEBO MUNDO says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Really nice twist on the theme, very enjoyable entry overall!

The lack of music and tediousness of some puzzles are the main issues I can think of.

Dragojt says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:13pm

I liked the view when you choose a path for the roomba.
Why are there a lot of roombas in this LD? xD

limmmmm says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:50pm

great graphics and effects, love the first-person view and the things falling off shelves and tables.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:04pm

WOW! this is exceptionally good game. how did you oprimise it for web to run at 60 fps? mine rund at 15 no matter what I do...

Louspirit says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:32pm

It is definitely the ludum dare of vacuums ! Professional graphics and hard mental exercices though!

MementoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I loved it!
Amazing idea, great graphics and pretty funny too.
I found the difficulty spike a little steep, just need a little more balancing. Superb job, guys!

ocarson says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:50pm

I always knew roombas were the work of satan. I've made more indepth comments in this video. https://youtu.be/GvnbFVF6-m4

Sarge3v says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Really good graphics, idea and game design.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:00pm

AWESOME. Great puzzle and a great cleaner. Destruction - deliver delight. =)

Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Really clever concept and nice use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]