Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon 2.0

by TheMonsterFromTheDeep - Compo Entry

In Dungeon 2.0, you play as the head engineer of the royal King - who has somehow become trapped in "Dungeon 2.0," a specialized arena being built for the most intense fights known to mankind.

(this story absent from game executable)

This is my seventh Ludum Dare game, and is actually one of my more complete ones, although it still feels like there is something missing. I spent a lot of time doing graphics, though, like the particle effects, which was fun, and I think it was worth it.

This game is basically a combination RPG and high-score game: you have a character that has a set of skills, and in fact has two skill trees: magic and archery. You try to survive for as long as possible (although I didn't put a timer in...)

Over time, you do get XP and level up. The eight 'skills' are explained in the game, on the main menu - simply wait for it to transition - reading about the abilities shouldn't take toooo long.

(or you can play without knowing what they do - extra fun!)

Basic controls:
WASD: move
Space: shoot

This game is probably really poorly balanced, but I hope you can have fun anyways. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#46Fun3.90
#98Overall3.76
#145Graphics3.66
#195Mood3.37
#212Audio3.13
#313Humor2.45
#333Theme3.54
#464Innovation2.70

Comments

tigerfinch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:09am

This was hard - very quickly overwhelmed. However, really had fun, and had quite a few goes. Really impressive game-feel for a jam game:
- The particle effects were totally worth it :)
- The ability to push some enemies back with spells was a nice mechanic but also felt good
- Pushing things into the fire was especially satisfying

hermetic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:14am

This is a complete game. Great fun. I LOVE these kinds of games. The skills work very well and cycle back to default while recharging (seems to work intuitively). I spent a lot of time mashing my space bar though, so I wonder if it shouldn't have just "auto fired" when I held it down. If I had to guess at what it's missing is some kind of defenses... or maybe invulnerability frames? A better indication of the boss monster? Classes? HEALTH DROPS!.... Good job!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:05am

Pretty fun game, graphics looked nice and I liked the particle effects. The gameplay feels very solid but difficulty ramps up too fast. I like it overall tho.

guoboism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:35am

Limited space - defence
Fun to play!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:37pm

As written, poorly balanced. But I had fun to play ! ;) Well done !

Tortoise says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:41pm

The game itself was quite fun, but the audio was really really rough and made it hard for me to want to restart after failing. The mechanics were good, I liked the level up system. Good work!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:46pm

The sound that things make when they get caught in the fire is obnoxious. On the bright side, it's impressive how much content you were able to make within the allotted time. However, you designed a leveling system that incentivizes players to focus on one weapon to the point of rendering the others ineffective. I just pumped points into my arrow skill and my power increase outpaced the difficulty curve by a noticeable margin. The graphical style is well-executed and the music sounds cool.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:51pm

@Tortoise:

Yeah, I thought about turning off the fire audio, but I didn't, because I suppose I like to cause my audience pain ;)

@Piscythe:

That was what I was trying to fix in terms of balance. As you can see, I basically failed. :(

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:59pm

It's a nice game. But when monsters get near the lava it makes a bit anoying continuous "hit" sound. Anyway it's pretty fun to play.

samt2510 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Good challenging dungeon runner, great job

Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Really fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/8ZKn12Y_qVg

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:21am

I had so much fun. I liked the game a lot. Enemy challenge level is perfect in my opinion. Character could be balanced to be stronger.
This is by far the most fun LD37 game I have played so far.
My only complaint is character prefers horizontal movement over vertical. You should change it so that last pressed direction key is dominant over the other.

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Cool! Very nice graphics with attention to detail. The sound also was very nice, but it got bugged out when there were many enemies on the screen - which, I admit, happened quite soon in the game making it pretty difficult. But still, cool game with a lot of content!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Not bad. I don't know if it's just my computer, but the game would get quite laggy when a couple of monsters were in the bottom part (lava, I assume?) – the sounds of them taking damage were also very annoying.

Other than that it's pretty neat, maybe you could add a strafe key? Or go full twin-stick with the controls. But good job!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:13pm

@MrErdalUral: I've noticed that, thanks for confirming that it's an issue.
@Zettlekasten, @Aurel Bílý: It sounds like you guys are having lag issues. That's a shame. I did test this game on my slowest computer (well, aside from my RPi), and I didn't have any issues. I suppose that's something to improve in the future.
@Aurel Bílý: I honestly didn't think about twin-stick controls. That's a really great idea!

Chaoslab says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:13am

That was a fun we blast. Reminded me of Robotron. Pew pew pew. Thanks for that.

Tezra says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:21am

So many different types of attacks and a leveling system too? That's quite awesome for a jam game. Did I mention that the effects look good! I had fun :) thanks!

btwj_ says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:10am

Really fun game, but I think the challenge goes up a tad too quickly. Good use of particles and other effects to juice up the game :)

jramell says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:12am

Pretty fun game. I liked the permanence mechanics and its game feel is impressive. However, I didn't understand a lot what the skills I was leveling up actually did.

strong99 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:20am

The difficulty skyrocketed creating a challenge not often seen... well... the poor guy. Loved the simplicity. It was start and play, no tutorials needed! Lovely.

Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:28am

@jramell: Thanks for the feedback - I was worried that there were too many skills to keep track of. They really all do very similar things - the only ones that really do much different are some of the magic skills, which can attack multiple enemies, and the slime arrow, which can make enemies fight for you (although this happens to not be very useful...)

Sigton says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 9:50am

Awesome game, it did get really difficult after a short while. It looked great and had good mechanics, but what really annoyed me was the sound effect when they were burning in the fire cause it hurt my ears :b

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Pretty challening and cool idea, but the noises... but got me laughing, I got to admit.
The graphics have some really good points like particles for exemple, and the spells mechanics are pretty satisfying. Good job!

jperlin says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 2:53am

That was really fun! I wish there was a total score at the death screen :) And the lack of diagonal movement was annoying at first but I'm sure I would get used to it eventually. A very solid entry though!

automatonvx says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:01am

That was really pretty fun. A lot of these style of games in this in LD (including my own) but you managed to pack a lot of features in for the time and it feels pretty complete, so hats off. I also enjoyed the graphics style, I thought the difficulty was pretty well balanced to keep interesting enough also. I agree pushing enemies back and into the fire was strangely satisfying.
solid

axoona says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:38pm

nice version of shoot'em up, you managed to put a lot of content with the different weapons and enemies.
the graphics are pretty cool too

JonathanG says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 7:07pm

This is good fun! The upgrade choices give enough reason to keep coming back to play more.

Wumbo says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Suprisingly fun game, though I unfortunately didn't get to experience all of the weapons because I kept dying with all the enemies that spawned so fast.

I do like that the enemies have more life over time and that you can upgrade your weapons, that made the game much more fun. Also, if you have time for a post-compo version, it might be a good idea to have certain checkpoints where you let the player kill all of the enemies of the screen before spanwing any more to let them catch their breath once in a while so that they can see more of the weapons.

Fun game though!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 10:06pm

It's probably me but I do wish the abilities could be explained better. Other than that it's a very fun arena shooter and the pixel art was very nice (The critical hit popup was very satisfying).

Jelinib says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 9:24am

I tried out as many skills as I could. This was really satisfying to play!

It was initially confusing to me that putting a point in skill 1 unlocked (and allowed me to use) skill 2 already, instead of requiring me to put a point in skill 2 to use skill 2. But if I thought of it at it as "skill 1 is a prerequisite for skill 2" then it made a little more sense that way. But this confusion is probably my fault because I didn't wait for the tutorial, haha! :P

The arrow counts were a little hard to see, as they are black text over a dark background. Maybe the slimes could have a slight squash/stretch animation when they jump around, so they seem less solid.

A sound effect for picking up monster remains/exp could be delicious too!

-- But these are all only minor nitpicks. :P

I had a lot of fun with this. Love all the juiciness in your game. This is really well done! Great job! :)

Palys Plays says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:03am

Very addictive game. I had a lot of fun playing it. The diffuculty level was challenging, but I liked it. Well done!

phi says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:56am

A 2D shooter works well if shooting enemies is as satisfying as in this game! However, the controls were a little cumbersome for my fingers... Repeat-tapping and perpendicular motion don't combine very well in my opinion. Also, the skills aren't really visible when the player chooses what to level up - and that's the only time you need to see it... Otherwise, quite challenging, but the concept isn't overwhelming, so I think that's legitimate. :) Nicely polished, good job!

Jan 1, 2017 @ 5:04pm

Quite enjoyable mechanics, and I love the bit sytle art. Very much a smashTV vibe I got from this one. I didn't quite follow the leveling up aspect though and am not quite sure that part added to the fun(although I'm not a huge rpg guy so that could just be me).

Also really appreciated the constructive feedback on my game and agree with your thoughts!

tellus says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:29am

I liked this game even though I thought it was hard. Overall, I was surprised how good this was for a Ludum Dare jam game, when I noticed that it was actually a compo!

The mechanics are straight forward. The difficulty certainly ramps up pretty quickly. Still fun though. I found the experience and level up system to be surprisingly involved and made the game significantly better. The only thing that would really complete this game is a timer so I can compare how long I last, but the author acknowledged that. Otherwise, this was great.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]