Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Ring of Fire

by dollarone - Jam Entry

Ring of Fire
------------
Controls: Arrow keys.

What to do: Find the Amulet of Dollarone and escape the Ring of Fire cave! You can attack enemies by running into them. If you hit, they will lose a life. Even if you miss, they will move back a step (if they can) - use this to push them into the very deadly lava.

Enemies are AI to start with, but the game supports up to 10 simultaneous players over the internet!

Story: The Ring of Fire cave is a legendary dungeon where barbarians go to test their strength against other barbarians. Somewhere within, there is a Ring of Fire where the Amulet of Dollarone is rumoured to be hidden. The mystics say that whoever holds the amulet will never run out of riches...

You have mustered up the courage to enter this Sacred Cave. Will you be the one to find the amulet?

All stuff done by me during the jam, except for the music, which was done by Amras0000 - http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/amras0000/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#173Audio(Jam)3.63
#316Humor(Jam)2.94
#408Fun(Jam)3.20
#440Mood(Jam)3.28
#599Innovation(Jam)2.84
#616Overall(Jam)3.11
#789Graphics(Jam)2.45
#831Theme(Jam)2.53
#1037Coolness42%

Comments

menip says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24am

I like it :)
Would be nice if characters responded faster, and the UI needs some work :)
Also: Would love to be able to name my character.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Don't know why but this game reminds me of old school Runescape. xD Game is pretty neat but feels a bit unresponsive. Think some more control would help a lot!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:34am

I can't say I didn't have fun, and for their simplicity the graphics convey a pretty compelling atmosphere (though I'm still not sure what picking up that pineapple did). The issues you do have aren't too complex though so I'll try to run through them.

The start and ending screen appear on-screen for at most a couple frames. That's far too little time to read them. They should probably wait for the user to hit a button the user doesn't normally hit, like enter or spacebar.

It's difficult to tell who's attacking whom. A little animation of a sword swinging or even a red "BLOCKED" text would have helped.
The movement is mostly fine, except it's difficult to move exactly one space without falling into lava. Both for this and the previous issue, slowing the game down a bunch would be very helpful. Make movement take 1.5 to 2 times as long, make attacks even slower. Let the player get to grips with what was happening.

The AI kept walking into lava. I don't know if this was intentional, if you weren't sure how to implement the AI, or if you just ran out of time. But for a simple "walk towards player while dodging obstacles" behavior, A* should work just fine. On the other hand, this bug made the game more playable since the AI was very hard to defeat in combat, even while carrying all the upgrades, and this allowed me to just abuse their pathing and drag them into lava.

I'd have loved to see actual players in the game. I feel like with a slightly improved combat UI this would be a pretty fun game to beat up strangers on the Internet with.

Overall, the game does need some polishing but the core gameplay is pretty compelling, if a bit finicky.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Really fun, and I love the sounds :)

My only complaint is the movement. It probably should be only when a button is pressed, as that would fit with the tile based nature of the game and alleviate some of the issues with lag. The main cause of death seems to be moving one tile too far into the lava.

Other than that, its great, and I really respect the effort to make an online game in the time!

M2tias says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Great small level mmo roguelike. The fighting was super chaotic but considering the amount of health and randomness of the outcome. But considering the length of the game, it wasn't a bad thing. It worked well together with the funny (but awesome) soundtrack :D
Nice!

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:37am

Played your game for my video series! I was stupid though and forgot to record it the first time, which is sad, because it was hilarious. I died a lot. Like, A LOT.

So I recorded it again. And forgot to power on my microphone. So your game will be a post-recorded voice over for the second recording. I'm sorry.

About the game: At first it was really hard and I could run a few steps before either falling into the lava or getting killed (4 times in a row!) by the same guy.

After a while it got a lot easier and I found the amulet, and returned it safely home.

I also found a pineapple, which didn't show up in the summary at the end of the game. What does it do? :D

The art style works great for a game of this genre and Amras0000's music fits in perfectly, too.

I had a but of a problem with the input sometimes moving me two steps ahead. I blamed it on my slightly outdated Mozilla browser.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:56am

I like the use of One room being one multiplayer room. nicely done!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:41am

The controls are a bit frustrating. I expect to only get one grid space per tap, but it seems it is looking if the key is down so sometimes I get a double grid step if the key is held down slightly longer, or pressed at the edge of a frame. This caused me to run into lava when I didn't tell the character to move.

The concept is cool, and would be interesting if more players were in while I was playing.

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:09am

ME ANGRY WITH LAVA >:W >:WWW

mirta000 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:56pm

this is very... Weird. Ways to attack that don't include just slamming yourself into your opponent would have been nice.

Sean says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:10pm

The idea behind the game was cool. I'm not sure if I was ever playing against other real people, but it's definitely an interesting concept.

Before I knew that it was multiplayer, I was a bit surprised by the enemies moving in real-time. It has a lot of the hallmarks of a roguelike and I expected them to be taking turns only when the player moved. Having it be real-time also caused some issues with the controls I think: if it were turn-based, the expectation would be that pressing a key would move you one tile, but because it's real-time, you can accidentally move further than intended if you hold the key too long (which is quite an issue when that single extra tile is a one-hit-kill lava tile!).

Of course, doing it turn-based wouldn't quite work with the multiplayer concept, so it isn't exactly a trivial problem to fix, haha!

dollarone says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:45pm

Thanks for comments, folks!

Sean, it is turn-based, only with very short turns! After chatting with rnlf I realise what I'm missing is client-side prediction, e.g. move on the client (if valid) even if the server hasn't accepted it yet - this would have solved the walking into lava issue, which I agree is super annoying.

The issue with multiplayer games for LD is that people are highly unlikely to play at the same time, hence I added a very basic AI so it still works. The AI should have been a lot better (and atleast avoid the lava) but I ran out of time.

In terms of feedback on attack, you will hear a sword-on-sword sound if you miss, and an "ouch" sound if you hit. I agree that an animation or atleast some kind of visual feedback would have helped.

I'm not sure I agree with you mirta000; I think slamming yourself into your opponent is the best form of attack :D

Tijn says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:31pm

The multiplayer stuff is really quite impressive! Maybe it was a bit too ambitious though, as the single player experience suffered somewhat. You already mentioned the lack of attack animation and the walking into the lava, which are both a bit of a shame.

But nonetheless the concept is great and it's also quite funny, so well done!

Also congrats to amras for the music, it sounds very good :)

Apr 13, 2017 @ 9:52pm

Interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/9I4q6tJ6Ge8

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]