Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

ISS - Infuriating Space Simulator

by Scruffy - Jam Entry

DAY ONE PATCH !!!! you can now open the door :)

You are a lost cosmonaut in space and you must reach your living room because your favorite show is about to begin. You must first open the door by grabbing the handle and then go in your room. Beware of the gravitating objects around your living room. You can grab any handle (on the room or on any flying object).

Controls :

W / S to move Forward / Backward
A / D to move Left / Right
Q / E / to move Down / Up
4 / 6 to Roll
8 / 2 to Pitch
7 / 9 to Yaw
Hold Space bar to grab the closest handle
Ctrl to change Camera
Best with a numeric keypad.

Game made by :

Tim Guthmann : Programmer
Vincent Jalliffier-Merlon : Artist and Sound Designer
Boris Kolimaga : Artist and Composer
Sophie Tutusaus : Artist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#22Audio(Jam)4.23
#68Mood(Jam)4.04
#114Theme(Jam)4.14
#126Innovation(Jam)3.76
#129Graphics(Jam)4.27
#131Overall(Jam)3.85
#178Humor(Jam)3.35
#378Fun(Jam)3.25

Comments

djfariel says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:38am

Got to the door. Couldn't figure out how to open it. The voiceover was absolutely fantastic.

Scruffy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:40am

Thanks for the feedback ! To open the door, you have to grab the handle by pressing SPACE next to it and then go backward ;)

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:47am

Really nice game. The graphics look nice and the voice is really well done.

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:52am

Very good game but i can't go to inside of room. eheheh Very hard control! Very fun game! ^^

Broken Matrix says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:00am

way too hard

zeoxo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:00am

That truly was infuriating. Loved every second of it. 5/5

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:05am

interesting game, but once you get hit by something and go spiraling out of control its super hard to compensate for the rotations and get back to normal. interesting ideas though.

mmason says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:05am

Great Audio, great visuals, great gameplay, lives up to it's name.

10/10 would just stuck in space again

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:07am

Cozy space game, narration is an interesting choice, very fun game! :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:10am

Very hard to steer... but I think with some more training it will be very good to handle. Nice Job. Very good speaker and nice story. Will play this again later... I'm so tired :) Have a good start into judging

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:10am

I couldn't do it. I got close so many times but it's so tricky. Nice graphics though, I like the light rays

Scruffy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:13am

@jcmonkey The ui at the bottom of the screen aims to help indicate how to compensate for the player's rotation.

Thanks to all !

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:21am

Really liked it, good sound/music/fx and voice. Controls are a bit hard and could not get inside the room :\

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:27am

I think the controls were a bit too difficult to use but the atmosphere was very nice.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:42am

I really liked the look of the game from what I saw, but I couldn't get any of the numpad controls to work. The visuals and the the audio were great.

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:44am

Love the idea of this game, absolutely beautiful. But I spent 5 minutes unable to get that door open. Tried restarting. I'd like to come back to it and play it some more later, especially if you ever decide to change the controls.

conradte3 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:46am

Loved it! I know it's supposed to be infuriating but after I figured out how to navigate carefully it was actually very relaxing, and the UI was very helpful. Unfortunately the door wouldn't open no matter how hard I pulled, but it was still fun trying

klams says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:47am

Really Fun but Hard AF ;D !! Love the audio and the narrator voice GJ Team!!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:47am

Cool game, interesting use of the Unity physics, took a couple tries to get use to the controls, lots of fun.

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:50am

I really liked the voiceover, it took me a while to finally figure out the controls, but when I got to the door I couldn't seem to open it. My arm reached out to the handle and made a bunch of dust clouds then didn't do anything. Then I bounced away and didn't bother trying again, as that attempt had taken me 5 minutes.

I wish I could hear the rest of the story.

terop says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:50am

the graphics is very cool. Controls are kinda strange, I had trouble getting it to move. But looks nice.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:54am

Well... It is infuriating! Liked the voice over, could have used a little narration near the door to (t)ease the transition to success!

dude_the_hero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:58am

This is infuriating!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:58am

The door broke and fell into the cube room! But what a wild ride. Definitely hope that situation never happens to me in real life, getting all the furniture back in would be a hassle. Voice over really good. Poor cat.

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:59am

The rotation controls didn't work for me - they didn't seem to affect my facing at all. Additionally, going down (Q) only seemed to work for the initial burst, not holding it.

What I heard of the voiceover was a little funny, and a little poignant. Even tho I couldn't make it back, I hope his cat does.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:02am

I think too many keys make it difficult to control. Need improvement. The graphic is very nice.

limered says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:03am

Man, space is hard! I like hard games but i have too few fingers for this one ;) Voiceover is a very nice touch.

Stormer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:04am

Hard game, didn't succeed to open the door.
Well realized, strong atmosphere.

Mack101dog says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:04am

Amazing game and use of theme. Good job!

hermetic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:09am

Needs more of "something" to make it less frustrating. Maybe a little more forgiving-ness?... Maybe I just don't like games that require such precision in maneuvering. The voiceover and other audio was fantastic. The graphics were good. I think the theme was pretty much nailed since I just spent 15 minutes floating in space with a single room.

ranner198 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:11am

This game is so infuriating!!!! Good Job!

Birke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:27am

The web build on LD didn't load but it works on itch.

Really liked the mood, but it was way too difficult. It took a while to figure out the controls and it's odd that roll and yaw are mapped so a button press moves you in the direction you press while it's opposite for roll. It's a shame I really wanted to watch some TV ;)

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:18am

The art and sound in this game were really good. I enjoyed the music and the voiceover as well! The controls were a bit hard but floating in space is not an easy task lol.

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:21am

It's a little hard to control, but overall pretty good game with cool graphics and nice atmosphere(no pun intended)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:22am

Really nicely put together, especially in terms of graphics and audio.

... and it is indeed infuriating!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:14am

Very hard to control the ship but great and very interesting though.

d3uced says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:31am

Wow, graphics and voice over are on point. Movement seemed great but my keyboard doesn't have a num pad so i was doomed to a life of bouncing off couches and cats. Great game thnks for sharing.

slimabob says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:47am

Great game! Love the audio, and it reminds me a lot of qwop!

ionprodan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:31am

Good graphics, good music and sounds, but very hard to control!

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:51am

Spent 15 minutes playing it. Been to the door a lot of times with Space pressed, but always ended up kicked out into space.

Saiodin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:01am

Amazing atmosphere, great graphics and audio. I couldn't get the door open, I tried really hard and restarted once. I thought maybe pulling all the blue handles around the room would unlock the door, but didn't seem to be the case. The door would just glitch around a bit at times.

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:14am

Infuriating is right! The graphics and audio are amazing, but I couldn't figure the controls at all.

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:26am

Awesome sound, voice & graphics! Controls make it extremely hard but again, it is space so probably intended. Amazing work guys!

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:30am

Wow, really nice game, got to the door but couldn't open it, though.

depression says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:12am

I couldn't get to open the door either, even pulling it when grappled. The is cool though, too bad I couldn't see the ending.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:16am

Looks amazing but couldn't get the controls working as my keyboard doesn't have a numpad haha. Would love to check out a version with alternate controls (maybe using IJKLUO?)

Mieeh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:43am

Great game, instructions in game was a bit unclear but overall great game.

Scruffy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:31pm

The game is patched, it was impossible to open the door and to complete the game. Sorry for those you tried... But now you can watch your favorite show in space :)

Coauctor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

First expression was very good: great graphic, voice, story... but i can't to play it - control is very uncomfortable. Want to see letsplays!

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Excellent, best game ive seen so far!

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Bravo for the concept of the game! It needs some work on the controls but awesome nonetheless!

banana4life says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Loved the game. The art is stunning. In the first try i just flew into the door in 15 seconds and could not believe that was the whole game, however in the second try it lasted far longer. My only problem with the game is that there is sound of the thrusters in air free space...

Just kidding ;)

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Good graphics, good sound, good gameplay. While short this still feels like a finished game.

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Awesome game! I love the voiceover and the atmosphere. I couldn't reach the door though!

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Great game but damm it's hard !

piller.yann says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Very very beautiful game ! It's very fun but yet I'm sick ;-P

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Well you were right.

It was infuriating! XD

Great game concept
Graphics are cool
Audio was also good, especially the voiceover

I want more... (If only the controls were less sensitive)

Really solid entry!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Great space controls. Love the art and lighting. VO was great. Overall really nice work-- could definitely see this idea being expanded with more levels (adding obstacles, enemies, constraints like limited time, etc).

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Great concept and a good attempt a unique and interesting control scheme. It was a bit frustrating to play but I enjoyed the experience none the less

homeworld says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Incredible mood and art for the alloted time! I just wish i could've explored the room itself

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Got an error:
"404 Not Found https://storage.googleapis.com/itchio/upload2/game/104968/343031"

Did not rate

Devastus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Definitely does it's name justice, and a nice take on the theme. Good graphics, horrid steering physics, everything is there. Very nice!

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Absolutely adore it! The most interesting I've met so far.
I wish there was a standalone build to keep it.
Voiceover is great, humor, music, everything.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:26pm

It is giving me 404 not found error :(

Bellatrion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Phew, took me 5 minutes to make my way into that room, ahah.
Great atmosphere and voice over.
It's hard, but nice !

bplane2 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:48am

Great work. Has an I am bread sort of feel, if you've played it. A high degree of polish was very nice as well. You kept the scope very well maintained for the time limit, and the theme was on point.

I could definitely see this expanding into a larger game if you wanted to pursue it. More difficult rooms, with obstacles could make this extremely interesting, and you could and a point system or a time trial challenege.

Overall great work, and the art, mood, and audio was all fantastic.

Davision says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:48am

Wow, it has all the controls! Very cool!

JarJarlHalla says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:33am

This game is so good, i loved the control.
First time I played I go straight to the room and in 30 seconds I beated the game, I'm still playing the second one, I want to save the cat...
Really cool!

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:46am

Nice surprise, that it was much easier to complete than I first thought. Reminds me of the frustrating docking maneuvers in "Elite" :-)
I was not able to concentrate on the soft voice of the narrator, because I already tried to figure out the controls.
Great atmosphere. Just lovely!

Split82 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Excellent graphics and a little bit weird controls :) Overall this is a nice entry.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Amazing art. Great idea. It was pretty hard to get there! :) 5/5

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:39pm

You should change the link :)

Diplodino says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:43pm

C'est putain d'infaisable, mais j'aime l'idée ! On voit le plaisir de la programmation et je salue le geste. Mais vous auriez dû réduire un peu les variables de contrôle, mais si je suis conscient que ça fait partie du délire du jeu.

Bien joué à vous en tout cas !

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:45pm

This game is crazy. At first i found it very slow but i was not in QWERTY mode. So i just did not get forward at the beginning XD

Very nice use of the different views, the three-angles movements AND the mood. Damn <3 I love it.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:00pm

That's really a good idea and a high quality production for a game jam, but I really suffered during 8 minutes to reach this door ahaha I made it nevertheless! That said, I guess the gameplay perfectly transcribes the precision and frustration of movements in space :) Well done all 4 of you! (music and sounds really add some extra value, very nice ^^)

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:32pm

I like it. A bit frustrating but 5/5!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Fantastic overall and pretty polished, too, really enjoyed it. Good job.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:35pm

5/5 Would like to be infuriated again.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Lovely graphics, challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/8DA9h9mEENM

Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Great game and good use of the theme. Challenging but enjoyable.

quadtree says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:48pm

Excellent graphics. Controls were a little disorienting (might be intentional considering the name, heh).

Ellian says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:03am

GOD DAMN. THIS IS INFURIATING but also absolutely fantastic.
Amazing game. Space is terrifying. Congrats on making such a fun thing! Definitively one of the best games I've played.
Awesome narration as well!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]