Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Farmer

by c2v4 - Compo Entry

Mr Farmer

Controls:
Arrows - move
Z - use item
X - show/hide inventory
P - show/hide shop
W/S - navigate shop
D - buy item
A - sell item
[ ] - navigate inventory

TL;DR:
- direction you are facing is the direction you will use the item
- lamps are essential - the closer plant is the faster it will grow
- be aware that sometimes an officer might visit you
- you can expand and move items with pickaxe
- you can place new growth spots
- you cannot block the entrance to your cellar and block path of chasing you officer

You're a young and ambitious farmer living in a cellar in order to hide your business from people. Plant, harvest and expand your business. Be aware that sometimes uninvited visitors may come to ruin your dream. Don't let them - fight them off. Your goal is to gain 1000 dollars to fulfill your dream of having a pony. For those who read this I have a special gift. I left for you two debugging options feel free to play with them: f7 for money and f8 for instant visitors. GL HF

Source Code: https://github.com/c2v4/LD37Game

PS: From this place I would like to thank people that were with me during this struggle. My Twitch audience which had fun along the way with me playing the game. Special thanks shall be given to few out of many people:
- Sepiko - fellow QA hunting bugs, helping with balance, suggesting ideas, giving motivational speeches ;) and many many more. Being there till the end!
- TheSim00n - guy who is there to help, chat, motivate. Being with me every LD. Unfortunately he couldn't take part in this edition. Let's hope the next one brings him huge success
- Wojtekz1999, Qsnammo, can't remember more because of exhaustion, please accept my apologies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#317Humor2.43
#443Audio1.73
#476Innovation2.65
#477Theme3.15
#499Mood2.50
#552Graphics2.30
#560Overall2.73
#586Fun2.23

Comments

fafastudio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

A zoom/dezoom function would have been so cool in my opinion !
But anyway, i liked it ! :)

Mark Ffrench says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Ooof... the controls are pretty awkward, makes it quite tricky to get in to. The concept's cool, but maybe you need some milestones on the way to that pony.

unit684 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:37pm

I planted the plants but couldn't figure out how to swap to the watering can and if there's a restart button when the game is over? I haven't rated it and will try again later :)

c2v4 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:39pm

@unit684 As described in controls: [ ] to move throuogh inventory. Unfortunately there is no restart, you have to manually do it ;)

kamranwali says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:49pm

I managed to place the plant and grow it but I can't navigate through my inventory. I tried to harvest but the selection is stuck on the seed. So couldn't so much. The game control was smooth and the audio was good too. Keep it up.

callym says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:49pm

This was really fun, it'd be nice to have some visual indicator that time is running and the game isn't just paused, and the controls are a bit fiddly, to switch items use [ and ] keys

xiaolee92 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Cool concept, took me a while to get used to the controls and figure out what to do next.
Anyway, The brackets "[" & "]" is used to switch active inventory. Just thought I'd mention it since it isn't listed in the description.

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Nice graphics, awful controls

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Controls are really tricky but the concept itself is cool and interesting. Good work.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Seems nice, but the controls are too tricky, it's too hard to play to be fun. It's bad, the game has a good amount of content. Good work !

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:15pm

I didn`t like the controls but the game concept is nice. I liked the game over screen although its unfortunate that you cannot restart the game

Hamichi Lim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:19pm

This is fun and I believe it has the potential to satisfy people who crave for farming game

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:23pm

I found that it was really slow to get going in this game. I never even got a pickaxe before I got killed. :( Maybe I'll try again later, though.

Graphics are pretty cool.

Music, of course, would be an improvement.

c2v4 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Sorry about forgetting to write about navigating through the inventory. I wrote that after 16 hours of struggle second day. I should think of writting decription along writting the game, not at the end of the kam itself ;). Fixed description. You can do that of course with [ ]

Nexus64 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:31pm

The gameplay looks like the typical farming game with a more polemic theme over it. Not very innovative, but it has its merits to be made in only a weekend

The problem is the control scheme. It is not only confusing but also but also don't work with all the keyboards (The Spanish keyboard don't have [ ] keys)

automatonvx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:37pm

I like the concept - in case any one is wondering '[' ']' are the controls to change current item - I ended up grepping the source to figure that out. Damn i couldn't make money fast enough to get the gun to take out the cop

tommarx69 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Hi !
Your game doesn't work on my OS X 10.10.
Error : http://pastebin.com/csZ4tHc7

c2v4 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:42pm

@tommarx69 Oh my. This is a problem of LibGDX. I was not able to check it on all systems/hardawares.

c2v4 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:43pm

@Nexus64 Didn't know about that one, nice lesson ;)

hijomo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:52pm

The concept is solid. The controls are clunky.

unit684 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Nice concept and well executed, a bit of tweaking and I could see myself playing quite a bit of this! Hard to fight the enemies though, it seemed they were so quick I couldn't swap to the gun and shoot them in time.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:26pm

After you get familiar with controls, it's more and more fun! good entry! I hope police will not find you ;-)

acotis says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Two things made this game frustrating to me: the window size (too big to fit on my screen, not resizable) and the sheer number of buttons that control the game. I like the concept of walking around growing a farm in various ways, but I couldn't get into it because of that.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]