Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Cancelled Refuge

by SinclairStrange - Jam Entry

Woo! It's done! I'll edit this description later on when I've had some rest.

Gameplay:
The main goal is to score as many "loops" can you can. A "loop" is scored by getting to the end of the room. After each successful loop, the room gets a bit harder :)

Also 'ere is the controls: (You can edit them in the options menu to some new alternatives)

Arrows = Move
A = Jump
S = Shoot
D = Special Shoot
Enter = Pause
(Some characters can dash by pressing down and jump!)

Now for sleep! *zzzzzz*

( I couldn't sleep so I decided to stick this LDjam up on Greenlight. Never know! :D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.47
Coolness67%
#8Audio(Jam)4.51
#14Graphics(Jam)4.73
#15Fun(Jam)4.23
#100Mood(Jam)3.92
#228Theme(Jam)3.91
#254Innovation(Jam)3.47
#366Humor(Jam)2.82

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:14am

Best entry I've played so far! 5 stars in a few categories including Graphics and Audio. The visuals were amazing! And the chiptune music was fantastic! Great team you got there. Keep it up, because your work is awesome! c:

dvdking says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:42am

really cool characters, each with their own mechanics. I enjoyed it a lot.

fshpsmgc says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:43am

It's one of the best i've played on this jam. But, for a score-attack game, it has one unfotunate bug. score wasn't resetting on death.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:52am

Wow - I am crazy impressed. The number of fun mechanics, level design, art - it's amazing! I loved seeing how the level changed each time, and the characters did a great job encouraging me to replay the level - which was even more satisfying the second time as I started to memorize where the enemies and hazards would show up. Loved the foreshadowing of the different mechanics, too.

The only constructive criticism I can find is that I think there's a bug - I don't think the level counter is properly reset, where if finish one level then go into the next one, by the end of it the level counter has re-counted my loops from the first game.

Great job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:56am

Thanks for the messages guys! :D Sorry about the score bug, I stupidly left something from debug and it messed it up. Hopefully it should be all fixed now :)

Look forward to playing your games ^-^

Tauka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:15am

Can'y play it, i have Mac, but it looks amazingly good, it's perfectly made NES style game with stunning graphics. I only saw youtube video, but judging from that, this game is just AWESOME. Attention to details is crazy

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:11pm

10/10. Best game.

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:34pm

How you can manage in 72 hours ? Impossible :)

Anyway, luxury retro graphics and sounds. Good idea, I am now imagine how play on old console with 8bit colors :D

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Awesome arcade game ! simple to play, hard to master :)

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:14pm

It looks and sounds soo good! Would like to play it, but can't (Linux) :(

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Great entry and great future product

Definitely want to see this evolve

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Wow, the amount of content you've packed into the game (and the quality of it) is impressive for 72h (and even for games with way longer development times). I'm envious :D

Easily one of the best entries I've played so far. I love retro-style games, specially when they feel as polished.

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Wow, not gonna lie, this not feels like just a simple game made in 72 hours!!! Keep it up!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:19am

Such style!!

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:01am

totes amazeballs . if i was a more cynic person i would call bullshit on the 3 day. I'm not a more cynic person so ill just congratulate you in this feat of a game (bites lip). keep at it sir.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:11am

So hard but so well made, great job! The art, sound and controls are quite remarkable :D

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:21am

Very awesome. I liked the old school vibe and difficulty. Reminded me a lot of Mega Man.

Jerodak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:53am

Very nice, I enjoyed it and even recommended it to a friend.

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:29am

Holy smokes, you are productive. Impressive game for that amount of time. The alternate controls are appreciated.

Split82 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Excellent platformer. Great visuals and audio.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Really impressive. Neat aesthetic and cool gameplay. One of my favorites. Well done ++

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:03am

I hate this game... seriously. Just when I finally thought I made myself a decent jam game, I see this s*** that totally blows anything I've ever done ever out of the water. I think this is one of the most completed, well put together games I've ever seen in a ludum dare. multiple characters, levels, and a freakin sound test... i mean common... over achieve much??

t4u says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:00pm

I didn't make it past first character but I really liked that level did got more difficult with each respawn and it was more than just more enemies. Good graphic but irrigating sound.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Ok, you have my 5 stars, for now this is the best Jam entry I have been playing to ! This is outstanding, you sure found how to use the theme in a clever way and this is so well executed. I love it !!!

With a special mention to the electric guy, loved his gameplay !

radmars says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:42am

Wow! Clever use of the theme and the execution is excellent - the graphics and music are fantastic. Super fun to play too, the gamefeel is really good. I guess my only complain is that the electric guy is maybe a little overpowered :P Awesome work!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:10am

This is an absolutely stellar entry into the jam, great job! The audio and graphics were absolutely amazing, far beyond what could be expected for a 72 hr jam. The gameplay was pretty simple run n gun platforming, but with a nice twist which used the theme in a really cool way. I do have a couple of minor suggestions I have with regards to improvement:
- The color palette seems to hide the enemies and platforms in the first level specifically. In the second two, you did an amazing job of separating the background, foreground and enemies through the use of colour, but in the first level, there are a few places where it's unclear which parts are platforms and the enemies don't stand out as much and can surprise you.
- I might be wrong, but it seems like you limit the fire rate by allowing the player two bullets at a time. This can seem pretty weird when controlling the player as it can be inconsistent. Also, having a reload animation to show when the player can shoot could add some readability and feedback to help this.
Again, these are minor things that don't really take away from how great this is. Great job!

harusame says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:11am

Oh, you are a real monster to do this in a jam !
Love arts, gameplay, sounds, musics... Everythings !

The best Jam entry I think ^^

automatonvx says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:54pm

great game, for the future would have liked a windowed version on windows, so i could play at lower res. Also couldn't see gamepad support.

stadoblech says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:07pm

very good concept!! Really love it!

davisan says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Great game!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Very nicely polished game! Congrats :D

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Beautiful gorgeous retro fun!

psilon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:16pm

This is very good game, with more levels it could be sold.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Incredible game! Very polished, very fun and reminded me of the 8 bits classics but in an innovative way. Congratulations to the team

qristofer says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:37pm

This is incredible.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:05pm

It's just sooo polished on every aspects! And the concept to reboot the same room with a harder difficulty each time we clear it fits the theme perfectly!
Really great job :D

Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:56am

Amazing game! Loved how the map evolved each round.

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:58am

Well, this is just cool! Brilliant submission! Well done

seano says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Lots of fun, can't believe how much is packed into 48 hrs of work. Great balance throughout, colours, gameplay and sound

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Amazing game as usual! I'm once again impressed by how complete your game is. Time and time again, you do an incredible job at doing a complete experience! Even though it seems like you put it up on Steam Greenlight on the heat of the moment, I completely agree that this game is worth it (even more since you are still developing it)!

Seriously, amazing job! I really liked the game, its aesthetics... basically, everything! =D

I was able to reach level 5 on every stage, but hasn't been able to progress much further from there...

SleepyStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:11pm

It's incredible how much content and polish there is to this!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Best game I've played yet, but I have a few comments. The pink lady seems pretty bad to me, I didn't see why anyone would pick her with the others available. I also thought resetting health after a loop would make it more fun, as I was always disappointed I died early and didn't get to go as far as I'd liked. The high-score nature of the game seems to rule out checkpoints, but maybe give the ability to start after a certain number of loops.

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Very fun entry,and good concept

Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:20pm

As always, an excellent game, that feels like it could be a full product, not just a 72 hour game! Your interpretation of the theme was really creative too! The characters definitely feel like there power levels differ a lot, but perhaps this is a good thing, for allowing players to tweak the difficulty a little. Perhaps adding separate high scores for each character could help, though?

Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Yo, just to clarify, I was just messin' with you. I think you and your game are great, and will be keeping an eye out on future jams for your work!

antishow says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Ridiculously good. I don't think I could make this *without* a time limit!

handoharken says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Amazingly polished game. Movement felt great and loved the art style, would love to play a complete game!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:52pm

SO much content, and it's all so good! Amazing!!

Ace17 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:53pm

The retro-style graphics are impressive (especially the choice of colors), the commands very responsive, the scrolling is smooth, and the characters are really fun to control! Not to mention the music tracks and the sound effects, NES-style games don't get any better than that!

skorpyo says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Awesome entry. A love 8-bit games and this one keeps the level. It's like i'm playing sega back in 90's. Your games are really impressive. Keep up the good work.

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:47am

So much fun to play! And the looping was a great way to keep to the theme. This is one of my favorites so far, congratulations! Very polished presentation with interesting gameplay, what more can you ask for?

tylerraz says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:40am

My favorite character was Cabbage. Good use of the theme while still providing a good amount of replayability/content.

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:13am

Loved the game. Feel really polished and is very fun to play. Keep it up.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:24am

Cool retro feel, I feel like it would have longer replayability rate if the levels and characters were unlockable. Gives the player more intrinsic goals.
Good job on the game!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:35am

This game is incredible! I especially liked the factory level. I voted for it on Greenlight.

jlcarruda says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Best entry I've played. It has the right mood, it fits the theme, it has its replayability.

Nice entry! Congratulations!

axoona says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:53pm

wow, there's a lot of content here!
graphics and audio are really great

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:06am

Very Megamany.

Magma OP.

Cool game dewd.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:38am

Impressive amount of work! Everything is perfect, the graphics, the sounds, the controls. The retro vibe is spot on! Really well done!

raaaahman says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Very entertaining game. The music is brilliant!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 11:21am

With graphics and audio it is perfect. The idea is solid, maybe could've stood for some more balance/play testing but overall super impressive.

elmoGames says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:00pm

Solid entry with much charme being in the music and sprites but there is pretty much in this game, wow

SeaDads says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 11:31am

Awesome entry, well done guys! Solid concept and executed really well. :)

Jan 10, 2017 @ 6:31pm

Very polished, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xG2aiO_VsBw

RayanKeddache says ...
Jan 12, 2017 @ 2:07pm

Awesome game ! I say YES ! I got my favourite one !

Jan 16, 2017 @ 5:14pm

Psssst! You have been featured in Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvwNUtB16k8

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]