Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Santaur's Workshop

by tweedle - Jam Entry

Help Santaur defend his workshop!
Can you survive 5 days of attacks in our action-packed Tower Defense/ Strategy jam!

*This is our 7th jam, 2nd with Unity & 1st with a 4 man team Fri - Sunday!*

Spirit/ Money rolls over from day to day but your board clears each day.

Controls:

MOUSE 1 = select and place on board (Keypad 1-5 = Defense Shortcuts)

Shift + Click = Destroy placed tower

Menu = Pause

TIPS:

Build quick, get elfs out as soon as possible but don't forget about the trees!

Use the key shortcuts for quicker placement!

CREDITS:
Tweedle - Art
Rockinwatson - Dev
Ropedog - Audio & Dev
Halfskye - Dev


KNOWN JAM BUILD BUGS:

- Ho-ho-oh yeah there are a few of 'em

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#87Humor(Jam)3.73
#310Audio(Jam)3.28
#443Fun(Jam)3.15
#479Graphics(Jam)3.42
#498Mood(Jam)3.19
#549Overall(Jam)3.19
#687Theme(Jam)3.08

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:11am

Cool game but it is too hard from the beginning. Nice concept overall

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:22am

Fun game, I liked the quirky art and animation. It's pretty challenging but still enjoyable. Nice work!

xclementx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:18pm

It's Reminding me the plant vs zombies game ! I like it. Well done for a first LD entry.

cushycode says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:37pm

I'm not sure that the game fits to the "One room" theme of this jam. But overall it's quite good submission with very energetic music and cool art styles.
Good job!

tweedle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:15pm

@cookie - yeah it is a bit difficult haha, but thanks!

@lando - you da real MVP

@clementXXX - it's our 7th actually ? but who's counting

@cushy - ya more like one workshop

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:21am

Those snowmen got their carrots in the wrong place... Wait what ?! XD

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:51am

Had fun with it! Was an awesome game and fun to play. Got to level 3 then died... snowmen.. damn them! lol

Galan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:53am

Good setup for the humor, but it needed more Santaur in the actual game.

Protrance says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:11am

Nice tower defense game. Very well done and a great concept.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Haha, really funny game with really fun and well done graphics. I especially like the snowman and the polar bear (reminds me of Brian from Family Guy for some reason).

It takes a few goes until you get the hang of how the game works. But once you do, all five levels are super easy, you just build three rows of sniper elves and nothing can touch you.

I found it frustrating that when I was in building mode and I clicked a floating star it would build what I was building under the star.

Overall great job on humor and audio ("There is no time like Christmas time" ...I had to laugh :P)

Interface says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:01am

Good entry across the board. One day I'll get past the bears! lol

andrewjoy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:10am

Really cool game, loved it. Well done!

Interface says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:12am

Ok, I finally beat it!!
And omg, where did you get all the Santaur jokes? I recognize some as Chuck Norris ones :)

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:41pm

This game is hilarious. Loved the graphics and audio. Sometimes clicking the stars will put down defences where I wouldn't want them. Also I had no idea how much anything cost, so it was kind of hard to manage my resources.

DOXM says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:59pm

The soundtrack is awesome, marry Christmas!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Yeah, pretty hard.
But you get an extra point for knowing Chuck Norris Jokes ;)

Jan 14, 2017 @ 1:45pm

Well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/-i4m-nVpQ4M

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]