Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Bob's Burgers

by Zettelkasten - Compo Entry

Welcome to Bob's Burgers, the best diner in town!

Roast delicious burgers, serve self-made fries from fresh potatoes and offer drinks. But don't let your customers wait to long: They won't be happy!

The game requires Java 8 to work properly. Please contact me if you have issues running the game and I'll get to you!

==========================================================
CONTROLS

Use your mouse. Click on the calendar showing your daily goal and then on the clock in the lower left hand corner to start the game.
CUSTOMERS will appear on the right. Click on the question mark to take their order. Serve it on the plate right next to them.

To make FRIES: Click on the sack of potatoes, then slice them on the cutting board. It takes THREE potatoes per portion of fries. Put the cut fries in the fryolator, but don't fry them too long. When they are done, but them in the cardboard box and serve them. To store them put them on an empty space in the kitchen.

To make BURGERS: Take a slice of bread an lay it on a free table. Then add the ingredients your customers want. Click on a burger in the speech bubble of a customer to see its ingredients.
- MEAT and BACON are in the fridge and have to be cooked. Do not burn them.
- SAUCES stand on the counter.
- CHEESE is in the fridge.
- TOMATOES have to be cut using the cutting board. One tomato is cut into three slices, which have to be laid on the table until you use them.
When all the ingredients of a burger are added, finish it up with another slice of bread and serve them.

DRINKS are also in the fridge.

The shorter your customers will have to wait, the happier they will be and the more money you will receive.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#229Theme3.76
#257Fun3.28
#259Humor2.65
#294Graphics3.21
#431Mood2.78
#433Audio2.07
#438Overall3.04
#513Innovation2.52

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Hey! :)

I just played your cute little game and really enjoyed it. I do like your design it is very fancy in my opinion. Personally I think the design and gameplay gives this game his own touch and makes it a little bit more different compared to those normal food making/serving games.
I don't know how long the game is because I was too depressed to play it any longer. I seem to suck really hard in this game hence I just got to wednesday. But I think it is really nice to say it is not too easy because I think most games made in this short time can be to easy to play.
It would be really nice if you could add a little bit background music to the game later on your own. In my opinion this would make the whole game more likeable to play.
I also would have loved to upgrade things in the diner or to unlock some ingredients throughout the game. Then to player could do something with his hard earned money.

To sum up my ideas I would say "Bob's Burgers" is a really great game and I just can recommend playing it.

I hope you keep on programming because I think you are a really talented programmer and designer since I know from my own experience how hard it is to make such a game in a so short amount of time.

Can't wait for the next game!

nilead says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Not bad, although it would be nice in the windows version was a direct executable.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Looks cool, but sadly my graphics card doesn't seem to support your shader. :(

GuiGs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Sounds cool, but I could not play.

Kingblork says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Well done, that was fun

GoofStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Game did not download right

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Sorry you are having trouble getting the game to run. I repackaged it and things should be better now. Please give it a try!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Very nice! I don't usually enjoy the genre, but this one had a very nice mood to it and I had good fun playing it. The difficulty ramps up a bit too fast for my taste, though; I would've preferred a slower pace.

manax says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Nicely done. Plays well. Difficulty ramps up pretty quick. And sometimes when playing (e.g. Tuesday) I took care of all orders quickly, but still didn't make enough to pass. Seems like there weren't enough complicated/expensive orders.

A little odd, you must do the burgers in the right order (i.e. bacon + cheese, NOT cheese + bacon).


Crashes to desktop when clicking bacon, when already have bacon in hand.

Alistesios says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Hey, game keeps crashing (Win10).
Got a Null pointer exception searching for the class "Fridge" or something.

I didnt rate for now, but I'm looking forward to because the game seems cool ! Please let me know if you fixed the problem :)

ajmalr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:34pm

No relation to the tv show right?

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:45pm

No - there is no connection to the TV show. I just though the name sounded cool ;)

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Really incredible that you made this so fast. I'm really amazed by all these people who run for compo. Great game, thanks for posting

Bensonance says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:37am

Really pretty and cute idea!

It was realllllly hard to tell what I could interact with - I was just clicking all over the place.

Some highlighting would have gone a long way.

Some basic sounds would have been cool too of course :).

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Game won't launch :(!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:11pm

I like your style man, good job!

Palys Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Cool game. At first I didn't cook neither hamburgers nor backons, my mistake. But later, when I learned it, the game was pretty fun.

One thing: when I lost a level, where queue was huge, and replayed a day, customers stayed in place, it should be like that? It makes it almost impossible to beat then.

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Interesting game, took a while to figure out how to play but works well when I got used to it.

Alistesios says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Hey, so because you fixed the error I played your game Bob's Burgers. It's enjoyable! Might need some audio though ... Overall it's a funny little game that I wont play all my life, but it was worth spending 10 minutes for :)

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:11am

Really nice and funny idea with lovely execution. Took me a while to really understand the game but once I got it I really enjoyed it.

Sorak86 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:17am

Hey!

Very nice graphics, audio and mood, good entry! :)

(btw, I uploaded the plot summary and the keywords for my game, since you asked to know the ending! Feel free to pass by if you want to see how it ends)

Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:47pm

The controls were incredibly difficult to figure out. That was a big turnoff.

However, once I did figure them out, the game was pretty fun. Difficulty ramped up really quickly, which was a shame.

The graphics are awesome. It could use some audio, though.

NoobDude29 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:31pm

The game could use a better explanation , took me a while to figure things out, also it could use some sound fx, but overall i think its good

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:40pm

I am sorry you guys are having trouble figuring out the game.
I have added additional instructions on this page. Enjoy!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Very charming art style and overall it's a well made management game :)

Jan 20, 2017 @ 7:32pm

Lovely start! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/1nLjn2-nhmQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]