Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

R E P E A T

by Ulydev - Jam Entry

--- SPOILERS - READ THIS IF YOU'RE STUCK ---
http://hastebin.com/ayuhicafod.vbs



A tiny puzzle game set in an apartment. You faint for no apparent reason.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Left Click - Interact

This Ludum Dare was a great opportunity to experiment with Unity3D for the first time.
I decided to try a totally different genre than what I usually do (arcade-ish games).

Art by Caribou (Baptiste de Laubier)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#74Mood(Jam)4.00
#145Theme(Jam)4.06
#189Audio(Jam)3.57
#381Overall(Jam)3.42
#414Graphics(Jam)3.55
#586Innovation(Jam)2.87
#673Fun(Jam)2.77

Comments

griseouslight says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Download link 404'd

BlueLlama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Yup 404 for me as well

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:31am

Yep, same. 404.

KJB of IBwWG says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:38pm

404 still...

Ayxs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:28pm

download does not work sadly

Ulydev says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:08pm

My bad, I messed up when copy/pasting the link. I've been busy all week so I didn't see all of your messages :(
I fixed the link and added some new builds as well (OS/X, WebGL).
Thanks!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:29pm

I don't really understand what the goal is??
But it's very creepy! I don't know if that was the intent. :3

Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Cool ambience. Unfortunately I couldn't figure out what to do, and couldn't see very well with the limited lighting. I eventually clipped out of the room and fell for eternity.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Awesome mood, awesome art !
Can't get past the word puzzle thought. Tried to open/Close stuff in the sentence order but ran ot of idea after.

Great game. Congratulation !

swellbastion says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:19pm

This is really fun and intriguing. I only managed to get to day 2 so far

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:19pm

I would recommend adding a web link in addition to the embedded player. Regarding the game, the mood is fantastic. It reminds me of a dream I sometimes have where I'm constantly trying to wake up but I keep ending up in my bed. However, I found it unclear what to do after the second repetition.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Really cool and stressful game. However, I'm stuck after the door knocking, but I'm not sure if it's the end. I would like to see this game going further, it would be really interesting. Well done !

kleinzach says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:37pm

I like the mood and graphics quite a lot. Even with you spoilers, i couldn't continue after getting the flashlight, so that was a little frustrating. The whole puzzle element is really lacking any sort of guiding force, so I basically just have to imagine what you were thinking, which isn't great. Loved the voxel art with heavy shadows, that was a good look.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Thanks for the feedback! If you find yourself stuck and don't know what to do, please check the instructions to advance further in the game.

JoeYoshi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Great game! Atmosphere is great! I was pretty spooked. Some problems though: The Windows download link is broken, so I had to use the web link. The Game is WAY TOO dark and with the web link, the background is white. That makes it really hard on your eyes with a dark game.

columhiggins says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:07am

Great atmosphere. Nice ending.

W.GASABF says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:53pm

great ambiance. I couldn't figure out what to do, and its too dark to see something in my screen :( But cool graphics!!

breno says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:37pm

I really liked the darkness of this one. You did a great job with the lighting and sound effects. It feels like these neverending nightmares where you don't know what you are doing, as if something was deceiving you, controlling you...
The difficulty of the puzzles is perfect and the game duration is good as well. This game instigates me to know its backstory.
However there is a collision problem with the floor. My hammer left the room once.
You have four 5 stars from me. :)

kabel says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:05am

Hm...I see, so the player is disorder, and is forced to continue to create disorder in order to proceed to the next room.
Technicalities: It was way too dark and sometimes the mouseclicks don't really register.
Puzzles are good, the story is something I might not understand perfectly. Is it just a never-ending nightmare or is there more to it than that?

Quetzakol says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Amazing mood, I really liked it ! I reached a black screen, I guess that was the end of the game ? Some details could have been improved, like others said it is too dark, and it took me a while to realize what was the light on the ground.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Not sure what to do... walked around a bit and clicked on things but I did not seem to progress. The game looks pretty cool though (a wee bit dark), but it looks like it has potential.

V0odo0 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Dat knocking sound freaked me out. I was trying to understand where is come from for one minute.

And yes, I think the game should be a little bit brighter. Looks nice anyway.

BlueLlama says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Nice ending by the way, when the door opened... I'll say no more.

Very atmospheric, plays into the theme nicely. Glad to see you got the 404 fixed, it was worth the wait.

Jan 20, 2017 @ 7:33pm

Very nice atmosphere! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/1nLjn2-nhmQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]