Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

4/4 Room

by Remicy - Compo Entry

4/4 Room is a rogue-like game.


===12/18 UPDATE===
Post-Compo Release!
- Player & enemies display their level now.
- New gameplay: Enemies no longer move now, and they will drop keys. (probalility base on enemy's type)
- Chests now need a key to open it.
- Better game balance!
- Add music toggle button.
- Now you can press R to restart game anytime.



Controls
-------------
[W][A][S][D]
[Left-Click]


How to Play
-----------
[clean the map -> replace the map -> clean the map -> ...]

1. Choose a card right side, and choose a zone to place the card on.

2. Info on cards shows number of enemies and chests.

3. If you get stuck by walls, click the hammer in the inventory, and just move toward a wall to destroy it.
This action consumes the hammer so use it wisely.

4. Weapons and armors take effect when in the inventory,
but slots are limited in 6, so consider throwing away less good items.

5. Whenever you place a new card, the game difficulty increase a little bit,
and scoring factor and item quality would increase as well.



Dev Tools
-----------
[Flash][AS3][Photoshop][jxfr][Bosca Ceoil]
Last time LD I said that "I swear this is the last time I use Flash."
I'm gonna say that yet again :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Fun4.04
#28Overall4.05
#57Innovation3.93
#87Theme4.14
#109Mood3.62
#137Graphics3.69
#149Audio3.32
#277Humor2.58

Comments

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:50am

Great gameplay!!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:11pm

The card system is REALLY clever! I love the idea of changing the dungeon layout as a core gameplay mechanic. My only complaint is that it's a little unclear how enemies scale with the difficulty. I can see my own stats, but I can't see enemies' stats.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:11pm

This is great! Very original concept, and it is very well executed. The only bad thing was that the enemies keep walking away from you sometimes. Well done!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Great little rogue-like! I like the clean crisp graphics, nice adventuring tune too.

Risse says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:15pm

My favorite thus far, great job!

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Love it! Only stopped because I want to rate more games, would continue playing otherwise. Catchy soundtrack as well.

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Amazing game!

resty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:21pm

This is a solid entry. gameplay is interesting and fun.
And the art and the audio, I like everything in your game.

Though I understand that i should ask more for a game made in 2 days like this, but it would be better if i can see the enemy's strats in the game.

drakekin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Nice gameplay, although it's easy to get stuck where you have no hammers and can't get to a new chest.

ISG says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Nice one! I like the style and "difficult" buttons ;)

Sparked99 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Really solid entry.

impbox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:24am

Love the use of the map cards, and the limited inventory.
Not a fan of the semi-pixel art look with different grid sizes, but would look nice as a pure pixel art game.
As others pointed out it'd be good to see the enemy stats.

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:24am

Great game, didnt understand why i died, had 25 def and 8 health and bumbed in to a cat... Haha such is life

guoboism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:25am

Theme taken as limited space square room, but the content inside are refreshed randomly yet with certain control. On top that, this is a roquelike rpg.

Super cool!

kidando says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:27am

Very neat concept. Lovely graphics. It's like solving a puzzle while dungeon crawling... IN 2D!!! Congrats on submitting your entry.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29am

A cool concept!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:58am

Music worked really well. The changing dungeon mechanic was very cool. I did not use my hammers wisely and got stuck.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:33am

Pretty cool once I got to grips with it, great styling and audio.

Protrance says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:02am

Really cool and unique game. I love the idea and how it plays.

madlee says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:09am

Really good job, I thought this was a nice polished little roguelike with a neat twist to incorporate the theme. Good all around!

Zawdit says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:10am

Awesome little concept you came up with, best game Im played yet!

Ednei says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:11am

Great game!!!!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:16am

Super cool game! At first I didn't realise about the cards and was playing normally (and enjoying it, I really like rogue likes), and then it became even better. Great idea!

The music track was catchy, although it eventually became a bit repetitive (but that's normal in jam games because of the time limit, so I'm okay with that).

Once of my favourite compo entries so far, congrats!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:39am

That was a pretty incredible game I just played! Got to level 5 and a score of 468. Gameplay was top notch, loved the card mechanic. The pixel art was really nice and the music was a pleasure to listen too. Well done!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:18am

Really great mechanics. Original idea. Simply put: It's fun! Solid work.

Pixtopher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:24am

Really good entry, i found myself hungry for another mechanic of sorts. Some sort of end goal or reason, other wise just changing the tiles felt kind of pointless. Most of the time i was doing it simply because i couldnt pass. That aside this is still one of the best entries i have played!

raconteurnick says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:27am

Fantastic! One of the best I've played so far. Addictive gameplay and really solid execution - I'd definitely play an expanded version of this. Excellent work!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:31am

Really got sucked into this one. Fun gameplay that extends far beyond what one might think at first glance. It would be nice to know how how difficult some of the enemies are, but that's a pretty minor gripe.

Nice job!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:47am

Wow, this was so great. Like somebody else said, I only eventually stopped playing because I want to keep rating other games. This is super fun and well polished.

Archimagus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:48am

This was awesome. Some really interesting mechanics here. A lot like Desktop Dungeons which I really enjoyed. It would have been nice to have some idea of how powerful I would be vs the enemies though. Still, one of my favorite entries yet.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:51am

Pretty clever little game. That mechanic is gold.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:52am

Fun game. I love the card-based room changing ability. I didn't realize they were there at first, so I ended up clearing the whole place before I swapped any, but I think it worked out. The only thing I rated low was audio, simply because the music loop was a little repetitive.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:25am

Good Game I like the rogue like games

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:36am

It's a pretty simple game with a neat concept. I love the idea of rebuilding the map, and it makes pretty good use of the theme through this mechanic. The difficulty might be a little high, or I have no idea how to play these kinds of games cause it seemed like I would get pretty much one shot at most points in the game.

SpaceRelated says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:29am

The concept of switching out room pieces was very fun and cool.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:27am

5 star for innovation, no contest. It's like Desktop Dungeons but allows ability to keep going in the room. Can see a lot of potential for a future iteration.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:52am

Huh neat idea, its like you are laying out your own dnd scenario or something, yet youre still not if full control really interesting + fun

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:24am

The map tile mechanic is really nice!
The game is a litte bit pointless, but it has a lot of potentiality.
Audio and graphic are great! Well done

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Very interesting game, would like some more feedback on enemies attack and such, but very good job.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:07pm

GREAT! two thumbs up! would be awesome if multiplayer haa..

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:31pm

I love the concept! Pretty hard game but it's still fun. Great entry!

Notester says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Cool game, I really like the card system! :D

dominisz says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:18am

I like the idea of the game. Music, sfx and gfx are ok.

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:08am

oh! Nice! Great pixel art! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:39am

I find it quite engaging. Good job.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:50am

Great rogue like game.

arzi says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:36pm

You've perfectly condensed the essence of roguelikes!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Really well done. Great gameplay and fun retro aesthetic. I had fun playing it ++

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Good concept
It could've been better if the newly placed room had at least one access point, for I failed quickly because I could not go to new room, and was forced to replace it

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Super cool. I swung like a god. )) All monsters have been destroyed. )

imphenzia says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:45pm

A lot of coding went into this game I see and understandably so. I found that the graphics and music fit the game very well. I was a bit confused at first but it didn't take long to get in to it. When I filled up my inventory I wasn't quite sure what to do, the difficulty may not have ramped up fast enough? Cool concept to update a quadrant as well.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Quite ambitious for a compo entry. Evreything seems well design and it sounds like the perfect minimalistic roguelike do awesome theme execution. This was fun to play.

Turrus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Fab game with great ideas!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:46pm

That's great! On my second game I got to a score of 2535. I really like building the dungeon with the cards. Inventory limit of 6 also felt pretty good. Nice all around!

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Really enjoyed this! Great take on the theme!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Awesome! So far the best game I´ve played in this LD.

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Pretty cool game. It's a roguelike with an interesting twist. The gameplay is pretty unbalanced and it seems like enemies never attack you, but definitely not bad for two days. Good job!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Very original concept, loved it ! My best score was 288. Just need a bit more balance (being trapped with no more wallbreaker, forcing me to change the rooms several times, or gales with few potions). But it's a good entry !!!

seano says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Nice and fun, good idea that fits the theme. The movement could be smoother. The graphics could have more variety but overall very good.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Fun Game! I liked the choice of how to change the room. My only real complaint was it felt like too much of the level would spawn behind walls. Once I used my first two wall breakers I never saw another, but was usually trapped.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:21am

Most fun compo game I've played so far. I tried both the compo and post-compo versions and both were great. One thing I felt was missing was knowing how much damage an enemy was going to do to me / I was going to do to an enemy. Also, I feel like there's no point in trying to get attack since with enough defense you can just keep hitting them with no penalty. Just some thoughts. Really nice job on this entry!

Angelbait says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:38am

Fun roguelike! Love the room building so darn much.

Sorak86 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:39am

As a rogue-like lover, I gotta say...
...awesome!!
Very nice gameplay and concept, although it is really really hard to balance it right in just 2-3 days. Still, u got it pretty well done, gj!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:14am

Nice entry. This concept has more potent.

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Nice game! I really liked it. :)
The graphics are cute and it has a pretty cohesive aesthetic.

The post-compo seems a lot more balanced and fun! Well done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Great idea, and very well executed. It was a very fun game.

Holofire says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Good fun, though I struggled to find health potions! The limited inventory space is nice, but might be good to have separate slots for the consumables.
Does the game scale infinitely?

-Comment on behalf of MrDinosaur. (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/mrdinosaur/)

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:43am

Now this is the most impressive entry I have seen! As soon as I realised how the game mechanics works, I got quite addicted to it, also the simple music goes well with the pixel art graphics and the continuous level upgrading makes it quite a complete game. The changing of room parts is new and really creative, I could not find any flaw in this one, its 5/5 in every cathegory for me. Great work!

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:01am

This is really good roguelike game with clever game design. Spent a lot of time playing

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:20am

One of the most playable games this LD.

The only thing missing is the cue as to how "difficulty" affects gameplay. I got +3, +9, +5 and then all of a sudden, +53. But I guess you fixed it in the post compo version.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:17am

Really polished, smart gameplay, overall awesome fun :D I like the concept so much, keep developing this for sure.

darkdaragon77 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:27am

This is one of the best games, I played so far. The Gameplay is very unique and uses the theme in a very creative way. It is very simple, but very deep as well. You can easily play it, but its hard to master. The sound and graphics fit well to the Gameplay and create a adventurous Atmosphere.
I had a lot of fun, really impressive Game!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:50pm

I like it, nice concept, it's amazing :)

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Good work. The post compo update has a more strategy minded gameplay. The map card mechanic feels innovative and I would like to see it more rogue-like games.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Wow, blown away by this! Would love to see this developed further. Good use of theme, well polished and clean, cute pixel art. Only gripe is the music get's repetitive; fast :P

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:51am

nice game, had fun.

xesenix says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Really solid game i am glad you are polishing it after ludumdare great work nothing.

Palarus says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:18am

Quiet interesting! Love the card mechanic. Also good work on the procedural stuff. Keep going!

TurboCorp says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:33am

This is a really clever game, balance is quite off (compo-version) but it's overall a pretty great game. Good job!

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:58pm

A very cute minimalist game. Clever but simple mechanics.

I like the art, normally I'd complain about different scaling in pixel art, but the outline for the sprites here worked well--the exception to the rule.

The sound effects are a little too shrill and could do with some equalizing to remove harsher frequencies.

I didn't get super far, but I would've liked some kind of progression with the monsters as well. I played the post compo version and noticed you added level indicators to the monsters. I would've liked to have seen them replaced with nastier things.

Good job!

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 5:27pm

amazing entry
played till difficulty 9 (16atk sword hell yeah!)
the map cards were not so clear at first but after figuring out how to use them.. I must say, this game is one of the most clever games I've played this LD
and it's compo... fawk..
congrats!!

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:47pm

This was really fun and I loved the music. I hope you keep working on the game!

PS: In the Post-compo version, I can't seem to be able to open chests... :-(

Zambini says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 5:38am

Fun game!

Zambini says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 5:38am

Fun game! The card mechanic is pretty cool

Vertigon says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:38pm

That was great! I wish I had more feedback on when I was taking damage, I just finally died from nearly a one-shot. However, the room cards and just staying in one area, using strategy to gain access to new chests and to remove pesky enemies was all fantastic. I'd love a more polished version of this game.

erik says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:16am

Cool game! I think the original works a lot better than the post-compo version. Needing keys to open chests makes it really easy to stall out and stop making progress.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:41am

Awesome game, loved the dungeon changing mechanic. cool rogue-like

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:08pm

This is very interesting concept and you really can play this forever. Very good and nice!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Pretty solid take on a roguelike game plus I absolutely loved the map card mechanic.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Good game. I got stuck though.

muzuka says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:06am

Impressive game! I love the level building feature.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:32am

Amazing game for a compo entry! It feels so polished I would say it can easily hold it's own against many other finished rogue-like games on the market which totally blows my mind! 5/5 on all categories and i'll definitely follow your entries in the future!

Tbeakl says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Very Good game!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Really smart and innovative game, there is a bit of an audio click but otherwise it's pretty well designed. Good work.

Kroute says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Such a cool game ! And it's addictive : I almost played one hour without noticing it. Good job !

g12345 says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 12:33am

Oh wow, this is a nice idea for a roguelike!

Love it!

I died often but that was because I was unlucky.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Great art style and catchy music. Really cool that you used Bosca Ceoil. I am a big fan of it! I thought the card system was interesting, but it felt that luck (finding keys and potions) was not on my side. Nice job overall!

ferranduran says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:07am

Great entry and game! but I opened all the chests and killed all the monsters and nothing happened

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:15am

Fun game. Liked the card mechanic with changing the dungeon room, thought that was clever. The simple art form also worked nicely with the character designs and dungeon. Also liked that you got to use skills to keep progressing.

Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:21am

Cool level section swapping mechanic! Liked the simple art and clean UI.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]