Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Fancy Goldfish

by A-Flat Miner Studios - Jam Entry

The Fancy Goldfish.

Known as much for its stalwart vigilance as its regal appearance, much of the majestic creature’s true motivations are shrouded in mystery. Does it grant wisdom to those who ponder the depths in its bulging eyeballs? Are the subtle swishes of its tail in fact an elaborate dance to signal visitors from beyond the stars? Will the Fancy Goldfish be one day synonymous with enlightenment, wonder, and glory?
No.
Still, we must strive to understand the Fancy Goldfish if we are truly to understand ourselves. Yes, the Fancy Goldfish is forever in search of the delicious flakes, but why? For the first time ever, step inside the mind of the Fancy Goldfish and learn firsthand what drives it. Flakes. Pellets. And that’s probably it.
BUT BE YE WARNED!!!!
Many dangers lie in the tank for the unwary Fancy Goldfish. Too many flakes. Not enough flakes. Rival sea beasts, jellybean toes, forgetting what lies in that funky skull. Avoid hazards as you fight for survival, and do not fear. Should you be overwhelmed by dangers, you’ll probably forget about them in a few seconds…


As a side note, we recommend you use mouse controls if you can. They feel much better to us than the keyboard controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Graphics(Jam)4.76
#96Humor(Jam)3.69
#165Theme(Jam)4.03
#248Mood(Jam)3.61
#297Audio(Jam)3.31
#316Innovation(Jam)3.34
#364Overall(Jam)3.45
#445Fun(Jam)3.14
#1224Coolness35%

Comments

kleinzach says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:59am

Its surprisingly hard to be a fish. Gorgeous game! Controls felt a little wonky, but that was trumped by the look and feel of it.

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:06am

Awesome graphics together with good sound and okay gameplay. My only complaint is the controls. Overall its awesome.

CFallonArt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11am

I wish the controls were smoother, and the little fish didn't just sit at the flake spawn the entire time!

but this is a beautiful game, I love the art.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:16am

Beautiful fish.
life is hard for me in this tank
I pooed and then died.


Poetry inspiring, was simple and a lot of fun!
I agree with KleinZach though, the controls were a bit weird, it was a struggle to move where I wanted to.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:12am

I really wanted to play this but I couldn't run it because my computer wouldn't let me run it. The graphics on it look amazing though

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:20am

Lovely art - I don't think I've seen a handpainted style used in quite this way before. I liked that flakes were both positive and negative.

Took a try or two to figure out the controls - that I needed to be constantly pressing the buttons.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:43am

haha at poop and glutton expression. Really cool to see a gamejam game with a backend.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:05am

Beautiful artwork, I want to hang out in that fish tank all day!

Moritz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Absolutely astounding artwork, not just for a game jam entry. WOW. Love the many way to die, and it's a really detailed aquarium.

Collision is a bit fiddly at times, which sometimes adds and sometimes takes away from the humour. :)

Zemmi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:53am

That cat really was an a-hole. Not really sure what the "Lack of self-control" death was caused by but the sheer variety of deaths was hilarious.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:08am

Finally able to play this game. The art is amazing compared to our fish game(you should totally check it out). However, the control is hard to get used to. Overall great entry!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:18am

This game just looks beautiful, I love the death scenes. That betta fish has no chill, who knew it was so difficult to stay alive in the harsh environment of a fish tank. Great game, lots of fun!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:28am

Amazing graphics. Mouse controls were much better than keyboard. It was hard to predict what was going to kill me.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Beautiful graphics. Fun to play... lots of ways to get flushed! The controls were a bit hard to get used to, but this is a nice game. Congrats!

panurge says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:38pm

I consider myself to be pretty fancy but this fish takes it to a whole nother level! Beautiful visuals and audio. A surprisingly relaxing experience considering I was getting flushed down a s*****r every few seconds.

At a slower pace, I would have something like this sitting in a little permanent window in the corner of my desktop...

Loved it!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:19pm

The art and animations are top notch! It was hard to tell how I died a couple times but other than that I had a lot of fun playing.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Am I the only one that noticed the cat in the back window that moved right before the cat paw swiped the top of the tank? Really nice touch there. Great game.

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Really cool graphics, the controls where not that intuitive. Overall pretty good game!

barkergames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:20am

I love the artwork on this game!
Very Beautiful!
The controls were a bit strange, had a hard time controlling the fish.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:20am

Fun, soothing - and gorgeous graphics!

Ygogo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:44am

Cute graphics and sound

JK5000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:01am

A beautiful game with some really funny humor. Well done.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Impressively gorgeous.

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Nice graphics. Being a fish is hard apparently. Fish simulator 2016 - GotY

Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/8ZKn12Y_qVg

Farelle says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:01am

hahaha I can't count how many times I died of "lack of selfcontrol" :P it's hard to not eat when fleeing from hostile fish lol. Awesome graphics, nice mellow and at the same time humorful music, amazing facial expressions XD

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]