Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room for One

by Miziziziz - Compo Entry

Something woke you early from cryo-sleep.
There's only room for one on this ship.
Vent the airlocks and kill that...thing!

Room for One is a minimalistic horror game inspired by old-school sci-fi horror.

I used Unity, Blender, bfxr, beatlabs, and Inkscape.

Survival tips:
Turn on lights; helps you get around and keep track of the monster.
Lure the monster back to the start area so you'll have time to get to the next light switch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Mood4.00
#81Graphics3.95
#173Innovation3.53
#222Overall3.47
#286Fun3.21
#308Audio2.82
#519Theme2.95
#1133Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:42am

That 2-bit monochrome style reminds me of playing SimAnt on my old, old Mac, many years ago. Absolutely love it.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:05am

Really like the creepy minimalist monochrome graphics. Death seemed to be kind of random, though.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Very nice!

I tried a lot of times, but I'm afraid to say I didn't finish the game. ;_; Might come back to it later, because I did feel like I was getting closer!

I agree with the above poster that "death seemed to be kind of random" at the beginning, but after playing a few times I realised what was going on and was able to avoid the monster during the first two segments (segment being one set of lights to turn on), but after the third one I just couldn't manage to do it without dying.

Turning on the other two lights first, the monster just about caught up with me as I was approaching the first reactor for the third light. Remembering the layout and running straight for the third light's reactor without even turning the other two lights on, the monster still managed to catch up with me as I was on my way back from the reactor.

Even ignoring that reactor and just running straight for section four the monster eventually caught up with me. p:

It's difficult, but in a rather good way! I just need a break before I try again. I hope I'm not being too hasty with my ratings and comment in case there is something fundamental at the end of the game that I'm missing by failing to play the whole thing!

The idea with the graphics works great. The initial frustrations are quickly overcome by remembering the layout and more importantly by turning on more guiding lights.

The only thing I'm really missing is some background track to increase the mood. Not necessarily music, but just some tense ambience. Perhaps some audio feedback from the monster to make it a little less difficult to keep track of? c:

I liked it! Just not good enough to pass, heh. Sorry about that. Very nice minimalist approach to the graphics too. Good work!

I suppose the interpretation of the theme might be considered a slight stretch. Technically it is indeed one room, but if it gets this big, isn't it more like an open outdoors environment, or a set of different rooms that happen to have no doors between them? p; I don't know. OTOH you do make the player feel confined to a small space anyway due to the monster and the limited degree of vision.

Neowedge says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:25pm

I don't know what the f*** was that thing, but I don't want to find it again. Take my stars and let me go out from here! xD

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:35am

Style and mood is really good

ISG says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:46pm

It's really dark and creepy :D

CMLSC says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:03am

Wow, this is one of the best games from this Ludum Dare! :D
(in my opinion)

The opening actually was really cool.

The hitbox for the monster seemed to be a bit too large, because I was running around it(with a decent amount of space), and once I went around the corner of it, I died.

Other than that, the only other thing I would like to point out is that it would be great if the game had more sounds, like maybe some footstep sounds and some ambience.

Great game though! ^_^

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:43am

This game almost begs for a spooky soundtrack to add to the tension. I love it. I played it a couple of times and it did generate some anxiety as i learned when the monster will come to kill me. I think there needs to be a way to make it more obvious where the monster is, and maybe even make it not a "one touch and he kills you " type of game. A more intense monster chase scene, even if its just text on the screen.. would add so much to this already creepy game.

Coauctor says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Big plus for the intriguing intro sequence. I also like the minimalism vibe. :)

Not sure if I understood the rules correctly, but it was fun anyway.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:47pm

it's good)))well done master,but sound of reactor crazy)))

srakowski says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Epic intro :)

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Omg I loved that one ! Excellent aesthetic ! I totally freaked out at my first encounter with the beast !
Amazing mood !

keckles says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:11am

nice

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:00am

I have no clue about what I am supposed to do, but I liked this weird experience. I had fun. Mood is great. Well done ++

cjke.7777 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:29am

Sets a nice mood, but tricky to understand what exactly to do

cxsquared says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:21am

Really like the mood and the lofi sounds. I wish there was a bit more sound feedback for the monster but overall nice work.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:13am

Liked the minimalist design of the game and thought it worked well in highlighting that old school sci-fi horror vibe. Did have issues at times with player feedback and knowing whether I was actually going anywhere. Interesting entry and the first spotting of the monster was a well done experience.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]