Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Legendary Legionnaire 3 - Food Massacre

by banana4life - Jam Entry

Hey guys,

We are a german team this time consisting of 7 members. We came up with our crazy game "Legendary Legionnaire 3 - Food Massacre". It is the successor to our last game "Legendary Legionnaire Massacre 2 - The Empire strikes back"(http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=41477).

In this timeline you play one of the last legionnaires. He survived the alien invasion, but the aliens won the war. Now he coexists with them. To generate some kind of income he has opened a restaurant in a little cave that he wants to expand and finally buy an UFO. Serve aliens their favorite food, gain wealth and satisfy your customers and you will reach your goal.

########################################

CONTROLS

MENUS: WASD+SPACE

MOVE AROUND: WASD
BUY STUFF: go to the Get-O-Tron at the entrance of the cave and press SPACE
MAKE FOOD: choose the food with Q and E, go to your high tech microwave and press SPACE to make it. Face a table and press SPACE to serve.

PUSH TABLES/OBJECTS: run against them
PULL TABLES/OBJECTS: face them, hold SHIFT, pull in desired direction
BOMB: after buying pick up with SPACE, place with SPACE at your feet (timer starts)

PAUSE: ESC
HELP: H


CREDITS

Art:
- Jonas
- Niko
Music:
- Katharina
- Niko
Code:
- Anselm
- Phillip
- Philipp
- Alex
- Niko
- Jonas
UI:
- Philipp

And if you like the music:
https://soundcloud.com/rahtainka

Have fun with our entry,
Team Banana4Life

Website: http://banana4.life
Twitter: @bananafourlife

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#219Graphics(Jam)4.00
#288Audio(Jam)3.33
#497Humor(Jam)2.42
#559Theme(Jam)3.38
#629Innovation(Jam)2.78
#730Mood(Jam)2.72
#793Overall(Jam)2.79
#857Fun(Jam)2.22

Comments

Kerr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:12am

Tried with both a controller and keyboard/mouse. Could not get controls to do anything I wanted them to... (One of our team tried every button on the controller with little success). The music and art looked nice and it seemed like there was a lot of cool stuff there... if we could just get to it.

Note: Played WebGL version, controller was XBOX360 wired.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:19am

cant control the character...

hnzlmnn says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Nice game overall, but the first random table I spawned blocked the way and I had to bomb the table away to get into the room again. Controls did work for me but they felt a little bit clumsy when walking a larger distance to a table because you first have to turn to the direction and then walk.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:37pm

I did not understand what to do, and that is a lot of chalk font

banana4life says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:36am

Hey Kerr,
Are you sure the game window was in the focus when you were playing with the controller? Did the keyboard work or was it just wonky to control?

Hey WarmLemon,
what exactly is your problem with the character control? We know it's more than wonky, but it should be controllable.

Hey Uliana,
you start at night and at this time no visitors will appear and you can arrange your restaurant. When the day comes, visitors will appear at the tables and little speech bubbles indicate what they want to eat. You have to choose their favorite food with Q and E and press SPACE when you are in front of the microwave. Then you can place the food in front of them with SPACE.

Greetings,
Team Banana4Life

jelch says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:58am

Controls were too hard.

Saiodin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:27am

Graphics and sounds are pretty nice. First time I played I ordered food and couldn't drop it to move a table. Second time I read most of the texts, but that's simply a crazy amount of text for a not that complicated concept. The controls were frustrating. Moving from tile to tile seemed clunky and had a weird feeling to it, the camera seemed to snap weirdly. It shouldn't be possible to remove guests by walking into them, because that just happens accidently very often. Also it shouldn't be possible to move tables during the day while aliens are sitting on them. A box on the side of the screen that shows the next meals would help. Often guests were leaving before I could make it back to their table.

stefenism says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:44pm

I uh....couldn't figure out how to play. But it looked and sounded really nice!

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Fell through the floor!
p.s. Don't use Esc as a key to start thegame, it takes you out of full-screen mode in the web version.

Logicon says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:20am

I really liked it. I wish that tables only moved while holding shift.

rambauldi says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:21pm

I found this to be entertaining once you got past some of the quirks. As previously stated by other players the controls do at times feel very clunky and the large wall of text may come off asTL:DR to some. I love the idea though and would look forward ro further devlopmeent on this title.

Nino9612 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:32pm

The Graphics are very nice but i could not play the game because of the weird controlls. But overall funy little game

Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Like some of the other comments mentioned, the controls handicapped an otherwise impressively complete game. Guest left too fast for me to hobble over and feed them.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 12:47am

I like the graphics style a lot.

handoharken says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Great concept for the theme with excellent graphics and music, however the movement felt clunky and when playing from the browser in fullscreen it asks you to press 'esc' to start the game, but it instead takes the game out of fullscreen mode. Lovely art style to the game though and I enjoyed the music :)

Farelle says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:05pm

hmmm...the controls felt very difficult and the customers were vanishing faster than i could bring any food or even their favourite food, not to mention that i had to restart the game about 4 times before i could actually play, because whenever i bought a table it was filling up the whole hallway, not letting me push past the microwave. The audio was cute though :) "heppa" :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]