Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Toy Wars

by concalf - Jam Entry

Gameplay:
- Destroy as many tanks as possible
- Collect energy to stay in the air
- Without energy you can no longer accelerate and will descend
- If your health gets to zero the game is over
- Hitting the ground or obstacles will damage the plane
- ... or getting hit by a tank shell
- Energy power-ups can only be collected when flying close to the ground
- You can fly over plants if you are high enough

Controls:
- A and D to turn
- W to accelerate and get higher
- SPACE to shoot
- R to restart
- You can also use the arrow keys as well as the respective AZERTY layout keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#218Fun(Jam)3.54
#247Graphics(Jam)3.96
#273Overall(Jam)3.58
#489Theme(Jam)3.50
#527Innovation(Jam)2.96
#530Mood(Jam)3.14

Comments

Iluvatar says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:15am

One of the best I've played here so far. Awesome graphics, sounds, and physics :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Really cool game, the room theme seemed a bit tagged on though (I feel it's just the ground texture).

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Awesome game , really liked the mechanic .. also good work on the graphic (Y)

josemorval says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Simple but very addictive game! Nice job, congrats!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Among the best games I've played so far. Simple but well executed gameplay, and the visuals are pretty good as well, especially on the plane itself.

stefvanschie says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:28am

Very polished game. It is a bit hard to control your plane and hard to shoot the tanks. The physics are great, though.

raaaahman says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

Fun but hard game. The graphics are really pretty. Good job.

Kalm004 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:22am

Graphics are pretty cool. It's difficult to destroy the tanks, I think the controls can be improved. Good job!

PlugRobots says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:39am

Well maked game. The sounds, graphics, controls are great.

kik0729 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:59am

Really simple, but great! You can develop this a bit more and put it in the app store!

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Pretty cool! I would've liked to have seen a health pickup, though.

Graphics are quite good, though seem a little flat. The grey wall objects not having shadows while they are tall and will stop you threw me off a bunch of times. All in all, it didn't really feel like a room.

Sounds for the plane flying and accelerating/decelerating would've been nice.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Finally it appeared in the jam! Loving the games where you play as toys/figurines, and this is no exception!

Palmish says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Pretty fun. Only managed to get 5 though after several attempts.

It's hard to tell what you can and can't fly over. Similarly it took me while to figure out why I couldn't pick up the energy (flying too high). I like the graphics. There's a lot of good details, like the plane rotating a little when turning and the stars that appear when you take damage.

I wish I could see further and that the play area was a little bigger. You have to guess where the tanks are from the direction of their shots. I think it would be more fun if it was easier to kill one tank and you instead had to fight multiple.

Splendidus says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Not bad. Good sound and graphics. I would like to be able to fly around obstacles.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Really pretty, and I liked the airspeed mechanic. Only complaint it's hard to tell what's an obstacle.

siryakko says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:38am

YES YES AAAAND YES, love the MicroMachines look and feel, want more of that game, it's silly that there is not more game like these :D Thanks

Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:41am

One of the best game of this LD ! Gj !

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]