Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One room apartment

by hunttis - Compo Entry

You're a student, looking for an affordable apartment. You've luckily found one, but it's suspiciously cheap!

Move with arrow keys, attack with spacebar.

Don't get grossed out! The more enemies there are, the faster you get grossed out!

Didn't have the whole weekend to work on this, but I'm quite happy on what I accomplished. I would've loved to have more content (and sound!), but as it is now, it's completable in a couple of minutes. It looks a bit silly, as it was supposed to have bigger apartments later in the game. Now there's quite a lot of wasted screen space :D

Coded in ES6-JS and Phaser. Graphics drawn on my ipad with Sprite Something.

I hope you enjoy it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Theme4.24
#89Humor3.46
#161Fun3.52
#308Overall3.28
#309Innovation3.14
#325Mood3.07
#344Graphics3.00
#938Coolness45%

Comments

Prospero says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Fun, I like it! :)

Sawtan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:58am

Good times squishing them bugs, it felt nice to swing the axe around like that, the game would perhaps be easier to lend your eyes on if you scaled the graphics up some, perhaps 2x the pixels :)

sanojian says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Fun game. I especially like how the bugs go flying like a baseball when you smack em. Nice graphics, but perhaps you should scale the screen up. It was tiny.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:35am

Pretty neat game! It was really satisfying to squash those gross bugs. Would better if scaled up.

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:27am

Love the swinging thing, it's cool

Fylipp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:48am

Nice concept, you c

Fylipp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:54am

My last comment was trimmed, so here goes: Nice concept, you could double the scaling though.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:19am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:23am

Nice! Wish it was longer

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:37am

Simple and fun! Great job on completing the game for the jam. The only thing missing was sound but apart from that good job :)

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Reminds me my old days of student... :P

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Real fun and simple

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Great idea, first time ever I've been armed with two handed broom)

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Great idea, simple and fun, but you could increase the scale.

Outbreak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Great Game! Was fun to play!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24pm

It was fun and short, I wished it was longer. Touching the bugs directly should increase the gross factor rate.

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Nice idea i like , and good work on the art maybe some sfx and camera shake will give more polish feel

Treborginho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Don't know if level 4 exists. Game is to gross :-p

pixlark says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Loved it! The concept is just hilarious to me for some reason, and the gameplay is surprisingly fun. I keep dying on the third level though.

I agree with Sawtan that the graphics should probably be scaled up a bit.

muriel says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:52pm

I liked it a lot :) Very fun concept jaja good job :)

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Good start and pretty funny take on the theme. Reminds me a bit of Hotline Miami. Would probably be easier on the eyes if it was upscaled to 2x or 3x.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Definitely amused me, the concept of a timer being a gross factor. You should definitely scale up the graphics though to make it easier to see.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]