Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Dads

by Peach Pie Productions - Jam Entry

Battle DADS is a 4 player "dont fall off the level" party-style deathmatch game. Knock off the other players to get points. The game by default has bots active.

- Press F2 to turn off AI to play with 3 other people on controllers

- CONTROLS:
- RT or LMB to charge lasers.
- LT or RMB to shoot machine gun.
- A or BUMPERS or SPACE to shield.

Created by Isaac Baldwin (IndieKeep) and Ben James (Peach Pie Productions)
from Louisville KY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#83Fun(Jam)3.86
#189Audio(Jam)3.57
#245Overall(Jam)3.62
#459Mood(Jam)3.24
#467Innovation(Jam)3.06
#474Graphics(Jam)3.43
#550Humor(Jam)2.27
#760Theme(Jam)2.86

Comments

Birke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:07am

Pretty fun! Movement felt quite floaty though.

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:12am

Super cool game, could use the instructions on a pause screen, or setup screen.

I wish the arena was just a tiny bit bigger too, I always felt like I was floating off the edge, but maybe I'm just bad at it.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:17am

Good times. I know Smash Bros. is the obvious inspiration, but it also makes me think a little of Dissidia: Final Fantasy and the Colony Wars games (with the difference between "make vulnerable" and "knockout" moves).

DireGoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:20am

Not sure why its called battle dads... your more of a robot kinda thing but in any case the fact that it had decent AI was neat.

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:27am

Cool game. I wish that that the player didn't slide as much but other than that I enjoyed it.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:37am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

tylerraz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:39am

Fun combat-balancing the weapons and shield is a good mechanic.
I agree the mechanics/instructions could be better explained, maybe a screen/panel.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40am

Pretty cool, imagine it would be fun in multiplayer.

Virtualwindow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10am

Was a lot of fun, love the charge. Would love a bit of a bigger arena.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:36am

Fun game! Took me a minute to figure out the controls, but I really got into it once I worked them out. The AI is pretty difficult to play against.

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Loved how there was rumble on the controller. Cool concept. Could use full screen.

OneManArmy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Good job! Got me hooked right at the start

sfje-team says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Nice Game. AI of other Players is done very nicely !!!

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Good game. I think it would be funnier in multiplayer, but the AI is really decent. Be careful, when pressing F1 to open the instructions, the last line overlaps with another text ;)

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Very cool fast game.

GriloGordo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:22am

Wow... Very cool. :D

mmason says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:27am

very good game, using the controller felt natural and I felt I at least had a chance to win (I lost :( )

I wan't able to play with a mouse, I could fire but not aim

mooncalf says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:19am

Ha ha, the AI is much better than I am! Nice job! Feels very complete for a game jam. I am a little confused about what the bars and percentages are. It didn't seem to make much difference whether I charged or not before shooting someone. It is fun to play, and the audio and graphics are well done.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:27am

Awesome game you've got here peach pie. I would really like to see work on this continued.

andrewjoy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:56am

Cool game, love seeing multiplayer ld games

radmars says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:57am

Nice presentation, the graphics and audio are really good. Pretty fun though IMO the gamefeel could use some work - it seemed strange that the machine gun fire passed through enemies sometimes? Collision just seemed really inconsistent - some big laser hits I expected to be hard weren't and it was kind of hard to figure out if I was doing damage or not. Also the penalty mechanic took me a little while to figure out. Some tweaks to the collision/feedback would go a long way. This definitely has potential, nice work!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Nice graphics, fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/8ZKn12Y_qVg

Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:36pm

It reminds me of Smash Bros (which I'm terrible at). My only concern is that I felt like I didn't have a lot of control over my movement, though I have a feeling that might be somehow related to the fact that I was using mouse and keyboard over controller. I would just drift off the side of the world. Liked the sound effects and the satisfying feeling of laser beaming floating eyes in the face (eye?)

Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Awesome entry! I like the unique visuals, very impressive for a gamejam! :)

I also super love local multiplayer games, it's a ton of fun playing against friends!

Overall an amazing entry, well done!

Rixud says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

i really like it, its a little difficult but its ok, instructions on the menu its more helpfull than in game without pause.... i think the graphic of the floor isnt exactly the real surface, sometimes i fell out near the edges..

chipmonkey says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Love the camera motion and overall design; great multiplayer!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]