Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

UZI DUDE

by qristofer - Compo Entry

Pitch:
There is one room. There are many enemies. You kill the enemies. Such innovation!

Features:
-Action
-Animations
-Slime
-A billion bugs

Tech:
Windows only. Whine if you're a 1337 linux hax0r. The game is made in C and WinAPI. The game is rendered in software, all with flat polys and 16-bit colordepth. OpenGL is used in the end to get the pixels onto the screen.

Missing features:
-Any form of win state, but staying alive is it's own reward
-Sound
-Tank controls (they are still very tanky tho), I had planned for Resident Evil 1-3 controls. The game is barely playable, with an annoying camera and a wonky controls. I simply did not have time to address any of the obvious issues, since most of the gameplay was put in last minute.
-Juice, blood and gore (very sad about this)


Oh well:
I'm happy to at least submit something in time for the compo. :) I have streamed the entire process. All code and most 3d-editing. I would NOT recommend watching it, but it should show up on demand soon -> https://www.twitch.tv/nopykon I may put up an edited version on youtube.

Edit:
Twitch highlight of modeling the character. https://www.twitch.tv/nopykon/v/106980280


Bye:
If you have questions, tweet to @qristofer




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Graphics4.00
#404Mood2.87
#485Overall2.94
#494Theme3.07
#531Fun2.50
#570Innovation2.13
#1224Coolness35%

Comments

Daedolon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:19am

Really like the visuals, reminds me of AITD.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:52am

Nice graphics, impressive for going right from GL API. Hard to reproduce that in an engine I guess

Very fun, I can use the gun as a propulsion mechanism

nice slimes by the way

qristofer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:14pm

@KadaDev
The GL API part is not that hard, software rendering would be the hard part. Everything is drawn by setting values in an array of pixels with code running on the CPU, instead of instructing the graphics card to do it via DX/GL.

However, since there are only flat colored triangles, no color or uv interpolation, it's really not that hard to do. It took me about two hours at the start of the jam to get "hello triangle" out on screen.

If you you're interested in knowing how it works, there is a function named "fill_poly" in the src file draw.c.

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:21pm

sick techh!!

zhur says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Props for doing SW renderer, loved it.

Alex says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:27pm

WinAPI? Why would you do that to yourself?! Just use SDL like a normal person!

Seriously though, props for going the hard route. Impressive work for 48 hours. However, I did have a good chuckle when I saw "2 h left time to design the game.... ;-;"


Graphics were great, audio would've been nice, and the gameplay was...acceptable. Graphics though made up for it in my opinion. I love that super low-res style.

Farelle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:47pm

i liked the visuals, reminded me a bit of the very first tomb raider games :D but i have to say the controls were very clunky, character seemingly randomly turning in another direction and very hard to aim :O buuuut it's very impressive that you did the whole 3D part from scratch :O

mpe3us says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Pretty impressive considering you didn't use a premade game engine. Props for that!

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Like somebody said already it looks like AITD, which is great ! Both the look and the animations ! Cool...

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:11pm

I like your style man, good job!

elmoGames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:17pm

The controls are a bit hard to actually hit soemthing. Also the camera works against me and enemy can spawn at the same location as I so I just died anyway i love the graphics and the "new" idea.

smaganik says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Nice visuals! But controls are frustrating a little.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Why, god, why is this camera at the center of the arena ?
An why does my bullet have the same color than the floor ?
I had a really hard time understanding that I was Shooting.

Howerver, after a few minutes, I eventually had fun.

And I'm fond of your art <3

Congrat on making a game !

qristofer says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Thanks everyone for your trying the game. :D

"Why, god, why is this camera at the center of the arena ?"
"An why does my bullet have the same color than the floor ?"
-Because it's made in 48h. ;) I could move the camera or make the bullets pop out more, and more, it would take 5 minutes. But at the time of the deadline, I was focused on things like just getting the bullets to work in the first place.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:15pm

I utterly love these graphics, giving me a really early PS1/ late Amiga feel. The colours are amazing. Gameplay while simple is very fun and easy to control. The camera is a bit of a pain but nothing too bad, great stuff! :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]