Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Storage Guy

by Donar - Compo Entry

There is only one storage room, but so many differnt items to manage. How many items can you ship before the time runs out?

It's not fun or compelling in any way. Playing this game is boring and feels like a waste of time. It puts you under pressure without offering an appropriate reward. It's basically an accurate working simulator.


Let's be honest, this game is not great. It's not what I wanted it to be. Half way through I got stuck and changed the whole conecept; I just kept the basic grid movement and deleted a lot of code to simplify the game. Therefore I didn't have time to add sound or music - sorry about that.

At least I finished a playable piece of software; I was about to not participate.

I hope you have fun with it anyway.

//EDIT: I added a second web build. The one marked "relevant" is the one I submitted within the deadline. The one marked "fixed" is a version with some post deadline fixes. Even if you play the fixed version, please check the relevant version out at least once and lower your rating accordingly.

//EDIT 2: Thanks for the nice comments. You seem to like it more than I do, but that's probably because I wanted it to turn out differently.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#131Fun3.61
#135Overall3.65
#168Theme3.93
#206Humor2.86
#233Innovation3.35
#345Mood3.00
#399Graphics2.87

Comments

akirassasin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:42am

Very frantic game! It was very fun, although sometimes you can enter the boxes :)

Donar says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:46am

Yeah, I noticed the "enter the boxes" bug but I was to lazy to fix it yesterday, because I had to sleep. When you move too quick, some triggers react wrong and the field isn't put to "blocked". I should've done a Raycast instead.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:53am

I think a smaller room size could make for some more interesting gameplay, or maybe supply/deposit points in other directions. Good start though!

Donar says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:10am

Yes, the room is too big, so you've to play for a while before it loads up and becomes challenging. The reason for that is pretty simple: It was intended to sort tetriminos that occupy four tiles instead of one (making it a kind of "reverse tetris"). I had a problem with the rotation of the blocks though (I had to check if the target position after the rotation is blocked and also each tile it would rotate over, which I couldn't wrap my head around yesterday), so I changed it to these boxes, because I don't have to rotate them. I probably should've pre filled the room with boxes to compensate the change ... well, it's too late now ;)

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Really interesting concept, and pretty slickly put together, but there are some nagging bits that prevent this from being fun:

> The symbols are too hard to decypher at the size they are. I think colour would be a good add here. Or simpler icons.
> The "grab stuff and put down" mechanic feels really fiddly. You have to face the right way and press and hold and that's just not intuitive or easy. I think the core loop of arranging the blocks correctly could be more satisfying with an alternate control scheme that focuses on the blocks, like Money Idol Exchanger or sokoban kind of games.
> The massive floor space on the left feels empty and pointless. And if you do end up using it then that means you're traversing huge distances by tapping (annoying) and again, isn't fun. It's a symptom of the control scheme problem.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:42pm

I like the concept! The graphics are simple yet effective and it was a pretty accurate simulation of storage worker :P Altough i wasn't very good at it. Got only 16 boxes delivered.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Nice! My brain doesn't move fast enough, though. Great idea, and fun too.

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:38am

I was fired... :( Good game, Really fun to play !

nycolas says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:27am

That's a pretty interesting idea! A bit frustrating someone when you have so many usless crates, but that's the game :)
Good job!

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:25pm

You can sometimes glitch under the boxes. Good game though! Graphics are nice, gameplay is smooth.

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:59am

Funny! :)

titomakanijr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:09am

No need to thank me, i'm just a man doing my job! Anyways I had a lot of fun playing this game, I had to switch arms because mine started cramping up... from all the frantic key pressing! I really liked when my box count got low enough that I could start organizing my boxes into lines for quick delivery, but maybe that is just me.

KairosXIII says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:09am

LOL love the idea here. I felt the room was a bit too big, it took a while for the game to get interesting. Great entry though!

impbox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:17am

Really fun! Very stressful! I only realised part way through that I could pull new boxes in too. Great job!

wowods says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:46am

Very good and solid game. It's feel kinda slow at the start, but it's not made me bored at all...

Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:55am

Quite fun idea. I didn't expect to enjoy shipping things this much.

jordgubben says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:20am

Clever idea. Enjoying this (and just added it to one of my itch collections).

I do however wish the boxes where color coded, finding the one box of paper-clips among all snowflakes and atoms is quite eye-straining.

martymon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:47pm

nice concept! definitely not boring as you described it :)

rplnt says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:05am

Hey, I made a storage room game where you retrieve, store, and deliver packages as well! It's funny considering the theme being so open.

You made a playable game, that by itself is awesome, and this one is good on top of that.

Got 34431 (with bonuses) in the fixed version.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:06am

Really interesting take on the standard block-pushing game.

I loved how frantic it gets towards the end - shame about the occasional bug.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:12pm

I enjoyed this - I was expecting a Sokoban type deal from the screenshot, but I actually like your take more I think

DemiPixel says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Very fun game. At the start, I did not understand what to do, and soon I thought it was impossible before discovering the extra boxes. Good luck :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]