Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

eCubed³

by flwns - Jam Entry

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

eCubed³ is a game about making the most of the space one room provides.


The main mechanics in the game are portals and orientation changing. When you pass through a portal you assume the orientation of the destination. Find your way through each room and reach the artifact. Enjoy the hum of the didgeridoo along your journey.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Space - Jump
R - Restart in case something goes wrong
Esc - quit immediately

Thanks for viewing, and feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts/feedback

@flwns


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Innovation(Jam)3.68
#273Overall(Jam)3.58
#398Fun(Jam)3.21
#482Audio(Jam)2.73
#493Graphics(Jam)3.39
#508Mood(Jam)3.18
#580Theme(Jam)3.34
#621Humor(Jam)1.96
#938Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:41am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:31am

Nice portal game!)

Ygogo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:33am

Great idea and wonderful implementation.
I felt that the room needed more items that would make it easier to find out current orientation, perhaps some lit edges?

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:50am

@GameGrape Gaming -Cut the spam please.

Right, the entry then. This is a technically impressive first person puzzle. The platforming sections were short which is good. The shader usage requires special mention as the portal effect is quite wonderful.

Now, as a puzzle I do find the solutions way too easy. Simply put, trying every portal in a given level is all you need to do. You could have added timers, triggers, environmental hazards and such to test the observation and logical deduction skills (and maybe even reactions) of the player.

Other than that, good job.

ijzm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:57am

The 3D was very disorienting for me. I like the audio, though. Going through the portals is an interesting idea; I particularly like the effects of the portals as you walk through them. Also, I'm not really sure if I get the theme from this game, but I guess the room is simply changing and you're not transitioning from one room to another.

~Random-storykeeper

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:00am

cool idea! i really liked the way the mirrors look. It would be cool if this became more of a puzzle game using this mechanic. I'd love to play that.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:38am

wow! you've made portal in 72 hours! impressive

cgd11 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:42am

Nice one!
Congrats!

Pandanymous says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:58am

Love the doors effects ! Nice idea

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Stylistically cool. Mechanic is nice but levels are a bit linear to really use it fully, but that is not out of place for LD. Nice.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:27pm

There is a good potential in this project. Well done. However, and this is a fact with many portal games, it could be more polished. When the player passes through a portal, it is not really smooth. I see a glitch. However, you implemanted some interesting keys, changing gravity. I assume that with more time, you could do something with more features. Take a look at another project which has been developed by NuSan - Non Euclidean Room. The portals which he used are more polished than yours - more efficient and cleanly immersive. Overall, I had fun playing your game ++

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Cool non-euclidian room game. Could use a font for the beginning

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:31am

thanks for the feedback and thoughts everyone

@Geckoo1337 thanks for letting me know about NuSan's game, pretty cool!

jerwil says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:34am

Very well done! I like the portal effect, and for the most part it is implemented well! The sound effects work well too, and the gameplay is pretty interesting. I did find that most of the puzzles were guess-and-check style since it was hard to figure out where the portal would exit before venturing through. Overall, very impressive!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:07am

Great use of portals and level design. Platforming wasnt great but other than that would def have played for longer if there was more levels.

NuSan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:32am

Yeah, we had a similar idea ! I like your take on the subject. You have good puzzles and you can walk on the ceiling/walls. The swirl effect on the portals is also pretty cool for the mood. Plateforming was a bit difficult as I kept jumping too late. Some portal seems to not travel back to the same place once you traverse them, is it a design choice ? Overall a great game and I only wanted more levels. Keep up the good work !

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:32am

Awesome and great idea , you can capitalize on the idea to get more puzzles out of it as currently its just trying portals till you find the right one

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:18am

Well that was cool and weird. Jumping was a tad difficult, and sometimes the doorways felt a bit buggy, but I definitely enjoyed the weird vibe. The directional humming SFX of the exit helped to create that.

8Bit says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:53am

My head is mixed up. Thanks.

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:12am

Nice idea and cool minimalistic graphics. There are some rough edges, but you probably know about that :) Great job anyway.

t4u says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:40pm

I love the idea but lightning intensivity is too small. I can't see difference between space and stairs (contrast too small). Playing really hurts my eyes. If you plan version 2.0 I would gladly play. I think I would really like this game if not for the lightning issue.

Ps. Have you though about allowing player to tag (grafitti) on walls? Like in CS.

sfje-team says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:43pm

WOW! Superawesome !
Especialy the portal effects looked nice !

MementoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Solid entry!
A little bit short, but the puzzles were pretty cool.
Keep rocking!

Spab says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:58pm

The portal effect looked really cool!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:53pm

I often struggled with the platforming, as they seem to require some precision. There's been a couple of times where I was essentially stuck and unable to progress: this includes a strange bug where after entering a portal, the gravity was stuck focused on a 45 degree angle to a corner of the room. Another bug is getting stuck wedged between the stairs and the wall; since the character's bottom is technically "in the air" despite it's sides are wedged between the stairs and the walls, it doesn't realize it can move or jump, so I'm unable to control the character.

I confess, with bug like these, it's difficult for me to like the game. It feels a lot like I'm fighting the game, than enjoying it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]