Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Archwizard's Room

by uheartbeast - Jam Entry

The Archwizard's Room is a turn based strategy RPG. You play as a novice wizard who has been sent to the Archwizard's room, a dangerous place that is the demise of all who enter. The odds are stacked against you but you still have are your wits and your two magic spells to help you survive.

The game uses only the left mouse click.
This game was made in under 72 hours for the Ludum Dare game jam.
The graphics, design, and programming were done by me (@uheartbeast)
The music and sound effects were provided by (@qwe5225)

Windows only. Sorry, guys.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Graphics(Jam)4.46
#120Audio(Jam)3.78
#137Fun(Jam)3.72
#147Overall(Jam)3.81
#243Mood(Jam)3.62
#599Innovation(Jam)2.84
#658Theme(Jam)3.16
#1798Coolness0%

Comments

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:16am

For some reason this downloaded as a ".zip.part" file and when I changed the extension it couldn't decompress it. Could be just my machine or my internet, but yeah, I couldn't run it. Spritework looks really good, tho.

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:41am

Good job heartbeast

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:22am

It was awesome to watch you make this game and then be able to play it! Learned a lot about game maker and game jams. My one suggestion is to make the turns for the enemy that are off-screen happen instantly as I ended up with about 5 off-screen enemy's having to take their turns before I could even though I could not see them.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:43am

This is a cute little game - very good given the time frame. Love the graphics.

lekiy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:38am

Fantastic game overall. The graphics are exceptional.

I think the wizard may be a little over powered because he can attack the diagonals, also the heal should have a cooldown aside just mana usage. just felt to tanky because of it.

Also based on what I saw from your stream, it seems that you could benefit from better planning, even if you don't have an idea at first, its always good to set some priorities.

Otherwise I love watching you here and hope to continue to be able to in the future, I also hope my future games may be able to hold a candle to yours one day.

mitkus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Amazing graphics!

I feel that gameplay itself could be better balanced. Tactical decisions are not that interesting right now. It would be cool for more opportunities to use fire spell. I liked how I can attack diagonally though - it means with careful thinking I can mostly avoid getting hit. It would also be nice if all enemies moved at once - pauses between turns can get annoyingly long now.

But don't get me wrong, this is very impressive LD game, good job!

vexille says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:27pm

I love the visuals! The sprites are very pretty and the overall direction is very nice.

As others have mentioned, waiting for every monster to have its turn can sometimes be a bit frustrating. What I really missed was a "you win" screen of sorts. I thought the big monster thing was like the final boss, but I just killed it and everything else and was just left wandering the map. Something that showed an endgame message when you killed the last monster would do a good job of wrapping things up.

-----

If you want to play my game Humanity Walks Into a Bar, check it out here:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=29565

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Good game, nice job

Sean says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Nice entry! The spritework and audio are great. The interaction felt quite polished; I had a lot of fun just hopping the wizard around.

It does unfortunately feel a lot more like a prototype than a completed game: It only takes a couple minutes to kill all the enemies and then there doesn't seem to be anything you can do but wander around. I also never once found a need to use the fireball spell; the diagonal attack gave the player a huge advantage over the enemies, and they don't really have an opportunity to surround you.

Having said that, this is still a really solid entry, and I'd definitely be interested in playing an expanded version.

I was a bit confused as to why it's mouse input only; the diagonal attacks mean you can't just use the arrow keys, but I have a feeling this would play really well on a numpad or WASD + QEZC!

Alistesios says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:54pm

A very good game, but only 4/5 overall because it seems like a prototype. You can't actually FINISH the game, and that's frustrating (I killed all the ennemies, but then what happens ? Put at least a "winning screen", no ?)

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:10am

It's a really cool game. Polished and with some great art and sound. Would love to see a expanded version.

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:56am

Fantastic little game. The graphics, presentation, and music were superb. The gameplay, albeit a bit simplistic, was fun for the length of the game. If I had one criticism, it's the fact that there was no win state. I was left wandering around the world until I quit.

uheartbeast says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:56am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I really wish I had had a bit more time to polish and actually have a win condition but I'm glad you enjoyed the little bit I was able to put up.

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:15am

I love killing them pesky spiders. Moving around (not in battle) is a little slow for my tastes though.

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Great sprite art and downtempo music bring me in a good feel mood.
Needs interaction with neutral or supportive characters and some items to make it more interesting.
BTW: love your tutorials ;-)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Cool little rogue like :)
But when I killed all the monster nothing happened :(

Good job anyway !

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Neat little game- impressive- would love to see it continue to something bigger.

I assume I won because I couldnt find anymore enemies-

Wasnt much of a challenge with the ability to continue to heal yourself. Art and Audio were great! Very well done

Jerodak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Splendid! I love Roguelikes! This played pretty well, definitely a great base to build from if you wanted to expand on the idea. I didn't mind the enemies not attacking diagonal, but I feel like there would need to be an in-universe explanation for why, sort of like how in a game called "Shining Force", different units have different attack ranges and places that they can or cannot hit based on the weapon they're using. In this case I think you could try to either give diagonal hits to everything else, or at least certain other things, or leave it and remove diagonal attacks from the wizard but then let him hit diagonal with a low-cost low-damage mana-bolt spell. I would really like to see where this goes if you decide to do more with it, great work on the submission!

Cerberus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:19am

uheartbeast your gamejam games are so cool. it played really good i had a lot of fun. i loved the graphics the character, enemies and the environment. the only thing i would watch is that when there are a lot of enemies it takes some time to do their ai steps when you want to move the character wizard a bit faster. its a nonsense but hope it helps. totally awesome work!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Another great entry, very simple and very well polished. Love the graphics and the enemy AI.

Junber says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:02pm

This was a really fun game. The graphics and audio were great too. It would have been nice if there were keyboard controls, an end screen and a stringer relation too the theme. Also it got a bit annoying to wait for enemies that are separated from you by chasms to move. But none of these things distracted much from the actual quality of the game. Good job overall.

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Good concept, but it gets a bit repetitive and there's nothing motivating me to continue. Making a roguelike in 3 days was ambitious though and you get credit for that. Nice graphics and audio. Overall the game is polished and pretty fun!

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Lovely graphics, nice music, but really annoying sounds!

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:47am

Very well done. I love the balance created by gaining magic back from kills. It really pushes you to plan your combat and use all your resources. I'm impressed by how polished this looks given the time constraint, and the sound and music fit well. I had to search comments to make sure I wasn't doing something wrong after I killed all the enemies, so I see that lack of win condition has already been mentioned. That's pretty much the only part I didn't thoroughly enjoy.

impbox says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:25am

Wonderful art and music, enjoyable gameplay. Wasn't sure how Mana worked

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:44am

oh! Nice! I love the music and the pixel art! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Ygogo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Good game. Perfect graphics and gameplay.

Gamechoy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Amazing work, good art, great music and sound effects. There's nothing that comes to mind that needs changed. Had a lot of fun with this one, nice job!

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Reminds me of iOS game called Rust Bucket - one of my most favourite games of the year. I think it would be easier to control the game with a keyboard. The graphics are really nice. Great job.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:12am

Cute art/music, enjoyed it. Got potential, maybe just need some variations of attacks/movement for enemy/player or something to increase the strategy element. Seems like it would be great on mobile. good job

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Never realized I could attack diagonal, so this game was a lot harder for me than the rest!

I thought the graphics and sound were just awesome.

The movement hops felt really good, but I did have a situation where I had woken something like five monsters but then backed off. Because the monsters move one at a time, and the game forces me to wait for each animation (even those animations which are off screen), then suddenly the pace of play dragged wayyyy down and it felt really sluggish and was tough going. After that I was more careful not to aggro a bunch of guys I didn't intend on killing.

Really slick entry here.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:24am

Absolutly fantastic entry! Fun mechanics, nice art and music.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:48pm

It's a really good little game. Remind me of Crypt of the Necrodancer, somehow... :)
Is there an end to the game ? It seems that I killed all the monsters and nothing happened ?

Good gameplay and nice graphics ! :D

salyon says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Cool mechanics, had fun playing with them. It could be great with additional content, specially on mobile!

newtinn says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Very fun game to play!

bwalter says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:32am

pretty good game, although i do have some nit picky things. audio got monotonous after a while, although it wasn't too bad. you can use Gamemaker's built in Audio pitch functions to alter the pitch of sounds. with a little randomization this can help fight that monotony.
the pixel art was all good, but some of it clashed slightly, i feel.
overall, pretty good entry. i've also tuned in to your tutorials quite a few times in the past. :) keep up the good work!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Great game! :D Somehow, I'm not that much of a fan of turn-based stuff because I always feel the pace is slow, but I really liked it. :)

The pixel art looks great, really well done, made me feel like a game I'd play on a GBA, maybe it was the aspect ratio. :P The audio also contributes to that GBA feeling, really nice choice for music and sfx.

Having simplified controls and not much stuff to worry about (items, collectibles, etc.) and having to rely more on wits and simplified mechanics kinda made me feel better playing this one. :) I think that's why I liked it! :D

Great work! :)

Dec 27, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Cool little game. Need to speed up off camera moves, but otherwise the UI was very clear and painless. Cute graphics and nice sound.

Notester says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:39pm

Cool game! :) I liked the simplistic UI and game mechanics. ...I suppose nothing else happens when all the enemies are defeated? I'm not heavily criticizing or anything, I was just wondering since I kinda ran around for a bit wondering what was next.

But yeah, I'd be glad to see more levels to go through, and even a bit of randomization! .w.

elmoGames says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:26pm

My Pc is just too messy for this thing to find it

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]