Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Can into space

by Ogniok - Jam Entry

Small RTS game about country balls in space (on a table in a room to be exact :D ). Play as one of the few available nations and destroy the opponent by building strong economy, army and colonising new planets. Use your nation's bonuses to gain advantage over the enemy. One room can't handle both of you!

About moving the units to over planets:
To do so you must select the units you want to move, move the camera to another planet and then click the right mouse button on the location you want them to go (it has to be terrain - not the uplink nor some other building). If you click the left mouse button before you do so it will deselect the units. You can group units using [Ctrl] + [1-9] so that you can later select them by pressing [1-9] and easily move them between planets.
You can only move units to your planets and their neighboring planets.

Team
-----------------------------------------------------
Kacper Kowalczuk - Lead Programmer
Krzysztof Heldt - Programmer
Marek Derkowski - Lead 3D Artist
Daniel KoŇĄczyk - 2D and Level Artist

Feedback
-----------------------------------------------------
Please, leave your feedback about the game and report
bugs if you've found any. We appreciate it very much.

Fireline Games | firelinegames.com | fb.com/FirelineGames | @FirelineGames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#121Graphics(Jam)4.28
#158Overall(Jam)3.78
#235Innovation(Jam)3.51
#354Humor(Jam)2.86
#371Fun(Jam)3.26
#394Audio(Jam)3.06
#415Mood(Jam)3.32
#863Theme(Jam)2.23

Comments

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:26am

Missing X3DAudio1_7.dll, running from Windows 10 64 bit.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:33am

@kd7uiy From what we've found online Unreal Engine 4 requires you to have DirectX 9 installed when running the game on Windows 10 (DirectX 9 is not installed by default in Windows 10)

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:36am

Im amazed. The graphics are awesome, the gameplay is awesome, everything is awesome. Only thing tho is that it doesnt really fit the theme.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:36am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Birke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:44am

Nice visuals and overall presentation! Would have been nice if the tutorial was introduced during the game since it was a bit front loaded sitting through all those slides. Also for some reason the game started up SteamVR? Also took some effort to figure out how to move units to another planet. Game also crashed on me when I got attacked.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:49am

Wow really fleshed out game! you guys got busy! Good job!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:52am

Awesome graphics gameplay wow way to go.

<3 Poland Ball

block97 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:03am

Very cool game, very cool idea on the rts genre. One piece of advice is it is not very intuitive on how to use the uplink and transport units from planet to planet. Superb game!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:25am

This game launched SteamVR and turned on my Vive, sadly it did not actually play in the Vive :( That being said, very polished game, great graphics, fleshed out gameplay, very satisfying to play. Excellent work!

laylow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:34am

Cool idea, I'm actually working on something similar but with spaceships for VR. For some reason my selected units just stopped attacking...it was after I did a alt-right click, did it get stuck? The graphics are great. It took a little bit to get used to the controls but they work. Good job team!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:44am

this totally gave me a mario galaxy vibe. :D

kn2322 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:53am

Wow, the graphics are absolutely stunning :o. Everything else is really good as well except for the unit controls being a little finicky and the game not really fitting in the theme.

jramell says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55am

Really good game, cool mechanics and amazing graphics! I wouldn't be surprised if this won the jam. Authomatic soldier generation and not being able to destroy bases means it is possible to spend faster than one gains, which results in certain defeat quite easily. Other than that, it's pretty good.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55am

Wow, this is really polished! I don't think it really fits theme but it doesn't need to. Keep working on the tutorial and keep the gameplay simple enough to grasp and focused enough to be fun. Look forward to seeing more

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:23am

What an amazing game! I loved the art and the sounds, I do wish there was some music to go with it, though. Overall very well done for the jam!

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:09am

All I can say is, WOW! Absolutely fantastic entry! This thing feels like an almost completed game! Just a little more polish needed on that tutorial to make it a bit more easy to grasp (I had to keep re-reading XD) But other than that, you've got a solid game on your hands! However, it didn't really fit with the theme of the jam. But its hard for me to say that was a bad design choice when the game you made is so good!

juegoman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:47am

Neat RTS, the little country balls were cute and the planet hopping mechanic was fun. My criticism is that the game is a bit too simple once you get your head around the planet hopping mechanic.

Overall a good entry.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:13pm

I'm stunned

wowa_u says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:51pm

need to play it later again! very well done!

Mouch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Having multiple planets to micro manage can be so confusing. Really good work though.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Great graphics, good gameplay. Hard to see difference between enemy and friendly units;

Ogniok says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:22pm

@Ygogo Try changing nation. There are 5 of those ;)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Thanks everyone for your opinions. Glad you like the game!

We are getting a lot of feedback about traveling between planets not being intuitive enough. We'll take that into account :)

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:39pm

the art is nice and the theme fits nicely. The gameplay is pretty hard, but also fun. Perhaps a health system would be nice.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Lovely!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Awesome concept, could use more utility and variation in my opinion.

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Can't really see the theme in it, but it is a great game!

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Cool game, there is a lot of information to get started with, but I like the management part of it.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Directly gave me the feeling of planetary annihilation. nice job to programmer who probably didn't slept :)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:26pm

@sneeuwpopsneeuw Glad someone appreciates my dedication :D I've only slept for about 8 hours during the whole 72 hours period.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01pm

I had a great time with the game. I enjoyed the planet aspect and how smooth it ran.

I was a little confused with the uplink, I wish it was more intuitive.

The art is great as well. Awesome job! :)

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:13am

Great game! Doesn't fit the theme, maybe it would have been more appropriate for the "Small planet" one.
Really cool tho, definitely will play

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:34am

Nice entry :) The graphics feel great, the gameplay is nice. It's a bit confusing at first but with a game like this I guess I can't complain too much about that. A tutorial level would've been nice though

elmoGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:41pm

WOW its a very good small rts! Graphics great

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Very nice graphics and good gameplay for the RTS part
Unfortunatly the passage into planets is to glitchy :/

Ogniok says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:45pm

About moving the units to over planets:
To do so you must select the units you want to move, move the camera to another planet and then click the right mouse button on the location you want them to go (it has to be terrain - not the uplink nor some other building). If you click the left mouse button before you do so it will deselect the units. You can group units using [Ctrl] + [1-9] so that you can later select them by pressing [1-9] and easily move them between planets.
You can only move units to your planets and their neighboring planets.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:59pm

reminds me of a cuter planetary annihilation. Awesome entry.

markten says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:58pm

I enjoyed playing a couple quick games. There have been games similar to this, but what I like is that you added more management to each node that is captured. It adds a lot more depth to the gameplay. I think it would be fun to see maybe one or two unit types if you decide to add more to it.

My only negative criticism is that it was hard to change planets. I had to spin my scroll wheel several times so it took me a while to figure out how it worked.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:32pm

look like ...good work

GoofStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:58pm

This is an okay game. The graphics and fluidity of the game is nice, but the gameplay is a little weird. Good game though!

bigpan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:48pm

The game launched SteamVR even though I don't use it. I was able to play the game without it but it kept a window related to SteamVR at the bottom which was annoying.

Besides that, nice graphics, very innovative. It could've used some background soundtrack. I don't think it fits the theme that well. I wasn't able to figure out how to move to another planet, I've played 2 times, and then I accidentally closed the SteamVR window at the bottom and it closed the game. :/

Overall still a 4/5 star rating. Congratz

popogames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:54pm

This game is a technical achievement, sadly it is only that. It also feels as something that has been prepared beforehand as the theme is nowhere to be seen except for the background. The unreal engine makes the art stand out instead of the other way around. The 2D and 3D art choices do not compliment each other, but they do serve their purpose. Nonetheless the game stands out and is a nice accomplishment for a game jam.

Novodantis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Great concept. There's a refreshing feel to it all, but I just couldn't seem to get the interplanetary travel working. I really enjoyed the art stil and effects animations.

Fidrik says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Cool Game, well polished. Couldn't figure out how to move my troops to different planets. Well done though!

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:24am

@bigpan We don't know why our game launches Steam VR for everyone. We've probably check something we shouldn't in build settings. :D The background soundtrack is in the game, but it doesn't play on one of the maps and that's probably the one you've played. :)

smaganik says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Looks promising! Maybe simple tutorial needed (instead of lots of letters) to simplify casual player life)

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Lovely graphics, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/YiLAPTz00w0

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Impressive graphics and amount of work done in such a limited amount of time. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]