Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Shenzhen Manufacturing Co.

by jsmars - Compo Entry

My entry this time is a 1-5 player game about being a chinese factory worker.
Best played with controllers and with friends!
Also features global highscores. Teams enter highscore with one name, so edit in menu before joining up.

Controls:
WASD/Leftstick - Move
Z/(A) - Pickup
X/(X) - Use
C/(Y) - Help

There is Sound & Music! If you don't hear anything please re-download, I accidentally uploaded a version with it disabled while fixing OSX build. (if that doesn't work, press Ctrl-V or Ctrl-N or Ctrl-M to toggle master/sound/music because you might have disabled it)

Linux & OSX builds should now be working now. Please let me know if they do as I've only tested on VMs. This is my first non-windows release, so please don't low if you crash. Post here and I'll try to get it fixed!

Please leave any comments and feedback below!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Overall3.77
#146Innovation3.59
#161Graphics3.59
#239Fun3.32
#264Theme3.68
#269Mood3.19
#277Humor2.58
#319Audio2.78
#893Coolness46%

Comments

nick.bota says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:13pm

The concept sounds great and the screen look awesome as well but the game keeps crashing a couple seconds after I start.
https://s28.postimg.org/mb64w03od/crash.png

antishow says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Idea seems cool, but I'm having trouble playing it (on OS X). When I bring a spool of fabric to the sewing machine and press X, I'm expecting to get back a bolt of cloth, but nothing happens at all.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:02pm

I apologize for any crashes or errors on Linux/OSX, this is my first game releasing on non-windows platforms and it's hard to find the errors as I only can run them on VMs.

$nick.bota
Please try redownloading the game now and tell me if it's working, I made a quick fix for that crash.

$antishow
Wierd bug, could you try re-downloading and trying again? Are you on keyboard or controller? Try the other and tell me what is/isn't working please.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:03pm

@nick.bota
Please try redownloading the game now and tell me if it's working, I made a quick fix for that crash.

@antishow
Wierd bug, could you try re-downloading and trying again? Are you on keyboard or controller? Try the other and tell me what is/isn't working please.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:38pm

The game is not easy to play, but the idea is great.
Nice art, well done!

mpe3us says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Very well made and nice concept. A lot of content for only 48 hours :)

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:52pm

I love the idea of the game! Playing alone is a bit stressful but still fun. Didn't hear any audio though and walking feels a bit weird, I keep getting stuck at the corners but everything else is fine! Keep up the good work and make your family proud! :P

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Thanks all!

Anyone who recently downloaded PLEASE redownload. accidentally disabled all audio while trying to fix an OSX bug. There are sound effects and music!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:50pm

I don't know how it works in Windows, but ext filesystems do distinguish upper- and lowercase. http://i.imgur.com/eZ1zKC6.png
It runs properly after moving „Data/Levels” to „data/levels”.

Testlab says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Had a crash when the game started on Linux. I took a view on the log, and it couldn't find the path to "data/levels/shenzhen.oep". Turns out your folder name are starting with an uppercase letter but your code is looking for lowercase ones. And because case sensitivity matters on Linux it can't find all those folders.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Great pixelart and the concept is interesting, but all I got to craft was hats. I rated N/A in audio. I guess you had forgotten to enable it back in the Linux build?

Taking hostname as player's name (and publishing it to the leaderboards) is disturbing.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Fun game ! I played it with a friend and we had a good time. It's challenging and need a lot of teamwork, but it's amusing. The only big problem is the crafting recipes, that must be learn by heart and that are sometimes complex. Good entry !

lekiy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Crashed after opening on OSX :/

indrkl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Love it, 20 minutes just went by, and had the desire to go keep going and try for number 1, maybe later, great job, the different mechanics for making different products. Honestly most fun I've had among games played so far :)
Is this intentional that the signatures for foot stuff don't come at some point so you would have to stock up for them??

indrkl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:30pm

and done :), number 1 for now :P

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Thanks for the feedback!
@Starlight & @Testlab & @lekiy: I'm really sorry about Mac/Linux issues, this is my first try at building for those platsforms by using FNA (XNA port) but it's not without some hickups. I have tested both on linux and mac OS and it's weird that I didn't get that lowercase error. I'll fix it and see if I can look into the sound issues as well as the crash. I really hope I don't get a low rating because of these issues tho, I really would like to build to all platforms but if people rate it low because of it maybe it'd be better to skip them until I know they work well.

@Yvanor: You can press C (Y on controller) to view recipes while playing, but yeah you need to learn them to be fast.

@indrkl: Haha huge thanks! Yeah I find myself getting stuck in just sorting and completing recipes as well :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:52pm

@Starlight: Oh ah yes I know it's a bit intrusive to use hostname, but you are free to edit your name however you wish (just type while you have selected the name box), and it's saved to the registry for next startup. I think it's the easiest hassle free way to get people in the leaderboards and makes it more controller friendly. (Sorry!)

@indrkl: Haha I saw you beat my record, I'll get you eventually! :)

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:20pm

If anyone would like to change a submitted name I can change all the entries under that name in the highscore database to something new, just send me a message.

@indrkl: There is a logic system that defines what is spawned, you may definitely feel that you aren't getting what you want.. a good tactic is to try to always have atleast one of everything on the floor to pickup when you need it. No orders can through that are impossible to complete, considering what has been spawned before.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Wow, not bad!
we had a very similar idea, but we did not managed it to put a multiplayer and this much content in there. very impressive, especially for a compo. I with definitely play it again with some friends.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:59am

Strong entry! Played it alone, so everything was a bit too quick and difficult to get through but I can easily see myself playing it with friends and have fun with them.

Well played also on the art part, the game is pretty nice ;)

maxim says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Very nice! The mini-games probably need the most work but overall it has a nice flow.

I got bored and quit after I got 10 hat orders in a row is that normal behaviour or a bug?

qFrct says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Great game! And a complete one! There is a bit of "Paper Please" political criticism : ).
Nice Jobs, and good graphics.
Controls could have been a bit smoother.
What software did you used ?

jsmars says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:46pm

10 Hat orders in a row is a lot of bad luck.. there are a few guarenteed hat orders, then for each new order chance is added to get the more advanced orders..

indrkl says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:39pm

I tryed the game also on linux to pass time on bus drive, but got a crash at start:

Crash Log (12/16/2016 6:36:07 PM):
Build: 12/15/2016 6:54:08 PM (1.0.0.0)
OS: Unix 4.0.0.40000 (4.0.30319.42000)
GFX: GFX Lookup Disabled -j
System.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path "/home/indrek/Downloads/Shenzhen_jsmars_1.01_Linux/data/levels/shenzhen.oep".
at System.IO.FileStream..ctor (System.String path, System.IO.FileMode mode, System.IO.FileAccess access, System.IO.FileShare share, System.Int32 bufferSize, System.Boolean anonymous, System.IO.FileOptions options) [0x001cf] in <1170fb08300b4d0db71c1d1db8555768>:0
at System.IO.FileStream..ctor (System.String path, System.IO.FileMode mode, System.IO.FileAccess access, System.IO.FileShare share, System.Int32 bufferSize) [0x00000] in <1170fb08300b4d0db71c1d1db8555768>:0
at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.IO.FileStream:.ctor (string,System.IO.FileMode,System.IO.FileAccess,System.IO.FileShare,int)
at System.Xml.XmlDownloadManager.GetStream (System.Uri uri, System.Net.ICredentials credentials, System.Net.IWebProxy proxy, System.Net.Cache.RequestCachePolicy cachePolicy) [0x0001b] in <499ff02b83be4a12bd542266780a9d91>:0
at System.Xml.XmlUrlResolver.GetEntity (System.Uri absoluteUri, System.String role, System.Type ofObjectToReturn) [0x0003b] in <499ff02b83be4a12bd542266780a9d91>:0
at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.OpenUrlDelegate (System.Object xmlResolver) [0x0000c] in <499ff02b83be4a12bd542266780a9d91>:0
at System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.OpenUrl () [0x00055] in <499ff02b83be4a12bd542266780a9d91>:0
Retry

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:45am

Yeah sorry about the linux crash (related to path of folder which some fixed manually). I just updated it to fix that crash, should work better now! Anyone got sound working on linux? I can't text it on VM.

@qFrct: I used C# & FNA which is a multiplatform rewrite of XNA.

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Really nice entry.
First I felt guilty to have fun with this game, then things complicated, and I just felt stressed and like a worker that no one think about...
(maybe the spawn order is too hard, the last minutes, I just waited two elements that never came...)

Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:47am

So the new Linux build runs out of the box, and the audio is working. I see no issues now.

>I really hope I don't get a low rating because of these issues tho, I really would like to build to all platforms but if people rate it low because of it maybe it'd be better to skip them until I know they work well.

I rated it just like every other title on Ludum Dare. In fact, I appreciate that you're trying to release a semi-native port, since most creators don't bother and force me to use Wine (I would've had maybe like 5 coolness without Wine). Don't get discouraged by this not-100% successful port; you can always ask me to alpha test a future Linux build.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Thanks a lot Starlight and for confirming that it's working! I'll message you if I need any more testing. And just post here if you run into any more issues :)

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

*rerated the audio*

nick.bota says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Wow, that's what I was thinking while playing! The game is super complex, very polished from all aspects and most importantly fun! Masterful work making all of this in just 48 hours, I take my hat off for you!

ijzm says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:02am

Fun game, loved the concept! It took a while to start. Really fun!

Apr 13, 2017 @ 7:06pm

Challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/YS39t7Fdzo0

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]