Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Battle Cycle

by PowerSpark - Compo Entry

NOTE: The game has a auto save feature :D
"Find it in a store near you!"

Super Battle Cycle is the ultra top down shooting motorcycle driving experience!
You’ve just been opened; you’re the new Super Battle Cycle.
There’s one problem: the other toys don’t like you.
You must become the ultimate battle cycle driving champion and defeat the other toys in the room!

Controls:
WSAD/Arrow Keys - Drive
LMB - Fire
RMB - Grapple
Q/E or Z/X - Switch Weapons
Shift/Space - Turbo

Enjoy, thanks for playing!

v. 1.0.1 fixes pixelation. Original version (quite identical) is nevertheless available on itch.io
v. 1.0.9 tweaks levels, sfx, visual effects; improves controls; adds pause menu with options
v. 1.1.0 [Post-Compo] updated/revamped levels and enemies... improvements overall
v. 1.2.0 [Post-Compo] Almost double the amount of levels with new Ep 2 - Reheated

GameJolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/super-battle-cycle/217338
Itch: https://powerspark.itch.io/super-battle-cycle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Innovation4.04
#84Fun3.75
#115Overall3.69
#204Audio3.16
#217Graphics3.42
#240Humor2.74
#255Mood3.22
#580Theme2.58

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:01am

Can't not give you 5 stars for innovation. I don't think I've ever played a game where you're a motorcycle with a grappling hook before. The controls are little hard to get used to, but I love the concept and style.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:02am

I like the grappling mechanics. The steering controls are a bit fiddly.

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:39am

"Riding a motorcycle and using a grappling hook to pull obstacles in your enemy's way" just sounds right. Great art style and overall execution.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:39pm

This is the 2D just cause game I always wanted! Great entry, would love a polished version!! My favorite game so far :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Felt like a bunch of cool ideas that weren't taped together really well enough.

> The bike itself handled well and was fun to drive and drift.
> The Juice was super good, well done on that!
> But as soon as you grapple something it no longer feels like you're in control. I felt more like I was hoping the enemy would drive into the boxes rather than me swinging them into the enemy.
> The grapple distance was limited but not communicated. It felt like a bug half the time it failed to attach.
> Did the gun reload? I couldn't tell. Felt like a superfluous mechanic
> It maybe shouldn't be a desk with legs... If you can't go under the desk :P

xesenix says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Im not fan of mixing pixelated graphics with rotations if you need rotation just use polygons instead. And any game that uses more than one level will be loosely based on theme for me. I think it needs more work on controls but that all being said i certainly didnt play motorbike with grappling hook game before. Sorry if that sounded harsh but i wish you good luck on innovation stage

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:55pm

@xesenix I intended for the game too look more like this: http://i.imgur.com/tfF2LOE.gif
and I was upset I couldn't get it to work. Thanks for playing, I don't mind the criticism!

hermetic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36am

A mostly complete game. Congratulations! Graphics style is nice. I have to echo everyone else on the Motorcycle-with-a-grappling-hook thing. Maybe would have worked better with some top-down-style WASD instead of steering-style WASD. I don't know how else to say it. The music seemed just about right for this game.

Really good execution.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:26am

It's interesting when you get familiar with the control. The boost is your most powerful weapon.

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:03am

Lots of fun getting into some pretty intense fights. Your vehicle gets smokey as hell off of no damage though

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:25am

Thanks for all the comments guys! I'm going to have a tiny post-compo patch released ASAP because I found a way to use the correct, intended GameBoy resolution (160x144).
Also I added GameJolt API, but other than that it's an identical version. Check back here in a couple days!

Dia6lo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Your idea is great, but I felt like I was first trying machines in Borderlands - it's very hard to control it due to unfamiliar control scheme

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Game controlls is little bit clunky, and in upper levels it hard to kill enemies.

Remarkable idea: Motorcycle with grapling hook :)

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Cool physics with the bike.
I need a few initial levels for training.

Fidrik says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Good game, I love being able to slay my enemies then drag their corpse around whilst riding a motorcycle.

nice job!

xbcw says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:38am

The art was really well done. I found the controls a bit difficult to manage.

Ping78 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:24am

Nice. Really liked the graphics and mechanics.

hildegain says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:01am

Hart to control but with enough levels and a decent art style to carry it along. It's a tad frustrating to get wedge against a wall with a box and wait for the enemy on the other side to kill itself on my box but that's my own damn fault! :D

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:33am

The sound FX were neeto and the drifting was really fun, but I'm not sure what I was doing wrong. I couldn't get the grappling gun to shoot at all. B/c of that it took me forever to get the yellow box/key over to the lock. Still a fun LD entry.

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:38am

pretty neat, I appreciated the bike motor sfx

Per says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:59am

Really like the look of the gameplay. It got some time getting used to the controls, but then it was fun.

sollinxp says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:48am

man, you game is awesome, I really love it, good job!

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:03am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:54am

The idea is really great! Overall is a very cool game. :)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Nice game
Art is really cool and concept interesting

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Really unique game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/jkCKtsfy-DM

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Really fun - I liked the physics and controls, and the aesthetics, particularly the smoke effect.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Really really interesting mechanics and I really dig the art style. The bike is a little weird to control, very loose turning circle but once you got used to it, it was fantastic and easy to control. Overall a very good entry!

A.W. Apps says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

I like the grappling hook mechanic, it is an interesting combat system. You should definitely continue on with this project.

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:35am

Fun game! I like the idea to swing box to attack enemies!

Shivur says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:46am

Fun and original game. I don't know about the pixel look in a physic simulation game, It tends to create flickering.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:03pm

You took a difficult challenge getting all the rotations and physics to work in such a small viewport and mostly you succeeded, applause. The controls take quite some getting used to but that's in character for a Gameboy game. While not flawless, for a 48h timeframe you got quite a lot right for such a complicated setup. Nice.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Loved the GameBoy style graphics and the grapple hook mechanics were really interesting to play with.

axoona says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:15pm

quite fun game, very creative idea with the grappling hook! I really liked the music too
I think the gun was unnecessary, could have been interesting to build up more on the grappling hook mechanics, but other than that very cool entry, has potential.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 1:21pm

I can't vote for you as sadly I didn't finish my entry, but I really hope this places in at least one category. There are a few flaws with the implementation (the smoke particles sometimes rendered on top of other objects and covered up important things I needed to see, and the damage that the player takes can feel rather arbitrary) but the mechanics are solid and the game is just really dang fun! Makes me wish I had more levels to play through, and I'd love to try out the grappling mechanic in a level with more open space. Often the biggest challenge in a level was being able to swing a box around without running it into a wall, or otherwise having trouble fighting in a confined area. A post-jam version of this would be awesome.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:13pm

Really cool gameboy visuals :D Also really liked the grappling hook mechanic! Well done :)

Tkachov says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:01am

Got to the 1-4, where game started to lag because of the collisions, couldn't make it any further. Not bad overall, though.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:07pm

This game was alot of fun, but MAN does it throw mechanics at you fast

Pros:
-The grappling hook mechanic. In my opinion thats what his game should be focused on because its very fun and satisfying to kill someone with a box thats dragging behind you for some reason.

-Each level presents a unique challenge and a new mechanic

-Fun!


Cons:
-There is too much going on here: like I said I think the grappling hook mechanic is what this games about.

-I dont necessarily see what this has to do with the theme. I think if you coulda subverted this by having all the rooms be the same shape and simply rearranging the obstacles and stuff in them like alot of other games are doing to get around the limitation of the "One Room" theme.

Suggestions: You can probably cut out level one entirely, and focus more on the grappling hook mechanic. I think the gun is fine, the locks and keys are fine, but the turbo mechanic and most of the rest are a little much.


Overall though, excellent job.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:36am

Really liked it. Gave up at the shotgun level. Great sounds and visual for a compo entry. Really polished and finished game, good job!

It is just mean to bind restart key to the default reload key in a shooter game.

Getting a hard hit with a heavy box was super satisfying.

BluShine says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 3:31am

Awesome game. I actually really liked the controls, it's hard to get top-down driving right (especially with physics thrown in), but it felt very responsive and awesome to drift and swing boxes around the map. It was just a joy to nail enemies with a heavy box at high-velocity. The guns were fun too, but I feel like the game would have been just as good without them.

I also liked the art a lot. Felt very much like playing a classic Gameboy game, which was a great fit for the gameplay. The music got a little repetitive after a while, but the game was fun enough that I didn't really notice. As for the theme, I think you nailed the "room" part... but kinda missed the "one" part. But it is nice to play a level-based game when so many other people interpreted the theme as "one-room arena brawler/shooter/etc.".

Piotrek says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:03pm

You had really nice idea for gameplay.
The game feels really polished too.
Nice work.

pcmxms says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Nice game. Too bad I played on a notebook with the touchpad :P

Ithildin says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Great concept! Controls feel a bit awkward at the beginning and there were some small glitches with the collisions, but the game is very solid, with good pacing and packed with content. Also, nice music!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Awesome! So much content! Played the version with improved controls. The grappling hook was a bit flimsy to use at times in terms of swinging crates around; I often found it was better to place a crate between me and the enemy and/or push the crate into the enemy.

carlotes247 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:59am

This game is a lot of fun and is super complete for a ludum dare! Nice graphics and gameplay! 5/5

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:33pm

The gameplay seems okay with different guns to collect and different powerups. However, the pixel graphics are really hard to look at and I don't understand why only three or four colors are used.

pkenney says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:42pm

Very cool, I'm impressed by the number of features and the tutorial content here! I had a really hard time successfully swinging crates around with the grapple to effective deal damage to the enemies, though. I had more luck tricking them into smashing into crates... maybe there was some technique I never quite picked up.

Still, a fun and innovative entry, nice work!

radmars says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:17pm

Awesome! I really love this concept - it reminds me of a really fun japanese freeware game called Pendulumania which had a similar swinging mechanic. It was a bit weird with the enemies being faster than you at first, but once you get the boost the game feels really great. Combat was fun although it felt a bit cramped, I wonder if bigger arenas/a more zoomed out view might help a bit. Would love to see more of this, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]