Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Huge & Cute

by michidk - Jam Entry

Huge & Cute is a different form of puzzle game where the player moves two characters in a circular level. The goal is to move the characters on there specified pressure plate and reach the next level. The twist is that both players are moved simultaneously using the same controls. Just give it a try!

Also works with a xbox controller, just use the two joysticks to control the characters and the camera.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Innovation(Jam)3.92
#97Overall(Jam)3.91
#98Graphics(Jam)4.34
#154Fun(Jam)3.67
#291Mood(Jam)3.55
#484Humor(Jam)2.46
#739Theme(Jam)2.92
#1798Coolness0%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:37am

This was so beautiful and well done! Congrats, great entry.

elucent says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:06am

Beautiful graphics, simple and understandable design, overall a great project! There's a few bits I noticed that lack polish -- the animations and characters are a little bland, but that's all I can really find wrong with it!

kiertorata says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:13am

Great concept! Very well executed.

Holofire says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36am

Very basic concept executed pretty well. Simplistic visual style works nicely. It left me wanting more after completing all the levels.

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:49am

If I had to give critical feed back I would say the controls are a bit weird once you get to the front of the level. That being said this is a fantastic entry, Looks great and plays well.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:05am

Fun game! Reminds me of Monument Valley a bit. Cool concept and I think you should flesh it out some more after the jam. How does this tie in with the theme?

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:48am

Cool game. Fantastic art and game design! Would be really cool if it contained music, though :D

Fylipp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:02am

Awesome concept, great implementation

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:18am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Tyranosaw says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:03am

Awesome Game, not sure if it is my computer (it had sound problems), but i cant here any audio (i guess that's why you ruled it out). Overall, it is a simple game that makes you think and i like that. props to you :)

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:29am

I need this game on my mobile!
Really cool.

Gumboot says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:06am

Great game, the style is really effective and the concept is very easy to understand yet makes for some interesting puzzles.

guoboism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:28am

Very beautiful game! Nice puzzle!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:12am

Nice puzzler, I really love the presentation.

Not really my genre though so I only played a little. This being a Jam entry, I would say that some mellow music would have done wonders to the game.

A marker would help identify the distance between each person and their corresponding switch, so that the player doesn't have to guess whether the characters are placed correctly.

calcitherin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:48am

Simple and fun with beautiful art !

Geosearchef says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:59am

Very interesting game concept, feels good overall but lacks some polishing (getting both characters to stand just a bit off the button can get quite frustrating over time)

Kevin_B says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:09pm

It looks like a mobile game.
The second level is pretty strange because the player don't know how to do with the boxes.
Anyway, GOOD WORK! An awesome game!

Hasuna81 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Nettes Spiel wäre am besten auf den Handy. Das Spiel war ein bisschen zu einfach meine Meinung nach aber bin auch ein Genie. Freue mich schon auf neue Level bleibt dran und werdet reich davon

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:22pm

This is a smart game, with a art style which suits well whith the circular path.
I had a little frustration with the controls on the last level, but it's manageable, so it doesn't spoil the overall game!
It would be great with some zen music

Dejvo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:48pm

nice one here. the title reminded me of little and big: grandpa's leftovers

CartridgeBlow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:18pm

One thing to say. Love it. That is all.

Doomdad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Very well executed interesting puzzles!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Very beautiful :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Fantastic concept and execution. The minimalist color scheme and modeling really works to keep the puzzle idea clean. Great job!

Falak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

I love your graphic style <3 It's realy good but too short.

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Very well done. Everything as it should be. Kudos! <3

winwanwon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Awesome! great puzzle mechanic and also have a nice graphic style. :D

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:54pm

A good game with nice puzzles! The game is a bit slow and a bit too short, but for a jam it's fine ;) I don't really get the "one room" theme however. Ok, the players are on the same screen, but since there's five different levels...

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Nice puzzle! Great job!

panurge says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:25pm

A lovely idea, beautifully executed. Even the simplest sounds would have gone a long way, I think, but the gorgeous visuals made up for that.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Crisp is the word that comes to mind when I play your game. Really fun innovative puzzle element. I had an aha moment when I realised only Huge can shift the crates. Graphics are great too!

Would be so cool with some calm music.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:46pm

That's really nice and a great foundation to build upon.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Nice puzzle game! Good job

raaaahman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Great entry. Simple and beautiful graphics with an interesting game play. Woul have loved some music though!

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Amazing graphics :) does not really fit the theme, but it was quite good game... I just wish there was some nice, calm music in the background which is probably the biggest downside (that's not a bad thing though ;) )
very similar to Monument Valley though :D

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:06am

+1 for Linux build :)
Cute little game, love the puzzle mechanics and the clean, warm style. The two little guys are just so adorable :3

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:03am

Awesome game with good puzzles and great , the game keeps reminding me with monument valley , it will be nice if u added some impossible shapes to it

alexfoo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Love the aesthetics! Combined with a simple puzzle element, this makes for a very polished game! Well done guys!

Angelbait says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:34am

Was a fun puzzle to work through, thank you for letting me play!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:47am

How beautiful - incredible that you made something so lovely so quickly. The polish here just really shines through.

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:34am

Nice entry! Really good presentation, and the mechanic was unique, too. :>

neontropics says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

VERY clever concept! Great execution as well. Some nice music and sound effects would really elevate it.

Insality says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:17pm

the level art is beautiful
puzzles done solid and pretty interesting to solve them

not enough sounds and more feedback to player and game will be much bettter

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Good puzzle game with a cute aesthetic. Well done. I had fun playing it ++

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Nice graphics, and great overall execution. Great job!

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Good, reminds me of the game DROD, which features mimics (your copies that move the same way).
The graphics are cute! Miss the sounds though.

Spab says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Really nice minimalist artstyle! The mechanic was pretty good! Some audio would have been nice.

ChromeOrange says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Its a beautiful game, very fun but the black icons aren't cute.

ato says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:10am

Really fun game. I even felt it finished too quickly, I wanted more levels. Graphics gave me "Monument Valley" vibes. I really liked graphic and puzzle design of your game.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Feels like a very nicely polished game … If only there was more content! I assume that's a very time-consuming part though. But anyway, good job!

Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Nice graphics, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/Wd_0kXhgUR8

cushycode says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 6:24am

High quality everything!
Really interesting and catching game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]