Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Neat (Ludum Dare 37)

by HawkSandwich - Compo Entry

Controls: WASD, Left mouse button

Come up with different ways to memorize the layout of the room, then put everything back where it belongs!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#88Graphics3.93
#156Theme3.95
#176Innovation3.52
#176Mood3.40
#232Overall3.45
#276Fun3.23
#321Audio2.77

Comments

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Pretty cool! Got my memory exercise for the day

Also, great graphics

Khud0 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:47pm

That's a whole new level of "memorize me" games!!

There are a few things the game would benefit from though:
- Better fonts
- Thanks for adding jumping! The gravity is a bit extreme though, but that's a psychedelic game though so it doesn't matter :)
- Some music for the atmosphere.

Anyways, I love the ceiling! :D

Noxim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Its pretty Neat

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Neat little game (a pun which will be abused I'm sure)

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Niice concept. The art is in the right direction :o
Tho lighting could use a little more love :)
Nice!

hugofock says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Nice concept of memory game, I'm always bad at it, but nonetheless its fun!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Cool entry, love these memory type games. Art is also really good.

nikitapash says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Pretty nice graphics!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:53pm

wow! This is a graet idea!
The already rotated items are a big help.
I'd like to see an expanded version of this!
Btw Well done!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Great job with this! Simple but effective and theme direct!

It was very enjoyable to use test my memories, which is on low after a weekend of Ludum Dare.

-Art Cat

titomakanijr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:27am

Boy oh boy is my memory not great! I like the concept of it though and the models look clean.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:28am

The idea simple and fun. And graphics is very cartoony and interesting. So well done.

jimmynoshoes says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Great game, love the artwork and atmosphere.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:40pm

nice game! I love memory games like this :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Nice take on the theme - I liked your chosen aesthetic too

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:47am

Really cool game. Nice mood, cool 3d models. Loved the scrolling sky. Congrats.

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Interesting concept. Implemented quite well. I will say I found the graphics to be a bit grating on the eye and a bit to dark. I also wasn't a fan of the how quickly the controller moved. I felt it was way to fast. Making it difficult to place things. Overall it was fun for a bit. Very suitable for the theme.

Tilemapping says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Turns out that my memory is pretty bad D:

Great game!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Neat! Oh wait, everyone is already making that joke.

But, really, that's a great way to put it. Straightforward idea, and clean execution. Well done.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:42pm

The graphics were okay, the fact that colors were sometimes very similar was a bit distracting. The controls weren't great, the motion sickness was kinda painful. If the font was provided, and thus the text was visible, this would be a fun entry ;)

+1 for Quake-like ceiling.

nassi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Interesting implementation of a memory game, although I would've preferred if it was a bit less based on color. Worst score I got was 41% (F) I think in some of the early levels, but apart from that I was constantly over the 90% mark which I found hard to believe (my mnemonic for example in one of the levels was: "blue, green, green, red, black, toaster, green, red" and I still got a good score!).

I absolutely LOVED the Psychonauts-esque visuals and the general feel of the game and the gameplay was also plenty juicy, good job!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Really interesting concept and nice art.
Good job!

Swingularity says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Interesting concept! Really liked the graphics!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Very pretty visuals, remincent of Alice in Wonderland. Turns out my memory is shit though.

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Great idea and execution of the theme. Art style reminds me of Psychonauts a bit.

Archimagus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:20am

Screw this game LoL. Still, well done, it's a good game, just... AAAHHHHH.

Also, the mouse acceleration was way too high, had to turn my mouse speed down to play. And it was really hard to put things on the window sill.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:45am

Fantastic aesthetic, reminded me greatly of the likes of Voodoo Vince and Psychonauts. Unique twist on a memory game, and lovely 3D models. Solid entry.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Cool interpretation of the theme !
Also the game is fun and the graphics are cool, good job !

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:19am

I am terrible at this, but fun new way of doing a memory game. I love how everything explodes out of place every round :D

Asturk says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Thats really a "Neat" intro there! you did a very good use of memory mechanics into this game and the 3D graphics is really great! nicely done!!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:13am

It was pretty neat (hurr hurr hurr), but no, seriously, good job!

Blobo says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Oh my god, this was trippy! I loved the art so much, and the concept was brilliant! Thank you for the game! this was really fun.

Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Nice graphic style, neat game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/kL8oXDGWrLQ

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:44pm

Interesting concept, and very engaging gameplay!

The art had a very unique quality. A greater variety of objects would have been nice - having to remember the orientation of a number of otherwise identical objects was a bit frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]